R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 09-22-2009, 04:43 AM   #1
Tech Initiate
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

i want to get into racing but as im new to the racing side of things i have been advised that i should start with racing stock. i have spoken to the guys at the local track and i have been offered an xray t2008 with team orion 17.5 turn brushless with no reciever or esc for a good price and two ip 5000 30c lipos for 60 each. i have checked around on the net and this car seems to be able to take the punishment of racing but id like other peoples opinion on how these cars are and if there is any hidden problems that i might run into. or if there are any hop ups that would be benificial to the car b4 racing. I would appreciate any help as id like to win races someday.
wraith27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 05:06 AM   #2
Tech Champion
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Thumbs up

If it's the big x Ray kit and the right spec for your application you should need only a few spare parts and some set up advice from the fast guys where you run.
By spec I mean carpet or rubber.
The lipos sound like a good deal too.
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 05:32 AM   #3
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
Trader Rating: 80 (100%+)

Not sure what the price is but I just purchased an Xray T2'008 off of here for $425 shipped complete to give you an idea of pricing. That included everything except controller and receiver.

Here is the description to give you an idea of what was included.

008 US that we setup to run on asphalt (will include original top plate for carpet). This car has only seen one club race and it took first in the main. Anyone with questions on how it runs can ask John Stranahan...

Comes with two motors- Orion Vector 4.5, and Novak 7.5
ESC- Novak GTB
Tires- will include extra sets
XRay lipo brace