R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-19-2016, 06:29 PM   #2671
Tech Addict
 
tobyzhang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: chino hills/Irvine
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
Okay need some advise and suggestions
On my TA05V2 Im running yellow front springs with the red sway bar
The rear springs are yellow also and using the yellow sway bar in the back
The tires were Solaris Slicks on a rubber surface. But the surface
doesn't seem to matter. I gotta find some more grip up front
Its pushing madly!!!
Any suggestions on what to change suspension wise to get more grip?
Mike
TA05v2 has some inherent understeer for some reason. I suggest use shorter front upper link positions to see what it does and also look into BB from blocks or even AA front blocks. Also make sure you don't have excessive rear toe in and rear diff is tight enough. Also more rear droop might be helpful.
tobyzhang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2016, 07:16 PM   #2672
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,801
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tobyzhang View Post
TA05v2 has some inherent understeer for some reason. I suggest use shorter front upper link positions to see what it does and also look into BB from blocks or even AA front blocks. Also make sure you don't have excessive rear toe in and rear diff is tight enough. Also more rear droop might be helpful.

What bodies is he using ,may have too big of the rear wing!
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:24 PM   #2673
Tech Master
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,739
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi Guys, thanks for being so fast!!!
Sorry for replying so slow, Im on my Evening tour and it was busy last night!
Anyway I don't think the wing had anything to do with it, but I gotta replace it anyway. We were running at a brand new facility and I got too close to a marshall and when he jumped over my car to avoid the collision, he clipped my wing and broke it anyway!
Im going to try all of the suggestions that you posted one at a time and will see what does and doesn't make a difference. Im gonna try the wing first, since I gotta do that anyway!!!
OVA would the actual height come into play or just the physical size??? (Just thought of this!!!)
__________________
Hauler Driver, Liason, Lead Mechanic, Crew Chief, Procurement Specialist,
Conflict Resolution Specialist, Pychologist, Therapist All for Team Golddust Racing
Oh and By The Way
NBCsn and FxSports cable is growing on me too!
KA2AEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2016, 01:51 PM   #2674
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,801
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KA2AEV View Post
Hi Guys, thanks for being so fast!!!
Sorry for replying so slow, Im on my Evening tour and it was busy last night!
Anyway I don't think the wing had anything to do with it, but I gotta replace it anyway. We were running at a brand new facility and I got too close to a marshall and when he jumped over my car to avoid the collision, he clipped my wing and broke it anyway!
Im going to try all of the suggestions that you posted one at a time and will see what does and doesn't make a difference. Im gonna try the wing first, since I gotta do that anyway!!!
OVA would the actual height come into play or just the physical size??? (Just thought of this!!!)
Wing size and shape make a big difference......I am running Tamiya BRZ bodies /with tamiya option racing rear wing , this bodies it is perfect balance for steering and rear end is very stable....
question : Are you running the spool or Gear diff? gear diff will give you more steering for sure
I can shares you my set up..lmk
If your track is small and low grip..I would converter to lay down shock( IFS )
works for me, cause ifs set up is softer and it make the car turn in easy..
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work

Last edited by OVA; 10-20-2016 at 02:04 PM.
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 12:20 AM   #2675
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,801
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

sorry

TTT
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 06:52 PM   #2676
Tech Master
 
KA2AEV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tottenville, NYC
Posts: 1,739
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, Just an Update
I haven't had a chance to do squat on my car lately!
I did get the wing tho! Hopefully this won't get too involved!!!

Mike
__________________
Hauler Driver, Liason, Lead Mechanic, Crew Chief, Procurement Specialist,
Conflict Resolution Specialist, Pychologist, Therapist All for Team Golddust Racing
Oh and By The Way
NBCsn and FxSports cable is growing on me too!
KA2AEV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 12:24 AM   #2677
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 160
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quick question, i messed up my front end during a crash and I need to replace the arms. Currently I have the short reversible arms. Will the 418/419 arms work?
jessele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2016, 01:19 AM   #2678
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,801
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jessele View Post
Quick question, i messed up my front end during a crash and I need to replace the arms. Currently I have the short reversible arms. Will the 418/419 arms work?
The 418 or 419 arms will work ,only if you use the upright shock tower, NOT the IFS ..
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 10:00 PM   #2679
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 126
Default

Did anyone look into getting a floating servo holder in TA05?
Since I'm still awaiting mine to arrive, I'm getting extremely curious!

