R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-03-2010, 09:21 AM   #1111
wyd
Tech Legend
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 20,918
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to wyd
Default

Wow a little quiet in here lately. I need to get mine up and running so I can post on how the car is working. I hope to run it in 2 weeks or so for the first time. Still working on fitting my speedo in and getting that body painted and mounted on the car. I need to get in gear.
__________________
Castle Creations (Since 2005)
Bumps & Jumps RC (One of the best racing facilities around)
ST Racing Concepts (STRC) Great aluminum upgrades for many brands.
Custom Works (Best Oval Cars around). Too many titles to list
Shout out to: Sticky Kicks, CR Graphics and Race Ready Products
wyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 11:49 AM   #1112
Tech Fanatic
 
vadersing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 934
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Dear TA05 v2 guys,

Can anyone advise which powerful lipo batts to buy for my TA05 v2 without modifying the tub?

I have a couple of Nosram 5300 batts but they don't sit flat in the tub.

Need some help please.


Thanks
vadersing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 11:51 AM   #1113
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vadersing View Post
Dear TA05 v2 guys,

Can anyone advise which powerful lipo batts to buy for my TA05 v2 without modifying the tub?

I have a couple of Nosram 5300 batts but they don't sit flat in the tub.

Need some help please.


Thanks
unfortunately.. you'll be better off modifying the tub so that the battery sits lower and flat. that way you can buy ANY battery and it'll work with your car.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:04 PM   #1114
Tech Fanatic
 
vadersing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 934
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Could you show me how it's done please?

Thanks


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki View Post
unfortunately.. you'll be better off modifying the tub so that the battery sits lower and flat. that way you can buy ANY battery and it'll work with your car.
vadersing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 12:08 PM   #1115
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vadersing View Post
Could you show me how it's done please?

Thanks
i use a dremel tool to remove the bumps. one is a cutting tool, the other is a cutting disc. i leave the inner fence to keep the battery from hitting the belts.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 01:38 PM   #1116
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I have a TA-05 running with short reversible arms front and rear, 37/18 pulleys. If I get the V2 motor mount assembly, 46mm sus. shafts and possibly the lower suspension arm mounts for F/R will I be able to use the Exotek chassis kit?

Thanks!
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2010, 02:53 PM   #1117
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,764
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_square24 View Post
I have a TA-05 running with short reversible arms front and rear, 37/18 pulleys. If I get the V2 motor mount assembly, 46mm sus. shafts and possibly the lower suspension arm mounts for F/R will I be able to use the Exotek chassis kit?

Thanks!
you also need the K-parts from the V2 chassis to mount the front shocks.....also for the motor mount you need all the parts that go with it...ie the Layshaft, spur gear mount and the little stopper on the end of the layshaft. Also if it uses the V2 steering rack you need to get the one for the TB03 as its the same as the V2/TB03 and the TA05 non-v2 will not work.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 03:46 PM   #1118
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,092
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

my Exotek chassis

before:


chassis width compared:


almost ready:
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:41 PM   #1119
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,714
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by over gear View Post
my Exotek chassis

before:


chassis width compared:


almost ready:
nice! can't wait till mine arrives next week
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:54 PM   #1120
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 674
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin K View Post
you also need the K-parts from the V2 chassis to mount the front shocks.....also for the motor mount you need all the parts that go with it...ie the Layshaft, spur gear mount and the little stopper on the end of the layshaft. Also if it uses the V2 steering rack you need to get the one for the TB03 as its the same as the V2/TB03 and the TA05 non-v2 will not work.
So the tamiya & 3racing aluminum bulkheads i have now will fit on the v2/exotek chassis i assume, i can run the front shocks in stand-up position like I have now without the k-parts (rocker) right?

will the 4 tamiya aluminum lower arm mounts i have now for the v1 fit on the v2? is it just a difference of shaft length (46/49.7)or are mounting holes different too?

Thanks a lot
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:59 PM   #1121
Tech Adept
 
JD Skyline's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Drachten, County
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by over gear View Post
my Exotek chassis



almost ready:
AWESOME!!!!!! This looks great!!!!!! When you start racing with this chassis please give me some info about it
I,m going to order it as well!!!
__________________
JD Skyline
"NO GUTS NO GLORY"

Still lookin.......
http://jdskyline.blogspot.nl

Last edited by JD Skyline; 08-05-2010 at 01:20 AM.
JD Skyline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 08:31 AM   #1122
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,764
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc_square24 View Post
So the tamiya & 3racing aluminum bulkheads i have now will fit on the v2/exotek chassis i assume, i can run the front shocks in stand-up position like I have now without the k-parts (rocker) right?

will the 4 tamiya aluminum lower arm mounts i have now for the v1 fit on the v2? is it just a difference of shaft length (46/49.7)or are mounting holes different too?

Thanks a lot
Yes the bulkheads should just bolt right on. Stand up shocks sure you should be able to do that. You will still need the K-parts for the front chassis brace even if you dont use the lay-down shocks.

You are correct....the V1 arm mounts will work on the this chassis you just need the shorter hinge pins. If you look a the pictures just posted you will see hes using the old arm mounts on the new Exotek chassis.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....14th year running 2016/17!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 01:04 PM   #1123
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,092
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

i'm using the suspension mounts from 415. they are old.... u will need new hinge pins. the TA05 V1 is 50mm long. the V2 is 46mm long.

you can use the standard stand-up front suspension... but you will still need the V2 K-part tree. The top deck from Exotek goes from the rear bulkhead to the motor mount then to the steering post. you need the part from the steering post to the front bulkhead.

Mike from Exotek said he'll have a long top deck that connects from bulkhead to bulkhead soon .

testing at the Tamiya track this Saturday.
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 06:53 PM   #1124
Tech Master
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,092
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

just got back testing the Exotek chassis at the Tamiya track... compare to the tub chassis... the exotek is much much more stable everywhere. i didn't clock the lap time, but i know i'm faster with the same equiptment and tires. i now have more confident driving the car deeper into the corner. i can also ride the curb higher without flipping. i guess the much narrower chassis did the trick. all in all, i'm very happy with the new chassis
over gear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 08:41 PM   #1125
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,250
Default

Can you get some actual lap times? It would be interesting to compare.



Quote:
Originally Posted by over gear View Post
just got back testing the Exotek chassis at the Tamiya track... compare to the tub chassis... the exotek is much much more stable everywhere. i didn't clock the lap time, but i know i'm faster with the same equiptment and tires. i now have more confident driving the car deeper into the corner. i can also ride the curb higher without flipping. i guess the much narrower chassis did the trick. all in all, i'm very happy with the new chassis
outlandr91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32165 10-24-2016 10:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:54 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0