Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Newbie Question, do I want a foam or rubber car? >

Newbie Question, do I want a foam or rubber car?

Newbie Question, do I want a foam or rubber car?

Old 10-20-2009, 05:29 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default Newbie Question, do I want a foam or rubber car?

So, I've been running offroad 1/8 during the summer, now that winter is here, I've been looking for an onroad electric to run on the local indoor carpet track. I am thinking about getting a TC, right now either an Xray or a TC5.

My big debating point at this point is whether to get rubber or foam setup. While I will be running on carpet during the winter, during the summer I want to run the car on a large asphalt track as well. At this point, I don't want to spend the money on two cars.

So based on the fact that I'm a beginner to the onroad scene, would it really make that big of a deal if I were to buy, for example, a TC5R and put foam on for the carpet and then go back to rubber for the outdoor? Or visa versa? Or should I look at picking up something like a T2R or regular TC5 that is just an overall TC and not really surface specific?
Old 10-20-2009, 05:43 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

The major question is, do they run foams at your track? Not all carpet tracks run foam.

If you want a TC5. Check this out:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/r-c-item...is-spares.html

The T2R is also a very nice car as well, but the FRP chassis might not be stiff enough for carpet racing.
Old 10-20-2009, 05:46 PM
Tech Elite

Yes, local track runs foam. That's already been confirmed.

Your question leads me to another question: Would I be better off just buying a rubber car and just sticking with rubber if it's better on asphalt and some (most?) carpet tracks don't allow foam?
Old 10-20-2009, 05:56 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by kuruption
Yes, local track runs foam. That's already been confirmed.