R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-17-2011, 05:13 AM   #1411
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
I need to improof my lap times. Need help to stay up with the Tekins and Speed Passions.

My Setup:
Motor : Ballistic 13.5
Timing : Zero
Start Power : High
Boost Timing : 35
Cheat Mode : 9000 - 20100
FDR : 5.4 on foam tires.

I lack pace on the in field mostly
If you are looking for more infield rip raise your FDR to 6.8 - 7.2. Then adjust your timing for the straight.
Give this a try and see if your infield performance increases.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2011, 06:15 AM   #1412
Tech Rookie
 
EricL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Send a message via Yahoo to EricL
Default broken shaft!

has any one had any issues with the end of the shaft braking off?
I had a brand new motor with less than 2 minutes of runtime snap right off while it was running in the car.

Gear mesh was fine and screws were tight on the motor.
__________________
Twin Pines II Speedway
EricL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 01:26 PM   #1413
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 325
Default Fittting

hello, Just tunning in to get some ideas. I just bought an old RDX to start to run EP onroad and I got a MMP. So now I find that I have a little room for the MMP and am wondering howmany have taken the speedo apart to accomodate on there chassis. If you have pics to post or have seen them posted with this mod please post.

Thanks,
havy
havy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 01:56 PM   #1414
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 325
Default

Another quick question, I plan on running 17.5t Citrix motor. Can I run w/o the fan? I live in the tropics where temps are 80-90 and humid.

thanks
havy
havy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 02:00 PM   #1415
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havy View Post
hello, Just tunning in to get some ideas. I just bought an old RDX to start to run EP onroad and I got a MMP. So now I find that I have a little room for the MMP and am wondering howmany have taken the speedo apart to accomodate on there chassis. If you have pics to post or have seen them posted with this mod please post.

Thanks,
havy
When i was running one in my xray which has the same sevo mount style, i turned it parallel with the motor, my spektrum mini receiver was mounted between that and the servo and my transponder was on top of the servo, i would not recommend taking it out of the case for sedan because i believe that takes the heat sink off, if the heat sink can stay on and you can remove the case, go for it if you want, im pretty sure that will void any warranty on the speedo though. and not to "jack" the forum but if you need help with setup for your RDX PM me for any help you might need.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 02:02 PM   #1416
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hagerstown, MD
Posts: 1,699
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havy View Post
Another quick question, I plan on running 17.5t Citrix motor. Can I run w/o the fan? I live in the tropics where temps are 80-90 and humid.

thanks
havy
i would run the fan to start, in that heat and humidity it could over heat the speedo quickly.
__________________
★Randy Banks★
COLD AS ICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:47 PM   #1417
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 325
Default

Thanks for the info. cold as Ice. I guess I shouldn't try w/o the fan. It is just such a tight fit. the fan won't fit under the top deck and I don't think I can do it with the sensors toward the middle. Guess I'm gonna have to figuer this out.

Thanks
havy
havy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 03:55 PM   #1418
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havy View Post
Thanks for the info. cold as Ice. I guess I shouldn't try w/o the fan. It is just such a tight fit. the fan won't fit under the top deck and I don't think I can do it with the sensors toward the middle. Guess I'm gonna have to figuer this out.

Thanks
havy
No fan should be fine even in the heat. Even in 17.5 boosted it never gets evn warm.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 04:01 PM   #1419
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havy View Post
hello, Just tunning in to get some ideas. I just bought an old RDX to start to run EP onroad and I got a MMP. So now I find that I have a little room for the MMP and am wondering howmany have taken the speedo apart to accomodate on there chassis. If you have pics to post or have seen them posted with this mod please post.

Thanks,
havy
I run with out the fan. I removed the switch completely soldered on the board so the esc is on when you plug it in. I also shortened the receiver lead. I know a couple of guys that also shortened the heat sink with no ill effects.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 05:15 PM   #1420
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 325
Default

Macdude,
cool, goona try it w/o the fan first. I've run the previous mamba max w/ a plettinberg shadow(6 pole sensorless inrunner) w/o overheating issues so I hope the MMP works as good.
thanks

havy
havy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2011, 08:43 PM   #1421
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by havy View Post
Macdude,
cool, goona try it w/o the fan first. I've run the previous mamba max w/ a plettinberg shadow(6 pole sensorless inrunner) w/o overheating issues so I hope the MMP works as good.
thanks

havy
You should be good to go. I run it in an 1/8 scale buggy too with 4S lipo and it handles that without a problem. And according to castle the MMP has better FET's than the Mamba monster or the older mamba max.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 09:17 PM   #1422
Tech Master
 
bigemike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: hamilton, oh
Posts: 1,750
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to bigemike
Default

I know this is onroad but I am hoping you guys can help
I am running a trinity d3 550 5.5t in my losi scte and I was wondering where to start with the timing advance activation range. The rpm scale is similar to a 13.5 or 10.5
__________________
No sponsors. Love TLR, OS and Futaba though
bigemike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 06:25 AM   #1423
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigemike View Post
I know this is onroad but I am hoping you guys can help
I am running a trinity d3 550 5.5t in my losi scte and I was wondering where to start with the timing advance activation range. The rpm scale is similar to a 13.5 or 10.5
First I would try it with no boost and running it in smartsense mode. This is the most effecent way to run a larger motor. If you still seem like you need more rip then try sensored only mode. But I am willing to bet that you won't need too. Boost would only be used if you where on a huge track and wanted to get a little more top speed out of the motor. I have run a couple 4x4 SC trucks with the 550 5.5T and none needed any more rip. The fact that dirt limits your effective use of torque makes a better option to use torque control in the ESC to prevent wheel spin out of the corners.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 06:30 AM   #1424
Tech Addict
 
jnelson214's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 614
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

I downloaded the beta 1.30 version and got to the track and the nuetral would not set so I constantly had a blinking yellow light. I had to go back to 1.22 version to get it to sync properly? has anyone had this issue? Could it be my radio?

THanks
__________________
22 2.0 /Speed Passion
22 SCT/Speed Passion
jnelson214 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 06:51 AM   #1425
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jnelson214 View Post
I downloaded the beta 1.30 version and got to the track and the nuetral would not set so I constantly had a blinking yellow light. I had to go back to 1.22 version to get it to sync properly? has anyone had this issue? Could it be my radio?

THanks
The yellow light is the new roar requirement for zero timing mode. If you have no cheat mode then it will blink when in neutral. you didn't do anything wrong.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18817 07-17-2017 07:08 PM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 10:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 03:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-23-2009 11:33 PM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 07:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:45 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net