R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-10-2003, 05:26 AM   #4396
Tech Champion
 
TimPotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Boynton Beach Fl > Randoph NJ
Posts: 7,481
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to TimPotter
Default

I run mine on top of the servo, both on my Mission and my 12th. Our loop is under the carpet.
__________________
Clean Title & Escrow|p3|TRF|Tamiya|SerpentAmerica|FSEARA|Team Butter|RC 3|Munno |RCTECH #29|EAMotorsports|BMI|Novak|SpeedPassion|RadioPost
TimPotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 10:46 AM   #4397
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,447
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Top of the servo, no problems. Got it sitting on the carbon chassis in my off rd buggy and no problems with that either. Loops under the track.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 04:32 PM   #4398
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to King-G
Default

cheers bigears...
King-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2003, 04:37 PM   #4399
Tech Fanatic
 
King-G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 837
Send a message via ICQ to King-G
Default

what bearing upgrades have we all tried on our Missions...

I totally recommend the Tamiya Blue seals for the Diff mounts...these are the best bearings full stop!..amazing precision...they have funky ball cages, non metal, like a plastic or composite...very free and quiet...and excellent seals.

i have been using Accer dual polyamide bearings in the hubs and layshafts..not totally sold on them, as Ive had a few seize up...I fel that the only difference from the Kit bearings is the seals..(dual Polyamide), the races arent of the best quality.

I have just installed some ceramics in the layshafts, will see how they go.

has anyone used Boca ceramics on their mission>?, or other brands for that matter?
King-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 12:58 AM   #4400
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

Ive tried the Acer bearings all round and wasnt too impressed either altho they were an improvment over the year old kit bearings! The bearings that come with the new mission kits have blue seals like the tamiyas but i havnt seen any myself, ill have to get some to try.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2003, 01:08 PM   #4401
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,583
Default Measuring Droop

How does everyone measure droop? Do you measure from the kingpin or the "fat" part of the lower arms. Do you set zero point when the arms (especially the rears) are parallel to the bottom of the chassis?
Sydewynder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 07:10 AM   #4402
Tech Adept
 
Ian S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 241
Default

Im not sure how everyone else does it but i measure the ride height then lift the car untill the tyres are just touching the set up board and measure the height of the car usuing the ride height gauge, the difference in the 2 readings is the droop.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 08:32 AM   #4403
Tech Regular
 
Racer X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Measuring Droop: I believe most people measure it by taking off the tires and placing the car on a flat surface. Using a ride heigth gauge, measure from the surface up to the bottom of the arm where the hex screw attaches to the hub. The smaller the number, the larger the amount of droop (4mm is less droop than 2mm). Either this or they use the Hudy blocks.
__________________
Schumacher Mi6
Speed Passion Motors and ESCs
Integy
SpeedWorld Raceway Roseville CA.
Racer X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 01:46 PM   #4404
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 427
Default

what size should i make my shocks for the setup pw posted?
jiggamacdaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 02:15 PM   #4405
Tech Elite
 
ottoman's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,750
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Anyone hear any rumors about a new car? A guy told me that at the Roar on road Nats he heard the word (shaft drive) from someone at Scumacher. Probably just a rumor but I hope there will be at least some updates on the Mission... seems like all the indoor racing is going foam tire and thats not the Missions strong suite.

Last edited by ottoman; 07-13-2003 at 02:30 PM.
ottoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 05:20 PM   #4406
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

The updated car will be out in October from what I have heard, as for it being a shaft car not sure that will happen anytime soon.
XCELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 05:38 PM   #4407
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montana
Posts: 258
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Has anyone else used the Xray rear belt on their cars? I have used the older Xray belt for a long time now and just got the new 3mm belt, vert nice.
XCELL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 06:05 PM   #4408
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 107
Send a message via ICQ to Ih8 RiCeRoCkEtS Send a message via AIM to Ih8 RiCeRoCkEtS Send a message via Yahoo to Ih8 RiCeRoCkEtS
Default

im selling my mission, mint condition, lots of upgrades, lots of spares! only $150!! take a look in the For Sale Forum!!

nate
Ih8 RiCeRoCkEtS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2003, 07:21 PM   #4409
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,193
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hey Paul, what mod's do u need to do to be able to run 28 and 30 mm tires.... i know there was talk of a new spindle that would allow you to run the wider tires but i havent heard anything else about it.
__________________
Tekno | BLOK | JConcepts | RaceReadyProducts | BOOMrc
Bob Barry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2003, 10:53 AM   #4410
PW
Tech Elite
 
PW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 4,316
Send a message via AIM to PW
Default

Bob Barry.....Yes, we have hubs that allow the use of 30mm foams on all of our sedans. The part number is U2581 and the only change will be that the turnbuckle link will need to be shortened accordingly.....
PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net