Like Tree3Likes

Xray T1

Old 01-05-2004, 04:05 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Originally posted by dr_hfuhuhurr
At our carpet track we gear the T1R and EVO2, with a monster stock, right around a 1.0 rollout. Blake
You mean 10.00 rollout right? I'm a newbie and looked at some roll out charts...1 isn't even a consideration....
Old 01-05-2004, 04:13 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

Just wanted to say that the new chassis and upper deck from Warpspeed for the Xray are GREAT!!!! Car now feels torsionally stiffer than a TC3 or Warpspeed Demon. Ran the 19T class at NORCARs track this past Sunday, and the car felt the best it's ever been. Very consisent cornering, which it never really had with the stock stiff upper deck and a T1 chassis. Only problem I have now is the car is kinda heavy. Car is 3 pounds, 5 ounces. About 2 ounces heavier than I'd like. I'd like to take at least an ounce off the car somehow. Some of that extra weight is the 19T motor, which is probably almost an ounce heavier than the average stock motor.

Also, I found it interesting to compar the wheel base to that of a stock TC3. I found that by moving the rear A arms all the back, as far as possible, I was very close to the same wheel base as a TC3. The car also cornered better. I think a shorter wheelbase is better for rubber tires on asphalt. For foam tires on carpet, a long wheel base feels better.
Old 01-05-2004, 04:37 PM
ASM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)

Not only have I heard of a blown bearing on the spur, I've lived it It cost me a win in a recent qualifier. It also fried the plastic piece as well. That's not a real common size bearing, so I suggest you keep an extra one with you. I also spoke to another xray owner yesterday at the track and he had also experienced the same problem. This seems to suggust that the bearing size isn't sufficient to handle the load.
Old 01-05-2004, 04:38 PM
Tech Elite