R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-04-2010, 10:37 PM   #886
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,003
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff jenkins View Post
so here is the verdict smartsense is gay.. with an x12 that is .. i just took my field card and switch it to sensored only with 0deg cheat so its not adding anything and it cured my issue and also was faster with it in general. but also i was thinking if i figure out the right start rpm and end rpm i can simulate the way it would work in smart sense instead of the timing ramping it will stay at say 10 deg the entire time? i feel once that is figured out it would be real nice. my question is once the end rpm is reached does that timing continue to stay at the value that has been set from that point on ? i hope this is somewhat easy to understand? pretty much i just want maybe 10 deg max added from the esc in sensored only mode. thats what i amtrying to get at haha.
I tried different gearing with smartsense and couldn't understand how a 5.5 could be so slow! I have tried 26 deg 10,000 to 30, 000(there about) and it was a bullet. For fun I turned it up to 40deg. I had the biggest smile on my face after! Way faster than a 4.0 on standard ESC's.

The question is how it will be for 5min on the track. Bad weather has prevented me from testing this. I have notied the temp of the ESC gets hot with Cheat and a mod motor, but the fan is not coming on?? How hot do these nee to get before the fan kicks in? I may wire up the fan to be on always for racing mod.
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 10:51 PM   #887
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,918
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

I believe tye esc has to reach 170deg. I will give that rpm a shot. I will start small with timing and go from there as I run 6 min races.
__________________
Serpent project 4x
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2010, 11:21 PM   #888
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I will get a high RPM fan and just hook it up to the reciever so it's always on.
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:01 AM   #889
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

I was told to run mod only in smartsense and now i'm reading you run it on cheat mode with very good results.I have already burn my first MMP and i don't want to burn another one so please confirm if it's true.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:06 AM   #890
Tech Elite
 
jeff jenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 3,918
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

I just set it up. With 10k-30k and for fun 30deg and wooooooow! It sounds like if it were to blow the debris would make its way to china. I'm going to start with 10deg on the track and go from there.I'm am now excited. Don't mind the spelling I'm using my phone for thewe posts.
__________________
Serpent project 4x
jeff jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:18 AM   #891
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Jeff what about gearing with this setup?
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 12:39 AM   #892
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,003
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
I was told to run mod only in smartsense and now i'm reading you run it on cheat mode with very good results.I have already burn my first MMP and i don't want to burn another one so please confirm if it's true.
The last thing I am saying is that this is a proven, safe way to run Mod. And yes it is not what is recommended. Anytime anyone tries new ESC setups, it is that users responsibility to check temps very regularly until you are sure things are under control.
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2010, 06:51 PM   #893
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,925
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

I did use the prgramming card last week for the first time since I got it from Castle. I had a customer that bought a new MMP from are hobbyshop and a I didn't have my laptop to set up the speedo for the initial setup.

It was very easy to use and worked perfectly. Got the guys offroad buggy setup with a 10.5 in his mod XXX -CR buggy. Made some chages for the drag brakes for the customer after a few laps on the track with the card. Very quick and easy to do. Very nice to make quick changes if you don't have a laptop to use with you. Well worth the money. Worked so good after the demo for the customer that he ordered a programming card for himself.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 01:02 AM   #894
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,197
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Spent yesterday at Aldershot having a testing session, so will report back some more findings in a bit... But firstly want to clear up some things about the X12.

Seems a few people have had issues with this motor. Now, they are fast, but do need a bit of attention to run at their best. I've been running a 10.5 with no problems on the MMP, and seen a 4.0t being run the same. First thing to do with any of them, is back the timing on the endbell down as far as possible (oooo insert). The motor itself comes with about 40deg of timing in built to it, which is a fair bit more than most other motors out there. This will drop the motor temps, and provide an increase in torque to very noticeable degree.. and then don't be afraid to get them a little hotter than usual, 80degC is fine by all accounts (had mine up to 115 before, still didn't fade though )

Anyway, moving on. With all the talk of mod racing, thought I'd drop in what the guy running the 4.0t ran yesterday.
CHEAT: On
RPMrange: 25k - 31k ish (can't remember the exact end, but that was the start rpm)
ESC Timing: 14deg
Fdr: 8.5 ish (maybe nearer 9.0)
Start Power: Medium
Motor insert: oooo
Car certainly had better top end than before with thoose settings... Although other guys there were running 3.5's and 6.0t deltas, but only a little quicker

My settings, actually ended up with something slighty different than before, as overall wanted some more rpm through the rev range.. So switched the motor insert to the ooo one.
CHEAT: On
RPMrange: 12k - 20k ish (can't remember the exact end, but that was the start rpm)
ESC Timing: 35deg
Fdr: 8ish
Start Power: High
Motor insert: ooo
Car seemed smoother (less torque I guess), and top speed was as quick as the GM's going round, so think that's a positive thing. Motor temp was about 75deg at the end of the run, so pretty much on the money there.

HiH
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:36 AM   #895
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
Spent yesterday at Aldershot having a testing session, so will report back some more findings in a bit... But firstly want to clear up some things about the X12.

