Community
Wiki Posts
Search

My first RC car HELP!

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2009, 06:04 AM
Tech Rookie

Default My first RC car HELP!

Hey im new to these forum and im new to RC cars. I have a 100-200$ budget i want a RC car thats fast looks cool and i can recharge quick.I Have no clue what to look for in a RC car. Im a computer geek so i can pick up on basic knowledge and logic well.
Old 12-15-2009, 07:00 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

if thats what you got to spend start with a tt01 or a ta05 if the budget will allow altough you maybe lucky to get a fast charger a bat. for that

you will also need money for spares a tyres so keep that in mind

happy shopping
Old 12-15-2009, 07:32 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

Originally Posted by waly alloush
Hey im new to these forum and im new to RC cars. I have a 100-200$ budget i want a RC car thats fast looks cool and i can recharge quick.I Have no clue what to look for in a RC car. Im a computer geek so i can pick up on basic knowledge and logic well.
http://www.hpiracing.com/kitinfo/10785/

A complete listing of HPI's RTR cars. Pretty good value.
http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...=SM&C=CAC&V=HP
Old 12-15-2009, 08:25 AM
Tech Elite

Hehe! Do you know that saying "Fast, cheap, reliable - you can only have two!". That will be your first lesson, but I don't expect you will understand it soon.

Just an example, the RTR cars are cheap and may be fast, but more often than not they're not as reliable as the top cars which are not cheap.

A comment on the above suggestions though, from personal experience, HPI cars are not that good (unless you go for the top Cyclone cars, and then you're in pro territory i.e. big money).

My choice if I were to get into the hobby with what I know now would be a basic tamiya kit, probably one like the TA05 which can be developed over time as your skills grow into a full blown TRF race winner.