R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-19-2010, 11:21 AM   #481
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm pretty sure the single cell lipo version have the same dimension without the BEC board and fun.... So it might not fit but call castle to make sure...
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 01:04 PM   #482
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,702
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stical View Post
I wanted some advice.

I currently own a LRP SXX Competition but am planning to run stock
with a 1/12th RC12R5.1 , LRP Vector X11 10.5t Stock Spec and Reedy 1s 3.7v Lipo.

Are you guys who run a similar setup using a booster or a receiver pack ?

I would like to use a booster instead of a receiver pack due to the space constraints one has with a 1/12th pancar.

I would also be using a Spektrum DX3R , SR3520 receiver with the SPM1600 cap.

Would this work with the Mamba Max Pro 1s edition ?

Any experiences or advice with the above ?

Erik
Erik, I have the 1s version produced by Mamba. Out of the box it is the exact same foot print (same case with the same removable fan). The only external differences are the lack of an on/off switch and the sticker on the case is labeled for the lack of the BEC. That said, the MMP is quite large, however it contains 3 caps. So, if you took a Tekin and lined up 3 caps at the end, that is about the foot print of the MMP.

I ran a modified MMP (did the mod to disable the bec, removed the switch, installed the beta software) and ran it without the case. It is possible to have a neatly wired car while using a receiver pack, so a booster should be cake.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 04:08 PM   #483
Tech Regular
 
casino57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sandwich,Il.
Posts: 498
Thumbs up

I'vebeen running the Mamba Max Pro in my 1/12th scale car for a few weekends now.After youtake the fan off and it out of the case it fits ok.It's big but seems to be one of the ones to use. Can't beat the price either.
__________________
Mike Garcia - RCAmerica - XRay T3
Trinity - JDR - Hudy - KoPropo America
Laser Products - Tekin
Leisure Hours Raceway & Hobby Shop
casino57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 06:00 PM   #484
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Ok, odd question i have a MMP in my gen xl 1/12 scale car. I havent run it yet first race is this weekend. i just heard i cant use this esc on 1 cell lipo? Is this true? If i can use it does anything have to be done differently. Thanks guys kinda not so happy right now
scatterbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2010, 10:22 PM   #485
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Antwerp, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post
Erik, I have the 1s version produced by Mamba. Out of the box it is the exact same foot print (same case with the same removable fan). The only external differences are the lack of an on/off switch and the sticker on the case is labeled for the lack of the BEC. That said, the MMP is quite large, however it contains 3 caps. So, if you took a Tekin and lined up 3 caps at the end, that is about the foot print of the MMP.

I ran a modified MMP (did the mod to disable the bec, removed the switch, installed the beta software) and ran it without the case. It is possible to have a neatly wired car while using a receiver pack, so a booster should be cake.
For starters I wish to thank everybody who replied to my questions.

My positive points in comparison with the SXX Stock Spec are :

If I look at the size of my LRP SXX with the power cap put behind it , it would be about the same size as the MMP (with built in caps ) so no issue there.

I would run a RC Dynamics Voltage booster so the ESC switch wouldn't be used anyhow. ( altough the SXX Stock Spec has the Twin BEC )

It's updatable which is not the case with LRP

It's cheaper (including the link cable) than a Tekin or the LRP.

What's you guys opinion on the software , can it be used/fine tuned in 1/12th Stock and Modified ?

Erik
stical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 05:19 AM   #486
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmay70 View Post

I ran a modified MMP (did the mod to disable the bec, removed the switch, installed the beta software) and ran it without the case. It is possible to have a neatly wired car while using a receiver pack, so a booster should be cake.
Ok so been reading and cant find this mod everyone is talkin about, would you happen to have a link to this, or could tell me how to do it thanks.
scatterbrains is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2010, 11:09 AM   #487
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,702
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scatterbrains View Post
Ok so been reading and cant find this mod everyone is talkin about, would you happen to have a link to this, or could tell me how to do it thanks.
There is a big square diode on the bottom of the esc that needs to be removed. Once this is done, it disables the BEC. You need to remove the switch when you do this. Note: this also voids your warranty (when you open the case). So, be prepared to send in a brick and $50 to Castle if you mess up. You will then need to update the firmware to the version with the beta. Install using Castle's instructions.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 12:01 AM   #488
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stical View Post
I wanted some advice.

I currently own a LRP SXX Competition but am planning to run stock
with a 1/12th RC12R5.1 , LRP Vector X11 10.5t Stock Spec and Reedy 1s 3.7v Lipo.

