R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-26-2007, 08:33 PM   #21841
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Roborat: I was faced with this same issue when I got my Mi3. To me, labeling a car as "lipo ready" or whatever, should mean that your car works with THE most popular Lipo on the market.

But...as it turns out, the compatibility that Schumacher refered to was with its own lipo. Which is similar in size to the Orion 4800, but has both leads on one side of the pack, thus getting rid of the bulkhead problem.

Anyway...I believe you can fit the Orion 4800, but it does require some fitting. What most people have done is one of a couple things...

-Move the pack far enough to the outside that the clearance for the steering rack is attained, and so that the pack can be plugged in easily. This of course means that the pack will be hanging slightly off the chassis. I think a while back PW had a pic of his car like this.

-Get the new steering arms and move the steering rack forward, then angle the pack so that the battery port at the back clears the bulkhead for easy plugging.

-OR....and this is the one I chose...look at all the options and realize that the pack is never going to fit 'perfectly'. So just sell the Orion 4800 and use that money to buy Orion 3200. The 3200 fits so much easier and after selling the 4800 packs, making the switch is likely not to cost you anything out of pocket.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2007, 11:55 PM   #21842
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

Darkseid: to be honest i was kinda hoping those options were not the only one's id have ... hahahaha ... thought of the steering rack arm change but i'd have to get hold of that which is a challange on its own given no parts support locally .... and of cors moving the pack with overhand beyond the chassis .... ugly option though.

but yes, kinda disappointing to read a statement like "lipo ready" and not consider the most popular LiPo pack out there (at least where im form) before stating that claim. oh well, im not want to bash ... but it is kinda frustrating to say the least. no too hot about going with 3200s though given i run BL down to 3.5 winds and 3200 worth of capacity is cutting it close i guess especially in our open track ... i find myself using up about 3000mah of my 4800s so id be borderline with the 3200s. I'll look at other LiPos i guess like the Core etc .... bummer!
__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 02:42 AM   #21843
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Gold Coast Australia
Posts: 800
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Guys ..I run a 4700 lipo called Premium that had a tamyia plug coming out one end...I bought it from Australian supplier(www.harrisrc.com.au)..I put a deans plug on and no problems.....whith your problem can you use a connector to the pack, then run 2 short wires under the bulkhead,to a deans connector or whatever that connects to your speedy.
Another trick to hold the battery in is a strip of velcro along the lipo pack and another strip of velcro on a bar between the posts ....a battery brace that stops the lipo moving anywhere
Barger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 05:33 AM   #21844
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBORAT View Post
Darkseid: to be honest i was kinda hoping those options were not the only one's id have ... hahahaha ... thought of the steering rack arm change but i'd have to get hold of that which is a challange on its own given no parts support locally .... and of cors moving the pack with overhand beyond the chassis .... ugly option though.

but yes, kinda disappointing to read a statement like "lipo ready" and not consider the most popular LiPo pack out there (at least where im form) before stating that claim. oh well, im not want to bash ... but it is kinda frustrating to say the least. no too hot about going with 3200s though given i run BL down to 3.5 winds and 3200 worth of capacity is cutting it close i guess especially in our open track ... i find myself using up about 3000mah of my 4800s so id be borderline with the 3200s. I'll look at other LiPos i guess like the Core etc .... bummer!
I hear ya. The 3200 isn't a problem for me, since its mainly 10.5 and 13.5 for me. And we barely go through 1000-1100mah using those motors.

And it definitely sucks to have to switch lipo brands. The new comers may have their pluses, but Orion has proven reliability with this type of pack, and proven customer service. And those are things these new packs can't get just by slapping on some extra mah and slapping on some bogus claim like "matched lipo".

Well, good luck with the new pack. And don't forget to share some pics with us after you've gotten the car ready.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 05:43 AM   #21845
Tech Addict
 
IslandBwoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 602
Default

Sorry I'm a little behind the curve on this but what is the difference between using the mi3 arms and the EC arms? Why go back to the older arms?
IslandBwoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 08:00 AM   #21846
Tech Elite
 
UK.hardcore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgium.
Posts: 2,135
Default

No provision for roll bar on the old arms i believe.
__________________
A racecar is only as good as the mechanic who build it.
UK.hardcore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 08:35 AM   #21847
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

hi dudes
can I use the the backside of mi3 diff rings when the normal side a bit worn out???
also does anyone knows the size of diff balls
cheers
P.S
mi2EC arms gives you a bit more overall grip as they are a bit more flex than mi3 ones...
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 08:39 AM   #21848
Tech Champion
 
abailey21's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,217
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

lol i wasnt dogging your Orion's man. i had just heard they were bigger. I was reading last night in xtreme mag about the different packs and looked at the sizes and i guess what i've heard wasnt true (imagine that about LiPo) they're all the same size, so as usual i stand corrected lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by ROBORAT View Post
abailey: probably so but unfortunately these are the ones i use and have been very happy with them since i purchased them. I know about the Core packs and like that they come with a hard case and of cors max amps (soft packs) but im really looking at making what i currently have work first (if thats possible at all) rather than making a new purchase all together since unfortunately the rc funds are not unlimitted for me ... so any help would really be great .... offhand i was thinking moving the steering assembly forward one hole (which would change ackerman) but that would entail a different rack rod which unfortunately does not come in the box with the kit.
__________________
K.C.C.O.
abailey21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 09:02 AM   #21849
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 5,058
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UK.hardcore View Post
No provision for roll bar on the old arms i believe.
I just drilled them out.
__________________
Steve Walter
Sweep Racing USA/ Speed Passion USA/ Karens Famous Cookies (Transporter)
SRW141 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 09:21 AM   #21850
Tech Elite
 
POUNDITRACING's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

This question was braught up on another thread. This Quote is from adrian m.

Fitting the Orion 4800 Lipo. If you run this battery you will need to run the optional shorter center track rod and run the steering post one hole futher forward. Its no problem after that change.

The team is 50/50 split on which center track rod they like best the stock or the next shorter. PW like the next shorter one from kit standard. These center track rods will be available either at the same time as the kit or a week later.
__________________
Pound It Paints - http://www.rctech.net/forum/painting-designs-graphics-photography/270707-pound-paints-raymond-ramirez.html
RC Reveled - http://www.teamrcr.net
POUNDITRACING is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 09:23 AM   #21851
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

2.5 mm diff balls. The orions 4800 and 3200 will fit fine, fitting all the way on the chassis, and without cutting or tilting . . just be preceise in where you mount it and theres room to clear the belt and still plug in. I was able to get it to work with all of the steering rods. The shorter ne just made it a bit easier.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:27 AM   #21852
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Default

off the subject, i am having a real problem with the rear-toe, i have 2mm on the front and 0.5mm on the back, i have the flex wishbones, and the setup station i have keep saying it is 4 degrees on each side, i have checked all the manual the spacers and all the stuff is right, can anyone help
jordan.norwood@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:32 AM   #21853
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

are you running 0* plastic rear hubs or the optional purple aluminum 1* rear hubs? I wasn't sure if this is what you were saying also but do you have the screw blcoks in the correct orientation in the rear? Its a bit convoluted . . .
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 10:33 AM   #21854
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 84
Default

yes i have the normal rear rubs and the screw blocks are all correct
jordan.norwood@ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2007, 11:23 AM   #21855
Tech Master
 
redlion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: VA
Posts: 1,169
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Do you have any pics???

Wes
redlion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net