R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   PLEASE TEACH ME HOW TO UNDERSTAND BATTERY DISCRIPTION. (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/307227-please-teach-me-how-understand-battery-discription.html)

capturefx 06-25-2009 05:37 AM

PLEASE TEACH ME HOW TO UNDERSTAND BATTERY DISCRIPTION.

im new to electric rc comming from nitro, please help me understand the description of these batteries. i remember they used to be so simple back then just grab a 7.2 1500 mah and up and go.

for example : 2 cell 7.4V 5200mAh 25C Li-Polymer Lipo Battery Pack

2 cell means theres 2 pieces of batteries in it? and a 7 cell would have 7 pieces of batteries in it . please correct me if im wrong im a noob.

i know what 7.4 and 5200mah means but what is the 25C??

:confused:

Miller_Time 06-25-2009 05:55 AM

The "2 cell" generally means how many cells in series. A 2 cell lipo (7.4 volts) may have 2 actual cells or it may have more :) The full description would be 2s1p for example - 2 cells in series, 1 parallel, the difference is how they are wired. Cells in series add voltage while cells in parallel add their mAh (capacity) but not voltage. It's usually just said as "2 cell lipo" because the voltage is what really matters in terms of equipment compatibility.

You could have several ways to make a 7.4 volt 5000 mAh battery pack. At 2s1p it would be two cells in series, each cell being 3.7 volts and 5000 mAh. Or it could be 2s2p which would be four cells total, each cell being 3.7 volts and 2500 mAh. Two pairs are wired in parallel and then those pairs are wired in series. In actual use there is no difference between those two packs, although the size/shape could be different.