R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2009, 08:44 AM   #16
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Framingham, MA
Posts: 268
Default

I'll try the ESC in WGT as soon as I have the time. It's phisically too big to fit under a speed 8, 1/12 body, so you will have to wait until I switch to the new body style for that one.
Eddie_E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2009, 08:51 AM   #17
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddie_E View Post
I'll try the ESC in WGT as soon as I have the time. It's phisically too big to fit under a speed 8, 1/12 body, so you will have to wait until I switch to the new body style for that one.
Thanks for the info. I will run one in VTA, then perhaps WGT.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:28 AM   #18
Tech Master
 
cyanyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: KL, MY.
Posts: 1,023
Default

Just ordered mine. Can't wait to get my hands on it.
cyanyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:36 AM   #19
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speeddaddy View Post
Are there any people out there that have a DX3S radio and a MMPro? Did you have trouble setting the MMPro with this radio?
I finally gave up on mine, I tried it about four times with no success. I didn't even try it on the other two mmpro's that I bought. They seem to work fine though, much better than the novak's and losi that they replaced.

This makes five castle creations esc's that I have and they are all amazing.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:37 AM   #20
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,926
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sportpak View Post
Thanks for the info. I will run one in VTA, then perhaps WGT.
Man in VTA with the timing advance you can use it will be like cheating in that class.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2009, 05:44 AM   #21
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wyd View Post
Man in VTA with the timing advance you can use it will be like cheating in that class.
Is it cheating when everyone else is running Tekins with the timing cranked to the moon? I think the class is way too fast for it's own good, but until there's an official ruling, burn it down.

I think I'm going to order one today.

Any weekend racing to report?


Ben
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com

Last edited by sportpak; 11-08-2009 at 11:38 AM.
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 09:52 AM   #22
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have any weekend racing experience with this speedo to report? Comparisons are still very interesting.

I plan to run one this weekend.
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 01:24 PM   #23
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,364
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

mine is the way can't wait to test it out!
__________________
Localrcracing.com - Your premiere source of Radio controlled Racing in central California.

Visaliahobbies.com * SkyRC * casterracingparts.com
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2009, 03:09 PM   #24
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: San Diego, Ca
Posts: 1,427
Trader Rating: 82 (100%+)
Default

Mine will be here tomorrow. Can't beat it for just over $100 from Tower after the codes.
bigbeej is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:49 AM   #25
Tech Master
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Got the Pro installed in my Type R yesterday. Install didn't turn out too shabby. Thing rips on the work bench. hopefully it rips on the track too. I might be the first guy at my track NOT running a Tekin this year in VTA.

We have a big VTA race tomorrow, so I'm starting my setup at sensored only, 30 deg advance all in at 10k rpm. A 21.5 doesn't spin up much past 15k, so 10k sounded like a good place to start. I always start my final drive on the high side for safety sake.

Anyone have any specific 21.5 experience?

Ben
__________________
-Tamiya TA05-R - Tamiya M05 - Summit Raceway Ft. Wayne, IN

www.summitrcraceway.com
sportpak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 07:06 AM   #26
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Is anyone having problems with theirs cutting out for a second occasionally? Two of my three cars are losing power two or three times during a six minute race. Another guy at my track is having the same problem with his.

It sucks when everything is going smooth the next thing I know there is no power and no steering, just my car ramming into a wall at full speed.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 08:29 AM   #27
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,435
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The oval guys are already on to this thing:
http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showthread.php?t=271791

I guess it's pretty good for 1 cell if you figure it out.
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 09:56 AM   #28
Tech Elite
 
bkspeedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fort Fun, CO
Posts: 3,089
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowcel View Post
Is anyone having problems with theirs cutting out for a second occasionally? Two of my three cars are losing power two or three times during a six minute race. Another guy at my track is having the same problem with his.

It sucks when everything is going smooth the next thing I know there is no power and no steering, just my car ramming into a wall at full speed.
I've had zero problems with mine so far and race twice a week.

You might want to check all your solder joints, and make sure the Rx connector is a good fit. Have you also tried recalibrating with your remote? Are you using lipo's? If yes, try setting a hard lipo cutoff voltage instead or Auto.

I would call support if none of these fix the problem and post again if there was a fix.
__________________
Brent Klingforth
Sponsors: Awesomatix USA ~ Roche USA ~ ORCA ~ AVID Bearings ~ R1 Wurks
TQ Wire ~ ProtoForm ~ BSR Racing Tires ~ 2mm Design
5280raceway.com [Operated by - Colorado On-Road RC Club]
MILE HIGH INDOOR CHAMPS April 20-23rd 2017 @ www.milehighindoorchamps.com
bkspeedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 10:16 AM   #29
Tech Master
 
lowcel's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Charleston, WV
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bkspeedo View Post
I've had zero problems with mine so far and race twice a week.

You might want to check all your solder joints, and make sure the Rx connector is a good fit. Have you also tried recalibrating with your remote? Are you using lipo's? If yes, try setting a hard lipo cutoff voltage instead or Auto.

I would call support if none of these fix the problem and post again if there was a fix.
Thanks for the tips. I was unable to recalibrate using my DX3S or the DX3R that I purchased yesterday. Apparently others are having the same problem with the calibrating. I race twice a week also and have been having problems twice a week since installing the new esc.

I'm using a hard cutoff on the lipo as well. I plan on giving castle a call on Monday I just thought someone might have already talked to them about this issue.

Other than losing complete control of the car two or three times a race I am very happy with the esc though.
__________________
Team Whopperjawed Racing
This hobby is going to $5 me to death.

Last edited by lowcel; 11-14-2009 at 10:45 AM.
lowcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 12:08 PM   #30
Tech Lord
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,050
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robk View Post
The oval guys are already on to this thing:
http://www.hobbytalk.com/bbs1/showthread.php?t=271791

I guess it's pretty good for 1 cell if you figure it out.
With the right coupons, you can score this thing for like $120 shipped. If it can hang with a certain $400 ESC, it will be very interesting.
syndr0me is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RX8 1/8 Scale Brushless ESC Thread sharkman Electric Off-Road 18797 12-21-2016 06:07 PM
Mamba Max Pro BlueWalker Electric Off-Road 3283 06-20-2016 11:51 AM
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
the Chopping Block-Crawler Wheels. ESC/Motor Combos-Baja stuff Timmahh R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 05-24-2009 12:33 AM
Compatability of brushless ESC's and motors between makes Iceracer Electric On-Road 16 03-21-2007 08:00 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0