R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-08-2002, 02:52 PM   #1531
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Austin, Tx
Posts: 267
Default

Thanks for the replies, guys...think I'm set..
markg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2002, 07:38 PM   #1532
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 315
Default

hey fellers, is there any way to set my droop without using a droop gauge and blocks? I just havent gotten all my Hudy stuff ordered yet. I do have a digital caliper for measuring if that will aid me any. Thanx in advance.
IKE
FoamDonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2002, 09:05 PM   #1533
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,764
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Ike.....If you have a ride hight gauge set your car at the ride hight that you want. Then lift up on one end of the car (only high enough to max out the ridehight) and slid the ride hight gauge under the end that is lifted. What ever number you have on the gauge over your static ride hight is your droop. Then repeat for the other end of the car. You can adjust your droop screws to get how much droop you want. I use this method over the droop gauge and seems to work just as good.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2002, 09:22 PM   #1534
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 315
Default

kevin,
COOL thank you very much, I think you are following me around from the 12 forum to this one HEHHEHEHEHE. Just another question for ya KEV, what is the length of your shocks? Also, could you tell me what method you use for measuring them I want to see if the way that I did it in 1/8 on-road is the same method that most guys on here are using. When I built my shocks the other and was measuring them they came out at 62.15mm
IKE
FoamDonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2002, 10:14 PM   #1535
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 94
Default

Mopar: I agree, the 20 tooth wasn't any good in stock.
_neas_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 12:32 AM   #1536
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,764
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Ike....honnest im not following you.....it just happens that these are the 2 boards that I check in on. I measure the over all max length or full extension of the shock. From shock top(very top) to bottom of the ball cup. I run my shocks 66mm long...might be longer then most but thats where I like them. I also use RPM ball cups.......... they are longer then the ball grippas that come in the kit......on the shock ends so the spring sits up higher, this is helpful if you use Associated springs.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.

Last edited by Kevin K; 03-09-2002 at 12:35 AM.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 12:34 AM   #1537
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 315
Default

Kevin,
I had a be@tch of a time getting the Schuie ball ends to bottom out on the shock shaft. Wich RPM ball cuppers are you using(part numbers?) I measure mine from inside the ball cup and inside the shock eyelet at the top and I get 62.15mm i will try the other way as well.
IKE
FoamDonuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 12:38 AM   #1538
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,764
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

I use the standard RPM cups in purple.....not the long ones. I know that I dont thread the RPM cups all the way onto the shaft. When I get them to the length that I want there is still a little threads showing on the shaft. Hope this helps....when I did use the ball grippas I did not thread them all the way onto the shaft aswell.....so you might have them too short maybe
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 01:11 AM   #1539
Tech Regular
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Oasis2001
Default

Hi guys,

Just wondering what inserts you guys use with Take Off tyres? Everyone is using the 27 tyre on asphalt and its excellent expect you always get a groove on the inner edge of the tyre. Everyone in mod gets it and its obvious the stock insert 'squirms'. I was looking at HPI but the Echo inserts seem quite good and light which is excellent.

Chris
Oasis2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 03:48 AM   #1540
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,441
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I think squirming is generally caused by too much air gap. For this reason i usually use Schumacher foam inserts in Take off tyres. The greys if it is cold (haven't used them in the hot yet!!). I would guess maybe black or even blue.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 06:32 AM   #1541
Tech Regular
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Oasis2001
Default

Ive never been a big fan of foam inserts. i did get some however with some Pit wet weather tyres. Unfortuently only the rims and inserts came in the order! Still waiting upon tyres!
Oasis2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 06:35 AM   #1542
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 122
Default

Oasis. actually I found the oppsoite true thus far. I run on aspahlyt and run 27's in the front and 22's in the rear and I ran the stock MED insert in the 22's and they look great but ran an HPI med/firm (blue) insert in the 27's and it bunched and gave me that nice little line on the inside of the tire as you are talking about I wasn't sure why it did it either, its a pretty firm insert and usually the soft ones are the only ones to do it. My buddy has rant he SAME thing only on an Xray and has no problem, wonder if it is b/c the mission has so much steering and front end grip?? I am curious though!!! I would like to know what to do also! Also might add these are the only CS tires I have tested but have some more I just received (32's and 27's) so now I am afraid to mount them LOL

Last edited by wilson10; 03-09-2002 at 06:38 AM.
wilson10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 06:39 AM   #1543
Tech Regular
 
Oasis2001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 446
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Oasis2001
Default

Thanks for the input Wilson. It certainly is a probl;em and you maybe correct. I have tried running the upper hub hole(less camber change) and 0 degrees camber! Still the tyres 'groove' on the inside. its a pain because when you cut them off they are almost brand new in the centre but down to the belt on the inside edge. Booger!

I just thought a hard insert like the HPI red or green would be cool with it. I do think HPI Blue is a little too hard. i tend to match inserts with track temps and blue is for hot tracks where you would be using 22 or 27s.
Oasis2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 06:50 AM   #1544
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 122
Default

I agree about the temp thing and MAYBE it was too cool for the insert???? I live in a hot humid place but it is just begining to warm up. It has never been hotter than 65-70 degrees ambient when i have ran. I think the greens may work I am going to try blues's again and HOPE it works!
wilson10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2002, 06:52 AM   #1545
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 122
Default

maybe JB inserts will work, Check em out on Orions website. They look sweet!
wilson10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Corner Dots anyone? RCGaryK Electric On-Road 19 07-04-2006 12:12 AM
On the Corner RC-HPI R/C Photography 0 08-02-2005 11:53 PM
Snowbirds Around the Corner scarecrow Florida Racing 20 01-27-2005 11:43 AM
1/12th Corner GT Racer Singapore R/C Racers 26 03-04-2004 07:59 AM
Shumacher Corner in Aus jamesbaxter_81 Australian Racing 6 01-08-2004 03:36 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:11 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0