Are you guys who run a similar setup using a booster or a receiver pack ?

I would like to use a booster instead of a receiver pack due to the space constraints one has with a 1/12th pancar.

I would also be using a Spektrum DX3R , SR3520 receiver with the SPM1600 cap.

Would this work with the Mamba Max Pro 1s edition ?

Any experiences or advice with the above ?

Erik



When I first installed my MMP in my 1/12 I wired a AAA battery in series with the 1S lipo. Stuck the battery just behind the servo, in between the servo and receiver. Worked real good, looked real nice, and had a low cg. Small footprint.

Then I purchased a Novak Smart Boost, and as soon as I pulled it out of the package I wasn't sure I had made a good decision. The booster has a large footprint on the chassis in comparison to the AAA, and weight with the switch and harness feels about the same.

I'm going to install it and run it to test it. It's nice cause now I have a proper switch on the car, the servo is going to have a stable voltage, resulting in stable steering feel, and it includes a nice lipo cutoff.

But if your on a budget, like clean installs, and don't care about the above features, try the AAA in series. Works nice.
dr_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 03:41 AM   #489
Tech Master
 
Pablo Diablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 1,003
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via Skype™ to Pablo Diablo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dr_speed View Post
When I first installed my MMP in my 1/12 I wired a AAA battery in series with the 1S lipo. Stuck the battery just behind the servo, in between the servo and receiver. Worked real good, looked real nice, and had a low cg. Small footprint.

Then I purchased a Novak Smart Boost, and as soon as I pulled it out of the package I wasn't sure I had made a good decision. The booster has a large footprint on the chassis in comparison to the AAA, and weight with the switch and harness feels about the same.

I'm going to install it and run it to test it. It's nice cause now I have a proper switch on the car, the servo is going to have a stable voltage, resulting in stable steering feel, and it includes a nice lipo cutoff.

But if your on a budget, like clean installs, and don't care about the above features, try the AAA in series. Works nice.
Great idea but would 2 AAA's be better or too much?
__________________
Paul H

Losi Type R | Xray T3 | CRC Gen XL | CRC Gen X 10 ME(Messiah Edition) | Black Diamond

www.FlyingFoxRC.com | Advanced Electronics | Team CRC | Factory Messiah
Pablo Diablo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 08:01 AM   #490
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

2 AAA would probably be too much. Space, weight and CG on these cars is important. What I liked about the 1 AAA is how tidy it fit behind the servo.

I used just an alkaline, and it lasted 2-3 practice runs, 2 quals, and 3 mains. You could use 1 of the 1100mah rechargeables if you wanted a permanent solution.
dr_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 09:13 AM   #491
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Antwerp, Belgium (Europe)
Posts: 45
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody have pictures of the Mamba Max Pro 1 cell or the modded version seen from above , preferably still in it's original case but without the fan mounted ?

I'm almost sold but trying to figure out how the ESC looks in order to fit it in my 1/12th.

Dimension wise it won't be a big issue since it's just slightly larger in length than my current LRP SXX but with the power cap added to the SXX it is the same size.

Just trying to figure out where the solder posts are since the only pictures I can find are sideviews of the ESC.

Thanks,
Erik
stical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 10:09 AM   #492
Tech Master
 
timmay70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,702
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stical View Post
Does anybody have pictures of the Mamba Max Pro 1 cell or the modded version seen from above , preferably still in it's original case but without the fan mounted ?

I'm almost sold but trying to figure out how the ESC looks in order to fit it in my 1/12th.

Dimension wise it won't be a big issue since it's just slightly larger in length than my current LRP SXX but with the power cap added to the SXX it is the same size.

Just trying to figure out where the solder posts are since the only pictures I can find are sideviews of the ESC.

Thanks,
Erik
I sent you a PM.
__________________
Speed Merchant Rev7, Tekin, TQ Racing (wire), Team Tamale
RC Excitement - Buy where you race, support your local tracks.
ROAR #105242
timmay70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 10:26 AM   #493
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

You have to open the case and make sure you really have a good soldering iron to do it since castle use lead free solder and the melting point temp is a Lot higher be carefull not to apply the iron for a long Time coz you will burn the board.... just FYI By doing this you will void the warranty.
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:08 PM   #494
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

feature request: RPM vs Timing full adjustable map!!


Can you control the CHEAT RPM engage and end settings with the new field link card?
dr_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2010, 01:36 PM   #495
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Is the punch control setting a current limiter?
dr_speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18801 04-23-2017 03:49 PM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 10:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 03:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-23-2009 11:33 PM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 07:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:41 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net