R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-06-2014, 12:33 PM   #1936
Tech Adept
 
Acid_CZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Valachian Kingdom
Posts: 143
Send a message via ICQ to Acid_CZ
Default

I use 0,1, 0,2 or 0,3 tamiya shims on front axles so I can tighten the nut fully and have just micro side play. I use tamiya carbon reinforced uprights right now.
__________________
"If you no longer go for a gap that exists, you're no longer a racing driver"
Ayrton Senna
Acid_CZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 12:54 PM   #1937
Tech Regular
 
longuylander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Long Island
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The front wheels definitely need a little shimming to get rid of some of that play.

I think I ruined my rear grip by putting stiffer side pod springs. The differential is set as loose as can be without severely slipping, yet I still get instant on-power oversteer. It's too cold to test different setups now though.
longuylander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 09:05 PM   #1938
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,482
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coderzone77 View Post
Sorted my F109, finally !
I got the original F109 rear spoiler.
I put a Savox SC1251Mg in the steering.
Put a combo LRP 13.5T (22 pinion) with SPX Zero LRP ESc.
Now it's really great, perfect in the steering, fast and powerful.
I can finally say that I am very very happy
Still a bit of side play in the front wheels, have to study it to know why, but I can say I am really happy.
As others have already said if you are using the original 3Racing front axles you'll need some shims to take the play out
__________________
My car may look like it goes bad to you, but its actually far worse that you think it is...

I have only one more RC thing on my bucket list and I will keep racing (and probably coming last) till its done.
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 02:23 AM   #1939
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 91
Default

Perfect, i already put couple of shims but not enough... will put more.. Thanks to all
And what if I change the front axles ?
coderzone77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 04:30 AM   #1940
Tech Adept
 
corally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: italy
Posts: 118
Default

Coderzone...have use rubber tyre?
corally is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 08:04 PM   #1941
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 59
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Looks like this is an old thread, but I will give it a shot anyway. Anybody have any experience with the 3racing out tuned ball diff for the f104? I built one exactly as instructed. Even if I crank the diff down tight, by the second lap the diff has loosened to the point that the motor can no longer spin the axle. What am I doing wrong?
mhopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 02:46 PM   #1942
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,482
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhopper View Post
Looks like this is an old thread, but I will give it a shot anyway. Anybody have any experience with the 3racing out tuned ball diff for the f104? I built one exactly as instructed. Even if I crank the diff down tight, by the second lap the diff has loosened to the point that the motor can no longer spin the axle. What am I doing wrong?
Have you got the rubber O-ring in the right place? Its the main thing that keeps everything set. You also need to set the diff as tight as you want before putting the axle cap on and only use the adjuster to make small changes but other than that there isn't any trick to the OT diff. I've used them down to 8.5T and never had any issues.
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 06:26 PM   #1943
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 14
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Anyone know where I can get the alloy caster mount? I've been buying entire front ends just to get the replacement mount. Thanks.
timwat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 07:19 PM   #1944
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,482
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwat View Post
Anyone know where I can get the alloy caster mount? I've been buying entire front ends just to get the replacement mount. Thanks.
Unfortunately, everywhere I know that had them is out of stock, including 3Racing themselves... given how old the F109 is I don't have much hope for any more
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 07:26 PM   #1945
Tech Master
 
evochick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Sydney AU
Posts: 1,487
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timwat View Post
Anyone know where I can get the alloy caster mount? I've been buying entire front ends just to get the replacement mount. Thanks.
http://www.walterrchobby.com.au/inde...unt-ver-2.html

here you go

I am sure I saw some left last time I got one.
__________________
UnRetired
evochick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2015, 08:37 PM   #1946
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: singapore
Posts: 171
Send a message via ICQ to zattan
Default

you can use the tamiya 103 caster.. they are the same
zattan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 04:18 PM   #1947
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 14
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by evochick View Post
http://www.walterrchobby.com.au/inde...unt-ver-2.html

here you go

I am sure I saw some left last time I got one.

Thanks Evochick! I've got one on the way now!
timwat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2015, 09:31 PM   #1948
Tech Master
 
ShadowAu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Somewhere you'd never heard of
Posts: 1,482
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by evochick View Post
http://www.walterrchobby.com.au/inde...unt-ver-2.html

here you go

I am sure I saw some left last time I got one.
Might have to pick up a spare if they still have a few
ShadowAu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2015, 10:29 AM   #1949
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by corally View Post
Coderzone...have use rubber tyre?
oh so sorry for my soooo late answer...
no, I use still foam.
I want to change the F109 for rubber tyre, but apart the F104 front mount (and wheels), what else do I need to buy ?
coderzone77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2015, 02:08 AM   #1950
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Valladolid, Spain
Posts: 88
Default

If you want to use F104 style wheels, the big problem is the rear ride heigth, because the 109 is designed around the smaller 103 stule wheels.
You need to shim the motor Mount, and the side damper link.
You can see more in my web (spanish): http://f1rc.es/2014/06/3racing-f109-n/
prorace is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1/10 R/C F1's...Pics, Discussions, Whatever... Vyger Electric On-Road 12642 Yesterday 02:18 PM
Tamiya F104 Pro! NT Electric On-Road 9327 01-11-2017 01:04 PM
Tamiya F103 Forum TFR Electric On-Road 2199 08-27-2016 04:27 AM
F1 series new rides for '09 mxrich Georgia Racing 12 07-06-2009 04:37 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:06 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0