R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-11-2008, 06:03 AM   #25096
Tech Addict
 
justin lessard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to justin lessard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
Just work my favoritest little lawn gnome

When are you gonna start winning some races???
all in good time
justin lessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:08 AM   #25097
Tech Addict
 
justin lessard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to justin lessard
Default

hey Adam,what ya gonna do with all that junk inside your trunk?
justin lessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:13 AM   #25098
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,205
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

hopefully drop it off in the dumpster, but I have to keep some of the melted gearboxes and "blowed" up motors...

Quote:
Originally Posted by justin lessard View Post
hey Adam,what ya gonna do with all that junk inside your trunk?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:15 AM   #25099
Tech Addict
 
justin lessard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 588
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to justin lessard
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by abailey21 View Post
hopefully drop it off in the dumpster, but I have to keep some of the melted gearboxes and "blowed" up motors...
nice!
justin lessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:19 AM   #25100
Tech Addict
 
woozer71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

I have been racing mod with a 3.5 novak brushless in my MI3 for the past couple of months. The problem I have is that I have to change cvd blades after each race meet ( 4 x 5min races). I was wondering if anybody has the same problem or is there something I should be doing to fix this problem? Where is the best place to buy Mi3 parts?
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
VBC D06 / Xray T4 2013
Yokomo BMax2 ver 2 - Tamiya F104 x1
Sanwa MT-4
woozer71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:26 AM   #25101
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,205
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

I haven't heard of that issue, but then again I don't know many people running mod. I can say I've changed my blades out about 3 times since last May running 13.5.

The best place for MI3 parts is going to be your LHS

Quote:
Originally Posted by woozer71 View Post
I have been racing mod with a 3.5 novak brushless in my MI3 for the past couple of months. The problem I have is that I have to change cvd blades after each race meet ( 4 x 5min races). I was wondering if anybody has the same problem or is there something I should be doing to fix this problem? Where is the best place to buy Mi3 parts?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 07:05 AM   #25102
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 16,670
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

1 raceday is about right with a 3.5, considering practice and racing combined. What I usually do is switch out all the blades before qualifying, and then run those same ones through practice the next time I race, that way you have fresh stuff for racing.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 08:33 AM   #25103
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

How often do you guys change your shock oil. I pretty much haven't touched mine since I built the car.

They haven't gotten any air in them or leaked at all, so I've kinda just left them alone. But I'm bored, so I figured if must change the oil for typical up keep, nows as good a time as any.

So how bout it? Regular schedule for shock oil change or not?
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 08:51 AM   #25104
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,205
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

If I'm running a lot I'll once every 2 months, but since i hardly have a chance to run at all anymore its been about 3-4??


Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid View Post
How often do you guys change your shock oil. I pretty much haven't touched mine since I built the car.

They haven't gotten any air in them or leaked at all, so I've kinda just left them alone. But I'm bored, so I figured if must change the oil for typical up keep, nows as good a time as any.

So how bout it? Regular schedule for shock oil change or not?
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 09:28 AM   #25105
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woozer71 View Post
The problem I have is that I have to change cvd blades after each race meet ( 4 x 5min races).
This is not a problem, it's just how it is, especially if you're running a spool or oneway. I imagine that with diff they would last longer, as I almost never change the rears, but fronts are really a wear item with spool and modified power. If you don't change the blades, you'll wear the cvd's and/or outdrives, something has to wear you know
olev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 10:54 AM   #25106
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Blades, especially in the front, are a disposable item. I usually change mine at least once a race day if not more depending on how much practice I run. The new spool is actually a lot easier on the blades with the thicker outdrives. The old spool had outdrives like the rear diff and they cut into the blades bad. I changed them every run running modified.

Shock oil, I usually make a change of some kind before needing to change it. But I'd say 2 months should be good. As long as you don't hear air and they all compress and rebound about the same still, you should be fine.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 04:25 PM   #25107
Tech Master
 
Mr. McGoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,627
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Buckethead Bailey!!! You have an email my friend!!!!
__________________
Schumacher USA | SpeedMerchant | Team Tekin | eXpress | Parma/PSE | KOPROPO America | Team Tamale | Liposack.com
~Team McGoo - Not sure of next big race - A-Main or Bust!!!!
~~McGoo Creations - PM me for for a custom quote
Mr. McGoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 05:59 PM   #25108
Tech Adept
 
jheimb4897's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 229
Trader Rating: 1 (67%+)
Default

I have been a Tamiya nerd all my life, but an opportunity came up that I just couldn't refuse. I just got 2 Schumacher Mi2's for $40 (gotta love the sponsored guys who get free stuff all the time), one set up for carpet, one set up for asphalt. In addition to that, all the spares that I could ever use, including two BMI upper decks. I just ran the asphalt car, and I must say, this is by far the most smooth and well rounded car I have ever driven. Not to mention how forgiving it was. I could drive the car in any fashion I wish and it was still like it was on rails. Anyone out there with an Mi2 still? Any tips or anything like that?

I know what my next purchase is going to be. I definately want to keep Schumacher in my fleet, so the TRF416 is going to have to wait. The Mi3 seems like one of the most refined cars money can buy, and their fit and finish is unparalleld. European engineering at it's finest. So the TRF415MSX and the Mi2 (soon to be Mi3) are my racecars. The only reason I still keep the Tamiya is for TCS.

Jeez, I wish I could have seen the light sooner.
__________________
I can walk backwards fast as you can, I can walk backwards fast as you can. I'm the backwards man, I'm the backwards man.
jheimb4897 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:12 PM   #25109
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,517
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

adam, the eagle has flown, repeat, the eagle has flown.

your lipo plates are on the way, there is a bottom plate and side plate with lead weight to insert on the back side, (you probably won't need the lead) like i posted before, you will need to file a mm or two off of the bottom of the bulk heads. if you don't want to file, also included are battery slot weights that can be shoe goo-ed in place. kevin is also making the side plates without cut outs, Jaybee has found that by using two of these, there is no need for the bottom plate or battery slot weights to be legal weight. right now kevin is making them with the "EZ lipo" logo, jaybee and i are working on getting the non slotted side weights with the shouie logo. the side plates are a perfect fit for the core lipo.

BTW my package also arrived today, thanks for the fast service as always.
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2008, 06:18 PM   #25110
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,205
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Good cause I'm clocking in at about 1200 Grams right now


Anyone just have a brick I could duct tape to the top of my body?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skypilot View Post
adam, the eagle has flown, repeat, the eagle has flown.

your lipo plates are on the way, there is a bottom plate and side plate with lead weight to insert on the back side, (you probably won't need the lead) like i posted before, you will need to file a mm or two off of the bottom of the bulk heads. if you don't want to file, also included are battery slot weights that can be shoe goo-ed in place. kevin is also making the side plates without cut outs, Jaybee has found that by using two of these, there is no need for the bottom plate or battery slot weights to be legal weight. right now kevin is making them with the "EZ lipo" logo, jaybee and i are working on getting the non slotted side weights with the shouie logo. the side plates are a perfect fit for the core lipo.

BTW my package also arrived today, thanks for the fast service as always.
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:53 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net