R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-06-2007, 03:14 PM   #19996
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Here is my MI3 with 5-cell set up it weighs 1369grams w/o the body and 1485 with, Im sorry my wiring is not as neat as PW but I tried



Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 05:12 PM   #19997
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
Here is my MI3 with 5-cell set up it weighs 1369grams w/o the body and 1485 with, Im sorry my wiring is not as neat as PW but I tried
Lookin' good.

Is that the P-dub bumper? Do you have to trim it, looks like your tires would hit if you turn the wheels even a little.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 05:32 PM   #19998
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkseid View Post
Lookin' good.

Is that the P-dub bumper? Do you have to trim it, looks like your tires would hit if you turn the wheels even a little.
its the P-Dub bumper and believe it or not the tires do not touch the bumper at all
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 05:44 PM   #19999
Regional Moderator
 
Darkseid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: At my computer, duh...
Posts: 9,033
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
its the P-Dub bumper and believe it or not the tires do not touch the bumper at all
Huh... thats pretty amazing. It looks like if you even think about turning the wheels, that you'll be carving foam.
__________________
TLR 22...Tamiya F104...
Darkseid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 06:15 PM   #20000
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marcos.J View Post
its the P-Dub bumper and believe it or not the tires do not touch the bumper at all
Yes, its true. I installed the MI3 P-Dub bumper a few days ago and it doesnt interfere at all. It works great and its really tough...

Also: please note that you can add 4mm in shims to the servo mount and get the servo 4mm further inward towards the centerline for much better balance and weight distribution. The 4mm in shims( 2X2mm spacers/shims) work nicely with the stock center trackrod, and the servo horn. If you use the stock servo saver you might use 3mm. With the med/med trackrod, you can use 3.5mm in shims. This allows you to get the servo as far inward as possible, thanks to unique and exquisite design of the MI3, and no car today with similar servo configuration allows you to put the servo so far inside as the Mi3 allows us!!!
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 06:26 PM   #20001
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default MJ's Mi3

Marcos- nice pics of a nice ride...good layout, too. The only think i could think of is this: for better weight distribution and centralization of mass, have you tried sliding the ESC forward, so that it meets with the servo mount. This gives you a gap between the ESC and motor- in this gap, laydown the capacitor. You can lay the capacitor down paralel to the motor and stick it down to the chassis and against the bulkhead. Or you can stad it up in the gap. The space between the GTb and motor is enough to fit the capacitor and should allow you to also slide the ESC a few mm further towards the center line- you can get it within 3mm of the belt
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:02 PM   #20002
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Talking

I want to order some spare diff rings. Anyone know if U3140 comes with 2 diff rings per pack or just one per pack?
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:07 PM   #20003
Super Moderator
 
Marcos.J's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Semper Fi
Posts: 25,181
Trader Rating: 140 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
Marcos- nice pics of a nice ride...good layout, too. The only think i could think of is this: for better weight distribution and centralization of mass, have you tried sliding the ESC forward, so that it meets with the servo mount. This gives you a gap between the ESC and motor- in this gap, laydown the capacitor. You can lay the capacitor down paralel to the motor and stick it down to the chassis and against the bulkhead. Or you can stad it up in the gap. The space between the GTb and motor is enough to fit the capacitor and should allow you to also slide the ESC a few mm further towards the center line- you can get it within 3mm of the belt
the car is pretty balanced from left to tright and front to rear, i need the room between the esc and the motor to fit my 52t pinion
Marcos.J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:21 PM   #20004
PW
Tech Elite
 
PW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 4,288
Send a message via AIM to PW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yyhayyim View Post
I want to order some spare diff rings. Anyone know if U3140 comes with 2 diff rings per pack or just one per pack?
They come in pairs.
PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:25 PM   #20005
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Picked up a spare racing shock set and one of the shock caps has only (1) vent hole Does anyone know what size hole it is...I want to drill it out myself
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 07:25 PM   #20006
Tech Elite
 
yyhayyim's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Weston, FL
Posts: 3,424
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PW View Post
They come in pairs.
Thanks PW...by the way- have you tested with the med/med track rod? What hole? What are the differences between that one vs the stock one(long/med)?
yyhayyim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 08:01 PM   #20007
PW
Tech Elite
 
PW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Groveland, FL
Posts: 4,288
Send a message via AIM to PW
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee View Post
Picked up a spare racing shock set and one of the shock caps has only (1) vent hole Does anyone know what size hole it is...I want to drill it out myself
Not sure. Shoot me an e-mail and I will try and get you a new cap and or the size of the hole paul@schumacherusa.net

Quote:
Thanks PW...by the way- have you tested with the med/med track rod? What hole? What are the differences between that one vs the stock one(long/med)?
I would like to test it some more because at my home track it gave the car more steering, but the stock link was more steering at the Reedy Race
PW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2007, 09:26 PM   #20008
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,803
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Thanks PW
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 12:16 AM   #20009
Tech Elite
 
MikeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 4,955
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

So will the oneways come out for the car (seems complicated to work on the current layshaft system) or is Schumacher going full tilt towards the spool?
MikeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2007, 04:15 AM   #20010
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Tallinn, Estonia
Posts: 226
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeR View Post
So will the oneways come out for the car (seems complicated to work on the current layshaft system) or is Schumacher going full tilt towards the spool?
Are you serious? There is a front oneway system available for the car, that's all you need.
olev is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-04-2006 12:12 AM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 11:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 11:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 07:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 03:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0