1/12 questions

Old 03-11-2004, 07:33 PM
Tech Adept

Default 1/12 questions

A new indoor carpet track has just opened in my area and I am thinking about getting an electric car (I have been racing nitro for a few years and really enjoy it but this indoor track looks too good not to run) I am leaning towards a 1/12 car but still looking at 1/10 tc also (especially the xray evo2). I guess my first question is what are the best options currently for 1/12 cars and why is this car in your opinion a good choice. Also what are good esc choices (I have heard the new lrp quantum2 is good)
and how are these cars on the foam tires on carpet, how long does a set of foams usually last you(like how many race day(s))
Oh and how do you set up the front suspension? can I set it up on my 1/10 hudy set up stuff?
I am sorry to post this on a new thread but the 1/12 thread is awfully long and was hoping to get up to speed quickly and it would take me quite a while to wade through the whole 1/12 thread.
Thank you very much to all who participate
SB
Old 03-11-2004, 07:39 PM
Tech Fanatic

I'd look at an AE RC12L3 or the Yokomo YRX12. Both are very similar cars and easier to setup then the Trinity cars....
I have the earlier version of the YRX12, the 2001 Special (has black carbon fibre as opposed to SSG) and find it a very fast car...
Old 03-11-2004, 07:40 PM
Tech Fanatic

Or wait till the new AE 12L4 is released....
Old 03-11-2004, 07:41 PM
Tech Fanatic

Above all I'd recommend reading some of the previous posts in the 1/12 forum....
Old 03-11-2004, 07:47 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)

Read about the last 100 posts or so on the 1/12th scale forum.

Better yet, go to your local track and see what they are running and what you'd like.

If you buy something like the Yok 1/12th and no-one else has it, setup help and spares are going to be harder to come by (luckily 1/12th cars are mostly interchangable).