R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2003, 07:02 PM   #1
Tech Addict
Neil's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: me..me..me
Posts: 583
Send a message via MSN to Neil
Default power supply 12v

What is a good power supply? I want to use it for charging batteries as well as using it to run my stater box for my 1/8 scale buggy. I.E. how many amps do I need?
Neil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:10 PM   #2
Tech Apprentice
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 66
Send a message via AIM to Gped0124 Send a message via Yahoo to Gped0124

For running a starter box, your going to need a pretty high amp ps. Not sure how much it draws, but I'm sure its over 15...
Gped0124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:13 PM   #3
Tech Master
murfy's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,045
Trader Rating: 9 (92%+)

hey i have a power supply which has 13.8 Volts and a maxium of 8 Amps. this is pretty much the minium that you will need.

thats all foks.
murfy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2003, 07:42 PM   #4
Tech Master
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: land of mass unemployment
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)


I use a 30 amp rivergate to power my starter box. I also use it to power my tire truer and charger. (tire truer and charger at the same time). no problems so far.
Team Tekin, KoPropo, Power Push Batteries, Tempgun.com
Life is short - live it! Your only old when your dreams are replaced by regrets.
TimXLB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 08:17 AM   #5
Tech Fanatic
kt racing's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: va
Posts: 848
Send a message via AIM to kt racing

buy the rivergate its otherwise called the bulldog. You can get them in a 15, 30, or 40 amps. There the best on the market. They don't overheat and they produce constant power no spikes. They run from 100 to about 180 bucks. But don't get any thing less than 30amps for what you need.
kt racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2003, 08:53 AM   #6
Tech Champion
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Stokes, NC
Posts: 6,279
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default Power supply

I have a Novak N power supply for sale, check my post in the 4 sale. I use 2 radio shack 7.2 v economy packs for my magic starter box,. Carrying around a box, is hard enough, why do you want to attach a 5lb power supply with it.?????
2 7.v pack are a lot lighter and cheaper in the long run.
Serpent America, www.serpentamerica.com, Hobbystar USA,www.hobbystarlabs.com,www.rcjuice.com,www.Hobbybatteryz.com, A Main Hobbies, www.amain.com, VRP Innovations,WWW.Visionracingproducts.com , Schelle , WWW. Schelleracing.com, MIP WWW.MIPONLINE.COM

Raul Garcia is offline   Reply With Quote

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer power supply used for charger power supply? 66Racer Radio and Electronics 7 05-24-2008 11:52 PM
RC BLOW OUT !!!! Ice chargers,novak discharger,power supply,power bridge,integy setup shrum1340 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 20 07-23-2007 04:37 AM
>>> TEAM NOVAK N-POWER POWER SUPPLY GREAT CONDITION $50 <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 02-06-2007 09:53 PM
turning pc power supply into a rc power supply andy_666 Electric On-Road 20 01-16-2006 04:20 PM
SEC Power Supply vs. Hobbico Power Supply? F1Junkie Electric On-Road 1 06-05-2004 07:52 AM

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:18 PM.

Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0