R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2007, 09:23 AM   #22141
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
Hi dudes
On medium grip carpet is that better to use front only anti-roll bars or both front and rear at the same time?
thanx
Like Randy said, its all in your set up. And also in your driving style. I usually run sway bars front and rear on all my cars, especially on carpet. But, I was just running on medium grip carpet and didn't use any sway bars at all (as per the standard carpet setup) and it worked really well.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:24 AM   #22142
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I agree, the grey shirt better.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:26 AM   #22143
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,879
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I've personally never run swaybars on foam carpet. Unless I put a swaybar on the front to take away alittle traction.
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 09:59 AM   #22144
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

sorry it's for rubber tyres...
I feel like more upwards rear shocks gives more stable,more grippier rear end but people always says more inwards much softer=more grip I don't know what's wrong with me???
I will try Kev's vegas setup tis week let's wait and see whays gonna happen tomorrow ...
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 10:13 AM   #22145
Tech Master
 
Big Features's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Currituck, North Carolina
Posts: 1,879
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Standing the shocks up with add steering and make the car react faster.
Leaning the shocks in will soften the cars reaction and add grip.

Thats on the towers though. Bringing the shocks in on the arm will soften the suspension. You can get alittle more steering all-around by moving the front shock bottoms in one hole.
__________________
Mike Kling
Team Associated REEDY Powered
JConcepts TXD Skin Graphix
Big Features is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 07:16 PM   #22146
Tech Addict
 
IslandBwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Features View Post
Standing the shocks up with add steering and make the car react faster.
Leaning the shocks in will soften the cars reaction and add grip.

Thats on the towers though. Bringing the shocks in on the arm will soften the suspension. You can get alittle more steering all-around by moving the front shock bottoms in one hole.
BF -To the untrained ear, it sounds like your a claiming that both standing the shocks up and laying them down adds grip ("standing the shocks up will add steering" & "Leaning the shocks in will soften the cars reaction and add grip"). I think that it may be better explained that with standing your shocks up you will limit how quickly your car transfers weight laterally (left to right). Thus when moving through a shikane, the car is able to change directions quickly as full lateral transfer has probably not occurred. Which is good because the more weight that is moved in one direction, the harder it is to change directions. Inversely, when your shocks are laid inwards, the quicker weight is shifted to either side of the car. Therefore, moving through the sweeper for example the car will gravitate away from the turn more. Playing with shock angle at either end of the car will help the car transfer more or less weight laterally on that end of the car.

Stay away from trying to explain it in terms of more or less grip as it could be confusing.

My 2 cents.
IslandBwoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2007, 11:40 PM   #22147
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Albany, OR
Posts: 244
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

I'm buying a MI3 to run stock rubber and 19t rubber with to replace my used MI2EC. None of the tracks here carry parts but I don't feel like being a sheep and running what everyone else has. So what spare parts or aftermarket stuff should I get from the get go before assembling my new kit? I want to only have to build this once the right way. I plan on running a brushless setup probably novak. So any help on what to buy before I build and what to stock for races would be great help thanks.
ManiacMagoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 12:30 AM   #22148
Tech Initiate
 
The Shrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: England
Posts: 22
Default

Just a quick question.

All the time ive been racing ive never ran any roll bars.

Over the last year or so more and more people seem to be running them. Obviously they stop the car rolling as much and i imagine that takes some grip away.

So my question is why would you want to put them on ? How would it change the car ? Do you think its worth a try ?

Some people seem to run them outside on tarmac when i always seem to be trying to get more grip but by fitting them they are taking it away so im a little confused ?
The Shrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 02:37 AM   #22149
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 354
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jan Larsen
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ManiacMagoo View Post
I'm buying a MI3 to run stock rubber and 19t rubber with to replace my used MI2EC. None of the tracks here carry parts but I don't feel like being a sheep and running what everyone else has. So what spare parts or aftermarket stuff should I get from the get go before assembling my new kit? I want to only have to build this once the right way. I plan on running a brushless setup probably novak. So any help on what to buy before I build and what to stock for races would be great help thanks.
Extra blades, rear A-arms (they really dont like backwards collisions), rear hingepins (backwards collisions likewise), spur gear and an assortment of washers. Thats about it. Oh yeah, and the spring set unless you already have something like the Associated.
Make sure to use threadlock, most people say you dont have to, but my experience tells me that you do. Especially on the long screw that holds the spur gear assembly in place. The spur gear will be chewed up if that happends (happened to me this weekend).
Jan Larsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:12 AM   #22150
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I recomend a top deck...the stiff one maybe...any shunt in the rear can break the origional top deck
Barger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 03:34 AM   #22151
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 354
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Jan Larsen
Default

You can't just brake a top deck. In all my years of racing, I've only seen one broken top deck and that was with a car landing on it's side on the straight and then get nailed in the roof at 60mph.

Btw, if you run rubber tires, try the flex deck, I haven't tried it, but a friend of mine has and it dialed the car out. Mine is dialed with the standard deck, but I'll try the flex one very soon.
Jan Larsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 04:24 AM   #22152
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

some people says flex top deck Causes the tweak..
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 05:09 AM   #22153
Tech Elite
 
James khoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 2,767
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to James khoo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yokemad View Post
some people says flex top deck Causes the tweak..
I had facing tweak on every run.had to untweak the car everytime after run.i'm using flex top deck.
James khoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 05:10 AM   #22154
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

There we go
But if You need extra extra grip worth to try...
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2007, 09:31 AM   #22155
Tech Regular
 
Tickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default Top deck...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Larsen View Post
You can't just brake a top deck. In all my years of racing, I've only seen one broken top deck and that was with a car landing on it's side on the straight and then get nailed in the roof at 60mph.
My top deck broke two weekends ago without being hit by another car. It was the flex one that comes with the kit. I caught the inside of a turn and broke the C-hub, arm, bent the CVD, and broke the top deck in half. So now you know about two.
Tickle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:56 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net