R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Setup Help Please... R9-R on T2 007 (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/321596-setup-help-please-r9-r-t2-007-a.html)

t4tx 08-21-2009 08:41 PM

Setup Help Please... R9-R on T2 007

I am new to on-road and just purchased a used 007 to run on our indoor carpet track in the rubber sedan class. The body that came with it was beat up so I ordered an R9-R. After reading about it (should have read first), I found out that it has very poor rear traction if not set up properly. I'm a very novice driver so oversteer would really hurt me.

I've got a ton of extra parts (i.e. springs, etc) and I could use some help setting up my car to be neutral or even to understeer a bit with this body.

I am currently running front diff but I do have a spool handy.

Can someone please help? Thanks. :)

rosko 08-21-2009 09:50 PM

you'll be beter off just getting a mazda 6

t4tx 08-21-2009 10:01 PM

Originally Posted by rosko (Post 6239474)

Why do you say that?

ShadowAu 08-21-2009 10:17 PM

I've been informed by other people and by other threads that you have to make your car much harder in the front... so harder springs etc

I personally think that having to make radical changes to a car's setup, especially if it had a reasonable setup with other bodies, totally ludicrous.. I ended up ignoring the car setup (which had been excellent before with other bodies) and worked on ways of increasing the rear downforce of the body (which it seriously lacks)...

My solution was to add a wicker flap onto the wing.. up to 3mm is allowed... totally transformed the handling

BTW it was only sheer bloody mindedness and the fact I hate Mazda 6 bodies that I persevered with the R9... these days I would choose the LTCR

ShadowAu 08-21-2009 10:21 PM

Sorry... double post

hound_dogs_01 08-21-2009 11:40 PM