R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-20-2012, 02:13 AM   #2191
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
anyone here run a fan on their motors?? if so, how and where did you mount them??

I was thinking the little air scoop might be enough, but don't wanna take any chances
I've found the best solution for motor cooling on a TA05 is the Yeah Racing heatsink that's really minimal and 2 Yeah Racing Tornado fans. I've used other heatsinks that enclose the motor but I reckon that they do a better job of keeping the heat on the motor rather than dissipating it. The enclosing heatsinks will only really work if you have the whole heatsink contacting the motor (which usually isn't the case, there is almost always a very small gap which holds the heat). The minimal heatsink allows the fans to blow directly onto the motor which cools the motor way more efficiently than the typical enclosing heatsink. I can't post pictures of my setup cause I haven't got enough posts yet, but search flickr for "ta05 cooling" and hopefully my pics will come up.

I dremelled off the fins on one side so the centre shaft clamp thingy doesn't come into contact with the heatsink.

I've also heard of guys mounting a fan on the chassis brace that goes around the motor that blows cool air into the motor rather than onto the motor. Apparently this works incredibly well but I haven't tried it myself.
cain.c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 02:25 AM   #2192
Tech Master
 
wtcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,227
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If you use heatsink paste then that little gap between heatsink and motor should be no problem...
__________________
/// CAUTION: Rogue robot \\\
wtcc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2012, 08:15 AM   #2193
Tech Master
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
anyone here run a fan on their motors?? if so, how and where did you mount them??

I was thinking the little air scoop might be enough, but don't wanna take any chances

I'm using this guy. Seems to work well so far.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/360470741270...84.m1497.l2649
__________________
I race at www.mncarpetoval.com !
cdwilliams1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 03:03 AM   #2194
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wtcc View Post
If you use heatsink paste then that little gap between heatsink and motor should be no problem...
Agreed - however that sounds really messy to me. I'd much rather just have the fans blowing straight on the motor.
cain.c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 05:18 AM   #2195
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,967
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

thanks all - gotta figure out what I have that'll work for tomorrow

I might just mount the fan to the motor brace and call it a day - gotta look and see how much time i have today to play with the car before tomorrow's TCS race
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 12:18 AM   #2196
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 175
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can anyone tell me if the standard kits come with the hardware to run the front shocks in the upright position? Or is it only possible to run lay down f1 type shocks without buying extra parts?
And also can someone point me in the right direction as far as what size spur I can fit that will give me a FDR range of around 3.7-4.3 (Im just not sure what will fit)

Last edited by Glarke; 07-23-2012 at 12:53 AM.
Glarke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 10:02 AM   #2197
Tech Master
 
doen08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: qc, Philippines
Posts: 1,091
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to doen08
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glarke View Post
Can anyone tell me if the standard kits come with the hardware to run the front shocks in the upright position? Or is it only possible to run lay down f1 type shocks without buying extra parts?
And also can someone point me in the right direction as far as what size spur I can fit that will give me a FDR range of around 3.7-4.3 (Im just not sure what will fit)
up for Glarke.
__________________
Xray T2
doen08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 03:47 PM   #2198
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,531
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

All you should really need to run upright shocks is the shock mount (same as regular TA05), and the gear cover (same as the rear cover) if I remember right...

A spur in the 90's should work
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2012, 04:56 PM   #2199
Tech Elite
 
stitchy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 3,794
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

use this shock tower:

http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...d=865&id=12914
__________________
Speedtechhobbies.com
stitchy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2012, 09:30 AM   #2200
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Just ordered my second ta05v2. I thought about getting a ta06 pro but could not convince myself on the extra moving parts. Ta05v2 chassis is just too efficient.

Last edited by edhchoe; 08-31-2012 at 02:00 PM.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2012, 03:47 PM   #2201
Tech Addict
 
Zac_with_no_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 598
Questions??

I'm finally attempting to set-up my car and have a few questions..

1. For rebound stroke, the set-up sheet I'm using says 0mm front and rear. Does this mean I should just take that screw out? Also, what effect does this screw have when raised or lowered?

2. Where are the best spots to measure ride height at? With the bumper and wheels in the way I'm having trouble finding a spot up front where I can read the height guage.

3. How/where do you measure droop and how do you adjust droop front and rear?

I'm using a Team Magic ride height & droop guage. The set-up sheet has a "memo" that the droop was taken by a Tamiya guage. Are all droop guages different or something?
__________________
TA05v.II
Tamiya M-05
SC10 Brushless RTR
Zac_with_no_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2012, 04:41 PM   #2202
Tech Fanatic
 
414MPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

If anyone is interested...

available for sale.

I have a very clean, very low usage TA05V2 with a '09 Tamiya Worlds (Japan) pedigree for sale including many new, unused spare parts.
PM if interested or just courious......

Marty
__________________
Marty (TAMIYA 414M's, F-1's and Vintage Trans-Am! Is there anything else?)
** Red Dot Motors** , thanks doc....
and I guess the TA-05 IFS-R is pretty good too.....
414MPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:14 AM   #2203
Tech Master
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

OK guys my 4000mAh 25C duratrax lipos wont fit my chassis.
The standoffs are way too short even with spacers.

Im gonna pick up some industrial strength VELCRO and just Velcro my lipos in.

I just want some input if anyone has tried this before.
How much Velcro do you think I'll need?
__________________
Novak, Viper, LRP
4wd Slash Platinum,4WD SC10,Stock Slash Latemodel Oval,Losi Slider,E-firestorm Bomber, Team Terribles,www.rkhobbies.com,GOLFLAND USA
???E-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:47 AM   #2204
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Hi,

these tapes are ok unless you have a bit more ride heigt. Because the chassis doesn't have any pits on the bottom side.

regards
Oortael
Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:29 AM   #2205
Tech Master
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I beileve this will work. It takes alot of strength to pull the lipo off the chassis.

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/d...g4life/001.jpg

http://i224.photobucket.com/albums/d...g4life/002.jpg


It's industrial strength Velcro you can buy at walmart in the craft department.
__________________
Novak, Viper, LRP
4wd Slash Platinum,4WD SC10,Stock Slash Latemodel Oval,Losi Slider,E-firestorm Bomber, Team Terribles,www.rkhobbies.com,GOLFLAND USA
???E-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:51 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net