R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-30-2010, 10:48 AM   #556
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randy_Pike View Post
So far I'd say Tekin's doing pretty well....
that's great news, randy. keep up the good work.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2010, 01:18 PM   #557
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,884
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

Got it thanks...
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-Rcamerica
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 03:21 PM   #558
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portugal
Posts: 42
Default

Hi

I own a MMPro and i like it very much, but iīve got a problem with it and that is the size because iīm running TC and itīs really big when we compare it with other ESC from other brands.
I would like to see MMpro to become the same size as others īcause then i could balance my car better, now itīs to big to manage that issue.
So PdelCast thereīs any possibility to give us a smaller esc?

thanks
Joao
jopor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 06:14 PM   #559
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,884
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

Hey guys, I hope spmeone from the snowbirds race that ran the MMP in 17.5 touring car can post a setup or anyone else have a starting setup. What about adjusting the throttle profile....what should the curve look like for rubber tire 17.5 tc racing? Track size would be 100'x48'
Thanks..........Dwayne Flodell
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-Rcamerica
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:19 PM   #560
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

it's actually the same size as a speed passion. everyone else omits the depth of the solder posts sticking out in their width (footprint) dimensions. if the mmp were to leave the edge with all the connections outside of the case, it would spec a reasonably sized footprint. add to that the fact that the caps are all included, and it's really pretty decent. take off the cheap plastic fan and it will look/fit a lot better...
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 07:54 PM   #561
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,060
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball View Post
it's actually the same size as a speed passion. everyone else omits the depth of the solder posts sticking out in their width (footprint) dimensions. if the mmp were to leave the edge with all the connections outside of the case, it would spec a reasonably sized footprint. add to that the fact that the caps are all included, and it's really pretty decent. take off the cheap plastic fan and it will look/fit a lot better...
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2010, 09:48 PM   #562
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,110
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

For anyone running 17.5 what are your settings?

I did a lot of testing this weekend with a SP v3 17.5, I could not get it to run as fast as my Tekin. I tried gearing from 4.1 to 5.7 and timing from 35 to 50deg, nothing seem to make it rip down the straight. My sons car with a Tekin and same motor is 3 tenths faster and noticeable faster on the straight.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ Montech ~ WTF ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design
5280raceway.com [Operated by - Colorado On-Road RC Club]
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 08:00 AM   #563
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Here's my current setup on my 17.5 Novak Ballistic:

ESC Profile: Cheat Mode
ESC Timing: 50 Degrees Crank that baby up
ESC RPM: 4500-6500 RPM
Punch Control: High
Motor Timing: 40 Degrees
FDR: 4.41
Motor: Novak Balistic
Chassis: Schumacher Mi3 with Exotek Chassis


Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
For anyone running 17.5 what are your settings?

I did a lot of testing this weekend with a SP v3 17.5, I could not get it to run as fast as my Tekin. I tried gearing from 4.1 to 5.7 and timing from 35 to 50deg, nothing seem to make it rip down the straight. My sons car with a Tekin and same motor is 3 tenths faster and noticeable faster on the straight.
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 01:59 PM   #564
Tech Adept
 
gixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 194
Default

Hi Guys,

I have been running the MMP for a few months now and it's worked fantastic, i'm really happy with it.

But today my sensored BL motor arrived and i can't get it to operate with the MMP.

I've changed the settings in the software and tried it in both "sensored only" and "Smart sense" modes, but rather than rotate the motor just vibrates violently.

I am running V1.24 if that makes any difference.


Is it something i've done wrong, a bad motor?

I've also tried swapping around the 3 motor wires and i've checked the motor sensor connections and cable, all look good but still the same.



Cheers
Mark
__________________
HB Cyclone (WCE Exotek) x 2, Pro3 (Penguin chassis), Pro4, M-04M (Eunos Roadster)
Losi MRC, Axial XR-10
ERevo Erbe, HPI Firestorm (Nitro), Blitz,
gixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:29 PM   #565
Tech Apprentice
 
MikeL.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gixer View Post
Hi Guys,

I have been running the MMP for a few months now and it's worked fantastic, i'm really happy with it.

But today my sensored BL motor arrived and i can't get it to operate with the MMP.

I've changed the settings in the software and tried it in both "sensored only" and "Smart sense" modes, but rather than rotate the motor just vibrates violently.

I am running V1.24 if that makes any difference.


Is it something i've done wrong, a bad motor?

I've also tried swapping around the 3 motor wires and i've checked the motor sensor connections and cable, all look good but still the same.



Cheers
Mark
You cant just swap sensored motor wires around. They must go A to A, B to B, and C to C. Make sure they are wired up like that and see if that makes a difference.

Mike
MikeL. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 02:58 PM   #566
Tech Adept
 
gixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 194
Default



Amazing how well it works when it's wired up correctly


I did read through the manual before connecting it, but it had no section on sensored motors, it only said that BL motors are not polarity conscious so it doesn't matter which way round the wires go.


Might be worth adding a section on sensored motors, just for noob dumd asses like meself


Thanks Mike, works a treat now



Cheers
Mark
__________________
HB Cyclone (WCE Exotek) x 2, Pro3 (Penguin chassis), Pro4, M-04M (Eunos Roadster)
Losi MRC, Axial XR-10
ERevo Erbe, HPI Firestorm (Nitro), Blitz,
gixer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:55 PM   #567
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,884
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

Jochim, how can you run that much timing without something going wrong? 30 on the motor and 40 on the esc? Just going to be using the MMP tuesday for the first time and do not want to blow anything up or run into issues. I am going to try it with Orca fixed timing 17.5, Speedpassion V3 17.5 and LRP X12 17.5. I will let you know what I figure out.
Thanks........Dwayne Flodell
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-Rcamerica
tandman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2010, 03:55 PM   #568
Tech Apprentice
 
MikeL.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 95
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gixer View Post


Amazing how well it works when it's wired up correctly


I did read through the manual before connecting it, but it had no section on sensored motors, it only said that BL motors are not polarity conscious so it doesn't matter which way round the wires go.


Might be worth adding a section on sensored motors, just for noob dumd asses like meself


Thanks Mike, works a treat now



Cheers
Mark
Hmmm.....there should be either an insert about sensored motor wiring or something in there. I know we did up instructions on it. I will check tomorrow and make sure its being put in. Sorry if there was nothing with yours. Glad it works now.

Mike
MikeL. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:19 AM   #569
Tech Addict
 
Born2Run's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Europe
Posts: 740
Default

Two more questions:

1)Cheat mode could be used with mod.motors?

2)How performs a sensorless motor on cheat mode?
__________________
Whatever
Born2Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 01:35 AM   #570
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,060
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Born2Run View Post
Two more questions:

1)Cheat mode could be used with mod.motors?

2)How performs a sensorless motor on cheat mode?
You can run mod motors in cheat mode. Sensorless motors won't work in cheat mode because it is for sensored motors only.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18801 04-23-2017 03:49 PM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 10:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 03:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-23-2009 11:33 PM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 07:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:35 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net