I'm not sure if there is a extra hole free next to the hole where stock servo holder sits?
If I ever get, which I'm sure I will raceberry chassis for it, it will be modified to fit EXO 5 servo stay

Cheers
__________________
Tamiya TRF 419X / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Exotek v1 / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TB EXO 6 / Tamiya TB EXO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TA05 v2 Exotek / Tamiya FF04 EVO / Tamiya FF04 EVO Black Edition / Tamiya FF03 EVO / Spice Yokomo BD7 FF / VBC FF17 / Sabre FD Mini
vlad_sa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 10:02 PM   #2680
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
The 418 or 419 arms will work ,only if you use the upright shock tower, NOT the IFS ..
Really? So you have to go back to original TA05 arms in order to have the shocks in ISF?
__________________
Tamiya TRF 419X / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Exotek v1 / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TB EXO 6 / Tamiya TB EXO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TA05 v2 Exotek / Tamiya FF04 EVO / Tamiya FF04 EVO Black Edition / Tamiya FF03 EVO / Spice Yokomo BD7 FF / VBC FF17 / Sabre FD Mini
vlad_sa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2016, 11:48 PM   #2681
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,801
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad_sa View Post
Really? So you have to go back to original TA05 arms in order to have the shocks in ISF?
yes...that is correct...

Original arm have three places for ball connector.. one for the shock ,sway bar and IFS pushrod
The 418 only have two places ball connector( shock and sway bar)
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 12:18 AM   #2682
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
yes...that is correct...

Original arm have three places for ball connector.. one for the shock ,sway bar and IFS pushrod
The 418 only have two places ball connector( shock and sway bar)
Bummer, I'd have to get some carbon re-enforced parts as I plan to run the shocks in ISF.
__________________
Tamiya TRF 419X / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Exotek v1 / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TB EXO 6 / Tamiya TB EXO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TA05 v2 Exotek / Tamiya FF04 EVO / Tamiya FF04 EVO Black Edition / Tamiya FF03 EVO / Spice Yokomo BD7 FF / VBC FF17 / Sabre FD Mini
vlad_sa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2016, 11:56 AM   #2683
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,801
Trader Rating: 78 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vlad_sa View Post
Bummer, I'd have to get some carbon re-enforced parts as I plan to run the shocks in ISF.
sorry bud....

why do you prefer IFS?
IFS is an excellent for low grip or small track layout
__________________
I have not failed. I've just found 10,000 ways that won't work
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2016, 12:22 AM   #2684
Tech Adept
 
vlad_sa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Australia / Germany
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
sorry bud....

why do you prefer IFS?
IFS is an excellent for low grip or small track layout
Because I drive mostly on the small technical track in the local club.
__________________
Tamiya TRF 419X / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Exotek v1 / Tamiya TB EVO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TB EXO 6 / Tamiya TB EXO 5 Raceberry Edition / Tamiya TA05 v2 Exotek / Tamiya FF04 EVO / Tamiya FF04 EVO Black Edition / Tamiya FF03 EVO / Spice Yokomo BD7 FF / VBC FF17 / Sabre FD Mini
vlad_sa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 05:25 PM   #2685
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 30
Default

Hey guys ive really been interested in upgrading the chassis im using that came with my ta05 v2r kit. I was noticing there really arent any options online anymore, the 3racing stuff is pretty much all out of stock and the only usable one i found was like $100 and i believe id have to convert my setup to a mostly vdf based design to even use that kit.

Ive been interested in cutting out my own chassis for a custom build setup and it seems relatively easy to pull off. Since i dont see anyone selling or remaking the exotek ex05 for my kit i was thinking i could instead cut a plate of carbon fiber to match that if anyone had a way for me to get a hold of a print out to use for reference points in cutting the CF. I was originally gonna use my stock chassis but id be in heaven if i could setup something more like the ex05.

Does anyone know of a way i could get a hold of something to use as the exotek ex05 reference for me to use to cut out of carbon fiber?
TheMadHatta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 11:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:33 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net