R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-24-2009, 09:18 AM   #91
Tech Adept
 
05tuonojoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Its been about 10 days with no sign of my castle link. I finally just went and bought one. Couldn't handle it anymore.
__________________
Joe Walllace
Associated RC8B, RC8T
Houston engine service Novarossi +4
05tuonojoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 03:41 PM   #92
Tech Apprentice
 
m4runner28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Do you guys know if the MMPro can handle a 2S 40C 5000 mah Lipo? That's a 200 amp discharge rated battery. I'm kinda new to the lipo brushless systems and don't want to fry the ESC when I plug in this lipo.

I'm running the 5700kv motor.
m4runner28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 04:00 PM   #93
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4runner28 View Post
Do you guys know if the MMPro can handle a 2S 40C 5000 mah Lipo? That's a 200 amp discharge rated battery. I'm kinda new to the lipo brushless systems and don't want to fry the ESC when I plug in this lipo.

I'm running the 5700kv motor.
It's good man. Just because the battery is rated at a given current, your combination may never draw it. I'd guess your system might draw 50-70 amp momentarily at best. Your battery, based on rating, can easily and effectively deliver that demand.

Make sure you gear on the safe side to start and you'll be golden.

Ben
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 04:01 PM   #94
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Yes it will handle your battery. It will handle up to 6s lipo.
mark_stnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 05:02 PM   #95
Tech Apprentice
 
m4runner28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Baldwin Park, CA
Posts: 62
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys. I am planning to run this setup in a Hyper 10SC...

Gearing - will figure out at the track I guess. It comes with a 11t. I heard guys going down a tooth or 2 with the MMPro 5700kv on 2S...
m4runner28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 03:57 AM   #96
Tech Regular
 
Nuno Gancho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 337
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So does the MM pro makes diference in modified with the 50 advance timing
Nuno Gancho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 06:16 AM   #97
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nuno Gancho View Post
So does the MM pro makes diference in modified with the 50 advance timing
If you need 50 deg advance in mod, wouldn't you be better off motoring up? It would probably make a lot of heat and rollout would be an unbelievably narrow window.

That's like, "I race 1/12th scale with a 4.5, what size pinion should I use?"
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2009, 08:26 AM   #98
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Scheduled for some extensive 21.5 VTA testing tonight. Hope to have some interesting news for everyone.

Ben
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com

Last edited by sportpak; 11-28-2009 at 01:53 PM.
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2009, 01:54 PM   #99
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Scheduled for some extensive 21.5 VTA testing tonight. Hope to have some interesting news for everyone.

Ben
Car ran very well last night.
Our track is about 36 x 90.
I'm running 30 deg advance in cheat mode @ 7500 rpm and it was awesome.
FDR is 4.65
Motor temps stayed around 150f all night.
Plenty of rip and within inches of the Tekins on the back straight.

I need to play around with the throttle curve. It hit a little harsh on the low-mid throttle input. I like a little more butter on the low end. The harshness might have been upsetting the car enough to make me feel a little off all night. It's nice knowing there's plenty on tap.

I did have a strange hesitation on one of my starts. The car rolled gently a foot and then quit for about .5 second, then took off like a bat out of hell. It really brake checked the field and left me a sitting duck. The other three runs I stopped the car and launched it several times on the warmup laps and never had the issue again. Any one else encounter this?

Still very happy. Great value if you can live with the size.

Ben
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 01:14 PM   #100
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: cleveland, oh
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 65 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Barneys Racing Send a message via AIM to Barneys Racing
Default

do they have a 1S version of the speedo out now?
Barneys Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:05 PM   #101
Tech Elite
 
porkchop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: o-h-i-o
Posts: 2,830
Send a message via AIM to porkchop Send a message via Yahoo to porkchop
Default

well we went on a street test
4600 mamba max pro system sc10 gear at 87/24 40c 5000 lipo
clocked at 60 mph
oh and did i mention when you hit lite poles stuff breaks
it dose power wheels it spins the tires and slips a locked sliper
__________________
charles garten
serpent / novarossi / Desoto Racing / Absolute Hobbyz / ko propo / first turn racing usa / KustomRcGraphics / O'donnell racing fuel / Houstons Engine Service / sweep racing tires
porkchop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 05:09 PM   #102
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_stnly View Post
Yes it will handle your battery. It will handle up to 6s lipo.
Thanks again for taking care of my problem with the mmp. Upping the output voltage took care of it. I haven't had one failure since you changed it.

Oh yeah, received my castle link on Saturday.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:28 PM   #103
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Mooresville, NC
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barneys Racing View Post
do they have a 1S version of the speedo out now?
12/15 is what I was told.
__________________
Rick "Blue" Sieboldt - Mooresville, NC
* Associated T5M * Tekin * TQ Wire *
www.tqracing.com/rc_products.htm For all your wire needs
lidebt2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 06:46 PM   #104
Tech Master
 
jkirkwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,231
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Is the 1s version being designed to fit in a 1/12th scale without grinding fins and stuff to clear the body?
__________________
SMC Racing | AKA Products | SANWA
jkirkwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:28 PM   #105
Tech Adept
 
SIRCC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Staten Island, NY
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to SIRCC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrey16533 View Post
My only complaint for this ESC is that it does not brake hard like the LRP'S SPX. Having a hardtime braking late on hairpins. It might be my radio. my DX3r does not calibrate with my Mamba max pro. I belive Castle is working on it. Other than those mentioned above, I like everything about it.
RESET YOUR TX CONTROLS, I had the same problem once
__________________
S.I.R.C.C.C.
www.rcdriftnetwork/weebly.com
SIRCC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18835 09-11-2017 07:44 AM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 10:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 03:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-23-2009 11:33 PM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 07:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:21 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net