Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
i need help in soldering loose GP3300 together >

i need help in soldering loose GP3300 together

i need help in soldering loose GP3300 together

Old 12-13-2003, 06:34 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 9 (92%+)
Thumbs up i need help in soldering loose GP3300 together

it is my first time to solder loose cells together and i need help! (please)

i just recently bought some GP3300 loose cells. and i have got that special holding case for the cells. all i need is some tips on how to get the best out of my cells.

so if anyone can help me to give me a few tips it would be gr8.

thanx
Old 12-13-2003, 07:16 AM
Tech Master

Pro match site
Here is a good tutorial on how to do it. Make sure you are using a hot enough iron with at least a 1/4 inch tip. and never hold the iron on the cell for more than 3 seconds. Let the cell cool well before trying to resolder if ya make a mistake. Make sure the ends are clean after you sand them. Try to get help putting pressure on the bar as you solder, This not only makes it easier but putting pressure on the bar as you solder helps transfer heat quicker. When you do the final solder it should look like a shiny puddle on top of the bar. Hold the solder in one hand and the iron in the other and feed some solder as your doing the joint remember to be quick.
Attached Images
File Type: bmp
pmr battery pack.bmp (178.9 KB, 125 views)
Old 12-13-2003, 08:26 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

ok to add:
try to sand the terminals so that the solder will stick.
it's best if u have bars that are made for GP or u can get anyone and bend them first so that they fit perfectly when u rest them on the cells.
I hope u have a battery jig...otherwise it's wise to run out and buy one NOW.
Old 12-13-2003, 10:16 AM
Tech Master

The key is,

1. Hot soldering iron with a big tip
2. Deans Speed Jig
3. tin the surface before solding on the bars.