R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-14-2004, 12:34 PM   #1
Tech Regular
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to Dougnuts55
Default Cyclone question

I just got a cyclone and was wondering how to put on the capictator i know you solder it to the negative battery and positive motor. But do i solder it directly to the esc or to the wires. Hope this dosent sound dumb.

Dougnuts55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 12:38 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
SpeedyTC3's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: New York
Posts: 99
Send a message via ICQ to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via AIM to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via MSN to SpeedyTC3 Send a message via Yahoo to SpeedyTC3

If you are speaking of the Power Capacitor, you would solder it to the +Pos and -Neg solder posts on the speedo.

If you are speaking about the schottky diode (Smaller) you can either solder this to the motor tabs or on the motor leads themselves.
SpeedyTC3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 01:12 PM   #3
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Cool Cyclone Capacitor

The power capacitor can be soldered to the wires, but it is best to solder the leads to the posts on the speedo and solder the wires over them. Be sure to observe the polarity of the leads. It must be put on the Cyclone or damage may occur.
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 01:58 PM   #4
Tech Regular
Hardriven RC's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345

I see where your question is comming from. If you have difficulties to mount the cap, just solder thin wires on and mount it on the chassis somewhere. Then solder the small wires to the posts on the ESC and your off. This is what i do anyway.

Hardriven RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 10:17 PM   #5
Registered User
Calvin Ng's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,556
Send a message via ICQ to Calvin Ng

i recommend using soldering wire to the capacitor then lead the wire to the speedo....

during crashes and stuff the existing metal beams... like to snap. but i'm sure it'll be alright if u mount it really well....
Calvin Ng is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HotBodies Cyclone WCE MooreSpeed Andy Moore Cyclone SammyZ R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-08-2010 11:17 AM
Taking Time Off Sale: Cyclone,VTA Cyclone,M03 Mini Coopers,F201,12L,T3, LOTS of MISC bmr R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 82 03-09-2009 10:13 AM
Hot Bodies Cyclone Assembly Question??? llamont Electric On-Road 7 03-20-2007 08:32 AM
Stupid question of the week... Cyclone Vs TC2 Kennedy Electric On-Road 9 07-15-2004 05:19 PM
Cyclone '99 Question tmeeks Electric On-Road 15 03-22-2004 11:46 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:56 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0