R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2010, 03:18 PM   #1231
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff jenkins View Post
i had an issue after i installed the new firmware the esc would stall in the middle of the run as if it were thermaling and its the exact same gearing and everything i ran on previous software and the fan was on when this happened then if you wait a second it wouls cool off and then run for a little longer then thermal again. at least i hope it didnt thermal but it did this after i installed the firmware.
Jeff no problems with thermal but MMP does have a problem with a sight miss at low rpm.
On the weekend i ran 10.5 and 17.5 at the Gold Coast in Australia , the track is large with medium/good grip and very flowing with 3 hair pins.
I just could not find a fast setup for the MMP it was either to much or not enough (maybe i was geard to high) Stock i found was excelent in the infield but lacked the top end of the Tekins and LRP. And for some reason the lack of bracks with the new firm wear Avid 2 was Great.
Steven
__________________
Robitronic Avid / Avid V2
Tekin RS pro / Viper 10.5/MMP/6900

AE B44- MMP/Hacker 10.5/6900 Castle
IP 5000/50 SMC 5200/40/50

Last edited by Casino Kid; 08-04-2010 at 04:10 PM.
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 01:57 AM   #1232
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casino Kid View Post
Jeff no problems with thermal but MMP does have a problem with a sight miss at low rpm.
On the weekend i ran 10.5 and 13.5 at the Gold Coast in Australia , the track is large with medium/good grip and very flowing with 3 hair pins.
I just could not find a fast setup for the MMP it was either to much or not enough (maybe i was geard to high) Stock i found was excelent in the infield but lacked the top end of the Tekins and LRP. And for some reason the lack of bracks with the new firm wear Avid 2 was Great.
Steven
Hi
What setup did you run in 13.5 with cheat mode and torque ?
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 12:17 PM   #1233
Tech Regular
 
Luppi Stefano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Italy
Posts: 490
Default

This Sunday I Run with SP V3 4,5T
but do not know Torque Limit Setting
link of the track
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.

can I help for setting?
thank's!
__________________
Team Capricorn Italy
Lab F1-01
Luppi Stefano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 04:11 PM   #1234
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northern NSW Australia
Posts: 734
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
Hi
What setup did you run in 13.5 with cheat mode and torque ?
sorry 2Quick it should have been 17.5.
__________________
Robitronic Avid / Avid V2
Tekin RS pro / Viper 10.5/MMP/6900

AE B44- MMP/Hacker 10.5/6900 Castle
IP 5000/50 SMC 5200/40/50
Casino Kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 10:35 AM   #1235
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

What is a good RPM range, Torque range, Trottle curve, Brake curve for 13.5
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 12:41 PM   #1236
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Centurion RSA
Posts: 60
Default

2Quick are you in SA? And are u racing in Durds this weekend? I cant seem too find decent speed out of my 13.5.Running team Wave and mmpro 50% timing and a FDR of 6. Infield the car is pretty strong. Help!
benTC5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:31 PM   #1237
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benTC5 View Post
2Quick are you in SA? And are u racing in Durds this weekend? I cant seem too find decent speed out of my 13.5.Running team Wave and mmpro 50% timing and a FDR of 6. Infield the car is pretty strong. Help!
Hi
Won't make it for Durb's this Weekend, other commitments. Maybe next Nats.
I ran Cheat mode 5600 - 19000 Rpm with Torque enabled at 10 if running latest firmware. Gave me decent speed and less Torque coming out of the corners. Had pace against the Tekins and Speed passions, just struggled with handling. Hopefully got it sorted. You can perhaps push the Rpm start off higher for Durb,s...maybe 7500 to 8000 rpm's. Try FDR of 5.85
Let me know how it went.
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 06:25 PM   #1238
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 881
Default

can somebody help me??..ok! im runnign the mmp with a duo 2 motor @ zero
settings are
50*timing
rpm 5000 to 15100
start power low
5000 50c lipo
tc4
punch off
the track is 100 x50
my motor keeps running hot no matter what i do it as far as gearing..i tryed 7.5fdr & the temps was like 220..i tryed 6.6fdr & the temps stayed the same..& i tryed 6.3 & still the same..the weather was mild in the low 80's..but the hott temps dont seem to bother the motor...so my question is what am i doing wrong..is the motor bad?? or that motor just get hott like that...& im not useing a fan...thanks!
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:33 PM   #1239
Tech Regular
 
