R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-11-2007, 11:21 AM   #21571
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,467
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Best method (IMHO) for drilling the 3rd hole is to fill the std 2 up first. In the US we have an epoxy called Araldite - ideal for the job!!
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:05 PM   #21572
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmy..maddison View Post
ok set up is as follows:


front

40wt oil
hole 3 on tower
1.5mm vert shim
3mm horizontal shim
1mm width shim
1.5mm roll center shims
3mm behind wishbone for wheelbase
short lenght mid width ackerman 1 hole forward
spool


rear
35wt oil
2mm vert shim
2,5mm horizontal shim
2mm roll center shims
mid wheelbase
3 deg toe in

this set up was on med traction carpet on muchmore 32 tyres

hope this helps

Cheers, what width/toe-in shims did you use at the rear?
And were you using Sch white springs?

Is the kit toe-in (2mm front, 0.5mm Rear) 2.4 deg?

Skiddins
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 12:21 PM   #21573
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 270
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skiddins View Post
Cheers, what width/toe-in shims did you use at the rear?
And were you using Sch white springs?

Is the kit toe-in (2mm front, 0.5mm Rear) 2.4 deg?

Skiddins

1mm and 2mm at rear,

springs i ran 17.5lb front and 14lb rear
jimmy..maddison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 02:04 PM   #21574
PW
Tech Elite
 
PW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 4,393
Send a message via AIM to PW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
PW - On your setup, with the 3rd hole in the front hubs, do you literally drill a 3mm hole between the 2 existing holes? Just does not look like a lot of meat there.
Like Randy said, I used an under sized bit. Reamed the hole slightly with my reamer and then threaded the ball-stud into the new hole. Filling the std holes with 5min plastic epoxy would obviously be the best thing to do.

Now if we could only get Schumacher to make it right, but I've been asking for years
PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 03:39 PM   #21575
Tech Master
 
yokemad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,150
Default

Is that Wright???

width shim=Screw Block Spacers
vertical shim & horizontal shim=Link Washer (horizontal&ver.)
roll center shims=Pivot Block spacers
Cheers
yokemad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 06:04 PM   #21576
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,814
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoherty View Post
Got it. I just got 10 mm from you saying you took 4 mm off from the shorter ball cups which measured about 14 mm on my car. In the end all that matters is that you have a cup thats roughly 11-12-13 mm. I am a bit bewildred as to how you got your shock length down to 59.5 mm though. I couldn't get past 60.5 with the cup threaded as far in as I coud get it. Weird . . .
I've got bunches of shock shafts, so it was an easy decision to just shave 1.5-2mm off to see what the fit & action of the shocks were like .....in the end, perfect
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 07:55 PM   #21577
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,774
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

"berry berry sneaky"
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 07:57 PM   #21578
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 16,671
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PW View Post
Like Randy said, I used an under sized bit. Reamed the hole slightly with my reamer and then threaded the ball-stud into the new hole. Filling the std holes with 5min plastic epoxy would obviously be the best thing to do.

Now if we could only get Schumacher to make it right, but I've been asking for years
Hey Paul, what ackerman plate did you run again?
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 08:02 PM   #21579
PW
Tech Elite
 
PW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 4,393
Send a message via AIM to PW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Caster View Post
Hey Paul, what ackerman plate did you run again?
I'm currently running the shortest/mid spaced one.
PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:30 PM   #21580
Tech Champion
 
ROBORAT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 5,360
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to ROBORAT
Default

hi guys! what spring rate are the springs that come in the box with the kit?
__________________
[YOKOMO BD7][REEDY RACING][TEAM ORION]
[Sanwa][LRP][Protoform]

http://www.hobbyhaven.com.my/
ROBORAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 10:38 PM   #21581
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

14 lbs. They're actually a little stiffer but that's what they're rated at.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2007, 11:59 PM   #21582
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Mongville
Posts: 6,979
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy Caster View Post
I definately felt the difference in my car at the ROAR nats between mod and 19t. I was using the stock 6 cell chassis, front 5 cells for mod, 6 cells for stock. The mod car was definately more responsive, the 6 cell car was a bit more sluggish in the corners. I never really worried much about the weight of the car before that race, but after feeling the difference firsthand I try to get the weight down now.
Can someone please show a pic of how they have mounted Corally tubes on their 5 cell packs with the 6 cell chassis?

On my cyclone i just put them on the end of the cell per normal, but in the MI3 the belt runs too close.
Besercoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 05:44 AM   #21583
Tech Elite
 
Skiddins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Windsor, UK
Posts: 4,705
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Can someone please show a pic of how they have mounted Corally tubes on their 5 cell packs with the 6 cell chassis?

On my cyclone i just put them on the end of the cell per normal, but in the MI3 the belt runs too close.
Most people run a battery bar up from the end cell and bent at a right angle so the tube can be mounted 'on top' of the pack.
__________________
Xray T4'18, T4'14 (Wet Car)
Xray X12 2018
Xray X1'16
wlrc.co.uk (West London Racing Centre)
RCDisco.co.uk
Skiddins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 09:34 AM   #21584
Tech Prophet
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 16,671
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PW View Post
I'm currently running the shortest/mid spaced one.
Thats what I've been using lately as well, I'll try your ackerman on Sunday.
Randy Caster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 09:57 AM   #21585
Tech Regular
 
steveonamission's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Besercoe View Post
Can someone please show a pic of how they have mounted Corally tubes on their 5 cell packs with the 6 cell chassis?

On my cyclone i just put them on the end of the cell per normal, but in the MI3 the belt runs too close.




Hope this helps, sorry for the poor image quality.

My corally connecter clears the belt quite confortably
steveonamission is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-03-2006 11:12 PM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 10:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 10:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 06:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 02:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net