R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2013, 07:14 AM   #2311
Tech Addict
 
gruman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Anyone ever have an issue with a loose front belt?

I bought my car used and thought the belt was just stretched out. So bought a new belt and I have the diff adjusted as far forward as it would go and it still is to loose for my liking. It doesnt slip, but its really loose.

Any advice?

Thanks
Chris
gruman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 08:05 AM   #2312
Tech Addict
 
Jethroz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Frederick, MD
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gruman28 View Post
Anyone ever have an issue with a loose front belt?

I bought my car used and thought the belt was just stretched out. So bought a new belt and I have the diff adjusted as far forward as it would go and it still is to loose for my liking. It doesnt slip, but its really loose.

Any advice?

Thanks
Chris
Check the pulley sizes. Someone may have used 36T F/R and/or 17T shaft. TA05V2 should have 37T main and 18T shaft pulleys.
-OR-
You bought a TA05 and used a TA05V2 belt, which is longer.

TA05V2 pulleys:
TA-05 ver.2
Jethroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2013, 06:24 PM   #2313
Tech Addict
 
gruman28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 716
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Thats it.... It has a a 36T pulley. Ugh....

I have another 36t pulley and what I am assuming is a 17t shaft. If I switch to those, then I would need to get to original TA05 belts?

Thanks

Chris
gruman28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2013, 03:40 PM   #2314
Tech Master
 
HeliYogi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: WA
Posts: 1,193
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default For TCS GT3 or VTA class option?

Heres a good used TA05 V2 IFS chassis start up for you...

Tamiya TA05 V2 IFS good condition plus extras
__________________
More F-1 RC action? RCTECH Formula-1-RC-Northwest & FB @WhatBrakes
HeliYogi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 08:59 PM   #2315
Tech Fanatic
 
RC Passion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: San Diego
Posts: 972
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gruman28 View Post
It doesnt slip, but its really loose.

Any advice?

Thanks
Chris
That's the perfect setup IMO! It'll have the least drag and it doesn't skip!
RC Passion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:02 PM   #2316
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Can you believe my TA05 v2 drives better than my T4?
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:06 PM   #2317
OVA
Tech Champion
 
OVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: WASHINGTON
Posts: 8,590
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
Can you believe my TA05 v2 drives better than my T4?
No way
OVA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:13 PM   #2318
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Anyone have a good setup for tamiya raceway for gt3?
__________________
Chris TRF419 TA05V2
TQ RC Racing Powered by teeth
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 09:29 PM   #2319
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OVA View Post
No way
Franko. It is a fair impression since I am the one who is driving both cars on the same track.
T4 was more impressive than TA05 in terms of building experience, material, and the price. I am not impressed at all by its handling.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 04:33 AM   #2320
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,926
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by edhchoe View Post
Franko. It is a fair impression since I am the one who is driving both cars on the same track.
T4 was more impressive than TA05 in terms of building experience, material, and the price. I am not impressed at all by its handling.
actually that makes a sense

the T4 is all carbon fiber and very stiff setup (yes, I know you can adjust the flexibility of the decks)...but the TA05 is a plastic chassis without an upper deck, so there's more inherent flex in the car - which, when running on asphalt helps in the handling/forgiveness of the chassis
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:54 PM   #2321
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Finally got my t4 to handle good. I used ta05v2 and t4 for different qualifying rounds. My choice in the main was ta05v2. Ta05v2 is still tad faster.

Edit: I won the A main with my TA05v2!!! I am so excited..
It was double main with 6 cars. Mine was not the fastest but I won the first main and got the 2nd place in the 2nd main. 1st Overall!!!! So happy for my beat up TA05v2....

Last edited by edhchoe; 06-01-2013 at 06:47 PM.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 06:52 PM   #2322
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

hhhhhhh

edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:32 PM   #2323
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 210
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

ta05 v2 is a excellent car! i changed to a t3 and now a trf417 v5. The ta05 is just a smooth easy to drive car where the others need setup changes a lot! wish i didnt sell it!
rayrush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:00 PM   #2324
Tech Master
 
hanzo3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 1,293
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Where can I get b3 premounts?
__________________
Chris TRF419 TA05V2
TQ RC Racing Powered by teeth
hanzo3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 09:17 PM   #2325
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hanzo3 View Post
Where can I get b3 premounts?
You mean these?

I have a set. They were used for maybe 5 minutes on carpet last winter. It was not the correct spec tire for the club so I have not used them since then.
If you want them, $25 shipped. PM for paypal.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32165 10-24-2016 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:09 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net