Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
getting into onroad racing!! need help!!! >

getting into onroad racing!! need help!!!

getting into onroad racing!! need help!!!

Old 09-27-2009, 03:29 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Questions?? getting into onroad racing!! need help!!!

i have been racing offroad for about 5 years now. i loved it but i always wondered what it would be like racing onroad. so i want to give it a try. i would like to get an associated 4wd. everything must be brand new. i hate buying used things!!! i will need a car, esc, bl motor, servo, lipo, and remote. i sold everything off road and i want to start fresh. do i need anything else to race???? i will be racing at west coast rc.

give me some suggestions!!!

thanks
peter
Old 09-27-2009, 03:38 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Do you have a budget? Or is it balls to the walls buy the best money can buy?
Old 09-27-2009, 03:40 PM
Tech Adept

i am going ALL out on this one!
Old 09-27-2009, 03:48 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

Associated TC means a TC5R for rubber tires TC5F for foams depends on where you are racing. Motor and ESC I'd go (option A) Tekin redline system with the motor wind of your choice depending on class. Option B would be a LPR SPX with motor wind for your intended race class. Both ESCs are excellent, it's kinda a toss up between the two. Chargers I would go Hyperion pick the model that fits your needs best all of them are excellent. Lipos packs is where things get sticky. Some folks like budget packs like Zippys, I personally don't trust them, not for any concrete reason, just a gut feeling. Radio gear I'm not up to speed on the newest stuff so that you'll have to get another opinion on.
Old 09-27-2009, 05:29 PM
Tech Adept

Originally Posted by 68peter