Henry#40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

What wind motor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
can somebody help me??..ok! im runnign the mmp with a duo 2 motor @ zero
settings are
50*timing
rpm 5000 to 15100
start power low
5000 50c lipo
tc4
punch off
the track is 100 x50
my motor keeps running hot no matter what i do it as far as gearing..i tryed 7.5fdr & the temps was like 220..i tryed 6.6fdr & the temps stayed the same..& i tryed 6.3 & still the same..the weather was mild in the low 80's..but the hott temps dont seem to bother the motor...so my question is what am i doing wrong..is the motor bad?? or that motor just get hott like that...& im not useing a fan...thanks!
Henry#40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:48 PM   #1240
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
can somebody help me??..ok! im runnign the mmp with a duo 2 motor @ zero
settings are
50*timing
rpm 5000 to 15100
start power low
5000 50c lipo
tc4
punch off
the track is 100 x50
my motor keeps running hot no matter what i do it as far as gearing..i tryed 7.5fdr & the temps was like 220..i tryed 6.6fdr & the temps stayed the same..& i tryed 6.3 & still the same..the weather was mild in the low 80's..but the hott temps dont seem to bother the motor...so my question is what am i doing wrong..is the motor bad?? or that motor just get hott like that...& im not useing a fan...thanks!
I am running a duo 2 17.5. With the MMP I would stay in the 6.6-6.25 range. I am currently running 35 degrees with 5 -15 k rpm. I would try lowering your timing. If you are loosing too much top end, then I would adjust your rpm range. Try increasing your starting rpm. If your track is pretty flowing where you are wound out most of the time, then adjusting your RPM range might make a big difference. But the first thing I would try is lowering the timing.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 05:38 AM   #1241
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
I am running a duo 2 17.5. With the MMP I would stay in the 6.6-6.25 range. I am currently running 35 degrees with 5 -15 k rpm. I would try lowering your timing. If you are loosing too much top end, then I would adjust your rpm range. Try increasing your starting rpm. If your track is pretty flowing where you are wound out most of the time, then adjusting your RPM range might make a big difference. But the first thing I would try is lowering the timing.
thanks! sorry im running a duo 2 17.5.......drop my timing & gear up?...imma try this.. this weekend....this past weekend i was on the same pace with the big boys in 17.5 .. top 5 we all did 25laps(even though i was 10sec off the leader)..but that a big improvement for me when i was @ least 1lap down b4...i just dont wanna burn my motor up tryna keep up....thanks!
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 05:50 AM   #1242
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 925
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by starrx View Post
thanks! sorry im running a duo 2 17.5.......drop my timing & gear up?...imma try this.. this weekend....this past weekend i was on the same pace with the big boys in 17.5 .. top 5 we all did 25laps(even though i was 10sec off the leader)..but that a big improvement for me when i was @ least 1lap down b4...i just dont wanna burn my motor up tryna keep up....thanks!
Also, what is your endbell set at. I know I had mine cranked up too much and that made the motor get really hot too.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:16 AM   #1243
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: columbus oh
Posts: 881
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
Also, what is your endbell set at. I know I had mine cranked up too much and that made the motor get really hot too.
its @ the middle mark..(zero)..i could try 1slash back
starrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 11:01 AM   #1244
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Hi All
I ran 13.5 this Weekend in touring car. Went well with old Firmware 1.2.6, just struggled with car setup, had a lot of understeer off power and back side loose on power, but straight line speed no problem, kept up with the Tekins and Speed passions etc.
Setup :
Ballistic 13.5 motor
FDR of 6.46
Start Power High
Motor Timing 50
Cheat mode 8000 - 9200 rpm
Trottle Linear

I think I will go higher with end rpm. I need more speed in order to win. Hope the turbo function gets released soon.
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2010, 12:37 PM   #1245
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: De Pere, WI
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin Koback
Default

Any updates on when the new software with additional timing boost will be available?

Also, any updates on when the "smaller footprint" ESC will be available?
Kevin Koback is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18835 09-11-2017 07:44 AM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 10:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 03:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-23-2009 11:33 PM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 07:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net