Seems a few people have had issues with this motor. Now, they are fast, but do need a bit of attention to run at their best. I've been running a 10.5 with no problems on the MMP, and seen a 4.0t being run the same. First thing to do with any of them, is back the timing on the endbell down as far as possible (oooo insert). The motor itself comes with about 40deg of timing in built to it, which is a fair bit more than most other motors out there. This will drop the motor temps, and provide an increase in torque to very noticeable degree.. and then don't be afraid to get them a little hotter than usual, 80degC is fine by all accounts (had mine up to 115 before, still didn't fade though )

Anyway, moving on. With all the talk of mod racing, thought I'd drop in what the guy running the 4.0t ran yesterday.
CHEAT: On
RPMrange: 25k - 31k ish (can't remember the exact end, but that was the start rpm)
ESC Timing: 14deg
Fdr: 8.5 ish (maybe nearer 9.0)
Start Power: Medium
Motor insert: oooo
Car certainly had better top end than before with thoose settings... Although other guys there were running 3.5's and 6.0t deltas, but only a little quicker

My settings, actually ended up with something slighty different than before, as overall wanted some more rpm through the rev range.. So switched the motor insert to the ooo one.
CHEAT: On
RPMrange: 12k - 20k ish (can't remember the exact end, but that was the start rpm)
ESC Timing: 35deg
Fdr: 8ish
Start Power: High
Motor insert: ooo
Car seemed smoother (less torque I guess), and top speed was as quick as the GM's going round, so think that's a positive thing. Motor temp was about 75deg at the end of the run, so pretty much on the money there.

HiH
Ed
Impresive That's why im thinking to buy a 10.5T and use it with cheat mode but i hasitate to do it as our track is a very big one and i'm not so sure if this is a good choise.
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 07:18 AM   #896
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

TryHard: Its an interesting thing you did there with the 000 insert in the LRP motor. I have played with this speedy and others and I think that while it does get off the line well, it could be better compared to how it goes once it is up and running. I have been thinking that with zero timing you have to wait a fair bit into the "cheat" rpm range for the power to really start to pick up. So why not start with a small amount of timming to begin with and increase the range over which the RPM shifts? I have yet to have the opportunity to test this but I think with a sensible setup it will be faster yet again in every way.

Something my brother has stated for a long time now is that certain motors like a little bit of timing to "wake them up". They simply don't go with too little timing...
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 12:24 AM   #897
Tech Champion
 
TryHard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney, NSW
Posts: 5,197
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragonfire View Post
TryHard: Its an interesting thing you did there with the 000 insert in the LRP motor. I have played with this speedy and others and I think that while it does get off the line well, it could be better compared to how it goes once it is up and running. I have been thinking that with zero timing you have to wait a fair bit into the "cheat" rpm range for the power to really start to pick up. So why not start with a small amount of timming to begin with and increase the range over which the RPM shifts? I have yet to have the opportunity to test this but I think with a sensible setup it will be faster yet again in every way.

Something my brother has stated for a long time now is that certain motors like a little bit of timing to "wake them up". They simply don't go with too little timing...
I would probably agree with that.
Originally when I started running this speedy and motor, I was indoors, so having mega torque was a bonus, and same went for one of the first tracks I went too outdoors. Literally was driving the car like a modified it had so much bottom end torque.
Now I've shifted to the larger tracks and longer straights, that torque isn't as useful, so some more rpm through the range is the better bet... I may yet go back to the oo insert when we get to Halifax, as its a massive straight, and all about high corner speed imo, no real hard acceleration zones.
I'm still playing with the ramp region, not yet fully happy on how I can use it to fully tune the car. Keep meaning to go and put the telemetry back on to see what the cars reving too on certain points of a track... Must do that again

Cheers
Ed
__________________
| THard.co.uk | Xray | Hobbywing |
TryHard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2010, 04:56 AM   #898
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TryHard View Post
I would probably agree with that.
Originally when I started running this speedy and motor, I was indoors, so having mega torque was a bonus, and same went for one of the first tracks I went too outdoors. Literally was driving the car like a modified it had so much bottom end torque.
Now I've shifted to the larger tracks and longer straights, that torque isn't as useful, so some more rpm through the range is the better bet... I may yet go back to the oo insert when we get to Halifax, as its a massive straight, and all about high corner speed imo, no real hard acceleration zones.
I'm still playing with the ramp region, not yet fully happy on how I can use it to fully tune the car. Keep meaning to go and put the telemetry back on to see what the cars reving too on certain points of a track... Must do that again

Cheers
Ed
Its kinda a little disappointing that the software won't let you pick your rpm endpoint as well as the custom start point. I find myself playing around with the start point a little off what I want to get close to the end point I want. The other thing that would be great is to throw another page into the setup that is rpm gain graph. The graph would work the same way as the throttle/brake profile setup and would control how the timing changed over the rpm range. This way you could do things like increase the range and throw in an early spike to change the way the car accelerates. Would be a lot of fun. While its more complicated I think you could improve the performance with this.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 09:56 PM   #899
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Will do some testing on my MMP in MOD this weekend I got my car ready I will be running 4.5T Novak Ballistic... I do have X12 3.0T but I think that's a little too much for our track. I will be doing a lot of testing since this will be my setup for the up comming REEDY RACE... Going to race with the big boys..
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2010, 12:14 AM   #900
Tech Elite
 
Jstall7543's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Down Town Olympia
Posts: 3,106
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'm impressed with castles service! I priority mailed I'm my MMP last week on tuesday and got a new one in the mail today. 10 days down, not to bad at all.

I bought a replacement that stutters bad brand new right out of the box, now I'll send that one in. The new replacement works great. Today I'm happy!
__________________
RC is a way of life and a ridiculous hobby.
Ridiculously Fun! Subscribe to my YouTube Channel! Or ELSE! Hehee! http://www.youtube.com/user/Jstall7543
Jstall7543 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18797 12-21-2016 06:07 PM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 11:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-24-2009 12:33 AM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 08:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:52 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0