Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
The reason for the lack of mod drivers... >

The reason for the lack of mod drivers...

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

The reason for the lack of mod drivers...

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 07:05 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I have been following this thread as it is very interesting to a new TC racer. I think there may be more to the 'track' factor for us average Joe's. I am just a complete noob, just getting started in TC racing (17.5 rookie). I have been to several local events - which in my geo area are all parking lots with a track 'setup' on it - and one of the first things I thought was, wow, the track seems kinda small for how fast I have seen these mod cars go. You know, those videos you find online that show some huge European track all perfect and dedicated to the sport - beautiful! Watching 13.5 or 10.5 run on the local small tracks, they still seem still WAY too fast - bumping into corner dots, broken parts on expensive cars, etc.

The availability of good (dedicated) tracks may have more to do with the development of really skilled and dedicated drivers. You can only do so much on a parking lot and limited practice time. I can say if I had really nice and large tracks that were open for practice regularly, not just the hours before a race on weekend only, you betcha I could get more into it. For now, two times a month with paractice and racing combined. I'll never get to mod level with that kind of commitment

Second observation - The future TC as an RC hobby: