R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Tekin RS with Novak 13.5 (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/326440-tekin-rs-novak-13-5-a.html)

t4tx 09-10-2009 01:21 PM

Tekin RS with Novak 13.5

I have a Novak GTB system with a 13.5 sensored motor, but I want to get a Tekin RS ESC and was wondering if the Novak motor will work with it. I'm very new to all this so this question may be stupid to some but how does the sensor plug fit... are they all a standard size?

Also, am I losing any functionality by not going with a matched system?

Finally, other than the limit, what are the differences between the RS and the RS Pro?

Thanks.

HarryLeach 09-10-2009 01:28 PM

First, yes it will work, and yes the sensor will plug in.

Second, you may lose some adjustibility depending on whether your novak 13.5 has any timing adjustment.

The RS Pro has a lower on-resistance, but for stock classes, the difference is so close the RS wouldn't hold you back any.

More questions already I see ;)

UltegraSTI 09-10-2009 01:31 PM

the RS is fine. i have RSs mated to ballistic 8.5 (2wd mod) and 17.5 (stock TC). have fun!

R

t4tx 09-10-2009 02:03 PM

Originally Posted by HarryLeach (Post 6326990)
First, yes it will work, and yes the sensor will plug in.

Second, you may lose some adjustibility depending on whether your novak 13.5 has any timing adjustment.

The RS Pro has a lower on-resistance, but for stock classes, the difference is so close the RS wouldn't hold you back any.

More questions already I see ;)

How do I know if my Novak motor has timing adjustment? I want to know if just swapping the GTB for the RS will get me any more drivability... like we talked about yesterday? :)

HarryLeach 09-10-2009 02:15 PM