R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2010, 12:31 PM   #1201
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I don't have any issues with firmware ver. 1.28 with MMP/Novak ballistic combo...
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:30 AM   #1202
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jochim_18 View Post
I don't have any issues with firmware ver. 1.28 with MMP/Novak ballistic combo...
Well there is obviously something wrong because I dont have a motor glitching problem with earlier versions of the firmware. Any suggestions.
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:11 AM   #1203
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,926
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
Well there is obviously something wrong because I dont have a motor glitching problem with earlier versions of the firmware. Any suggestions.
It can be many things and the software is just one of the many different things it could be. Bas sensor wire, bad board or board starting to go bad in the motor, battery not up to the task, way over timed are just a few. Try an earlier software again and see if it stops the problem. Then put the newest firmware in and use the same timing settings and power settings as before and see what happens. Might need to try different motors if you have them just to see.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 11:27 AM   #1204
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
It can be many things and the software is just one of the many different things it could be. Bas sensor wire, bad board or board starting to go bad in the motor, battery not up to the task, way over timed are just a few. Try an earlier software again and see if it stops the problem. Then put the newest firmware in and use the same timing settings and power settings as before and see what happens. Might need to try different motors if you have them just to see.
I tried firmware 1.26 and it worked fine. With ver. 1.28 the motor glitches low rev's with the same settings.
Here's my settings :
1. Punch control disabled
2. Torque limit disabled
3. Start power low
4. Cheat timing boost 35 degrees
5. Cheat activation range 8000 - 9200 rpm
with new 13.5 Ballistic
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 12:11 PM   #1205
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 915
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
I tried firmware 1.26 and it worked fine. With ver. 1.28 the motor glitches low rev's with the same settings.
Here's my settings :
1. Punch control disabled
2. Torque limit disabled
3. Start power low
4. Cheat timing boost 35 degrees
5. Cheat activation range 8000 - 9200 rpm
with new 13.5 Ballistic
I am running both a ballistic 17.5 and the older SS 17.5 from novak. Neither is having a problem.

I would look at your end bell timing. Set it back at N and see if that helps. Or if it is already on N take it to the first hash mark.

Next I would unplug the sensor cable from the speed control and run the motor in sensorless mode. If this runs smooth then plug the cable back in and try again.

If this does not work recalibrate the speed control to the radio.

Turn off timing boost and see what happens.

I would also try increasing your BEC voltage to 6.0 v. The default is 5.5V which I think is too low for most 2.4 systems.

Like others have said I have not seen any glitchiness, with any of my motors on this version.

I find this version of the software to generally be the smoothest I have seen so far. I am currently running it in a TC, SC, Stadium Truck, and an 8th scale buggy. All four upgraded with out a problem.

Hope this helps.

Matt
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 03:22 PM   #1206
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: thomasville,nc
Posts: 518
Send a message via Yahoo to nomaak
Default

Can the mmp run properly even if one of the caps have fallen off?
nomaak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 06:03 PM   #1207
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,758
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default MMP

Can this speedo compete with the Tekin? I am asking because all I run is Tekin however I won a Castle MMP as a door prize and I am wondering if I should try it out or sell it. Thanks
__________________
Roche Rapida P12 2015/2016/2017 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2010, 09:30 PM   #1208
Tech Elite
 
haywood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,758
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Can this speedo compete with the Tekin? I am asking because all I run is Tekin however I won a Castle MMP as a door prize and I am wondering if I should try it out or sell it. Thanks
Anyone?
__________________
Roche Rapida P12 2015/2016/2017 / Hobbywing / Team Scream / Progressive Rc / Ko Propo / MotivRc / Dri-Fit Mafia /
haywood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 12:00 AM   #1209
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 230
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Anyone?
On small to medium tracks, the MMP can hold its own against the likes of Tekin, HW, SP , but on larger tracks where the straight is 150ft+, then it cant keep up.
MoonTrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 07:31 AM   #1210
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,926
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by haywood View Post
Anyone?
It suffers on long straight tracks at this time without having the secondary timing or turbo like many call it but that will be the next update for Castle so it will be competitive on all tracks as soon as the new timing software comes out. Right now on small and medium tracks keeping up isn't a problem at all as what I loose on a straight with the extra punch the Castle has in the infield I have make up the time in that area.

With any speedo you can update the software the companies will always be working on software to make them do more overall and go faster.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 11:58 AM   #1211
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 109
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by macdude View Post
I am running both a ballistic 17.5 and the older SS 17.5 from novak. Neither is having a problem.

I would look at your end bell timing. Set it back at N and see if that helps. Or if it is already on N take it to the first hash mark.

Next I would unplug the sensor cable from the speed control and run the motor in sensorless mode. If this runs smooth then plug the cable back in and try again.

If this does not work recalibrate the speed control to the radio.

Turn off timing boost and see what happens.

I would also try increasing your BEC voltage to 6.0 v. The default is 5.5V which I think is too low for most 2.4 systems.

Like others have said I have not seen any glitchiness, with any of my motors on this version.

I find this version of the software to generally be the smoothest I have seen so far. I am currently running it in a TC, SC, Stadium Truck, and an 8th scale buggy. All four upgraded with out a problem.

Hope this helps.

Matt
Happy Me
I unplugged the sensor cable from the speed control and ran the motor in sensorless mode. I then plugged the cable back in and tried again. No more glitching.

Thanx a lot Matt...much appreciated.
2Quick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2010, 08:15 PM   #1212
Tech Fanatic
 
macdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 915
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2Quick View Post
Happy Me
I unplugged the sensor cable from the speed control and ran the motor in sensorless mode. I then plugged the cable back in and tried again. No more glitching.

Thanx a lot Matt...much appreciated.
Your welcome. Glad to help.
__________________
---------------
KO Eurus / Orca / MMP / XB2 / 22-4 /
macdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 01:59 AM   #1213
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 4
Default

Hi all,

I am rather new with this great esc and I am trying to understand the CHEAT mode and having to give up a min and max RPM's. I selected 30o and the default RPM settings, but after reading some reactions on this thread, I understand it is betting to change this.

I have a 13.5 turns Graupner motor max 18.200 RPM. Xray T2 and a gear ratio of 7.5. What is de best setting on a medium track for a beginning driver?

tnx

ps sorry for my English (I am dutch)
Friit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:24 AM   #1214
Tech Initiate
 
KweetNiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Did anybody do the Kv test already? I did and the result I got for my Speed Passion 13.5R Competition V3.0 was 2817 Kv.

Our stock drivers go around with a 3000Kv, a set with the SP stock ECS. Now it looks like they have the better motor
KweetNiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:29 AM   #1215
Tech Initiate
 
KweetNiet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 28
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cloudy2010 View Post
better motor? are u sure for that??
I'll see if I can get one on to do the test, then we will know.
KweetNiet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18797 12-21-2016 06:07 PM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 11:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-24-2009 12:33 AM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 08:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:31 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0