R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2012, 06:55 PM   #2116
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,747
Trader Rating: 72 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac_with_no_K View Post
For VTA I calculated 24 different FDR's that equal 3.5. I just don't know what spur gear to use.

The highest spur I've done is 93 with a pinion of 54. I didn't want to go much high because I don't know what's too big for 64 pitch gears. I also noted that 70/41 is exactly 3.5 if that makes any difference..

I've done every spur tooth count inbetween 69 to 93.

Does anyone have an opinion on what spur gear would work best? Even if it's higher than 93.
82 puts in a good range, probably anything in the 80s.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2012, 10:15 AM   #2117
Tech Addict
 
Zac_with_no_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
82 puts in a good range, probably anything in the 80s.
Thank you!
__________________
TA05v.II
Tamiya M-05
SC10 Brushless RTR
Zac_with_no_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 05:11 PM   #2118
Tech Master
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k_bojar View Post
with a 3racing chassis, maybe??
I looked it up and your right, it is a 3 Racing chassis.
It's also got the aluminum suspension mounts on the front as well.

Well I just direct soldered my Novak 17.5 Ballistic into my GTB speed control today. Not the best solder job but it will do. I made sure I had a good solder joint by trying to pull the end off sure enough I lifted the whole chassis up...
So I dont believe they will come off....

__________________
Novak, Viper, LRP
4wd Slash Platinum,4WD SC10,Stock Slash Latemodel Oval,Losi Slider,E-firestorm Bomber, Team Terribles,www.rkhobbies.com,GOLFLAND USA
???E-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2012, 05:20 PM   #2119
Tech Elite
 
iPearl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cypress, TX
Posts: 2,840
Trader Rating: 94 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to iPearl Send a message via MSN to iPearl
Default

I have a Genuine Alu Motor mount for this TA05v2 with 2 belts and misc parts.

If any one wants to buy since that thing is crazy expensive.

And I have a 17.5 Short can motor that makes the TA05 crazy Balanced for racing. It keeps the weight in the middle of the car, instead hanging it out to the side and making balancing it harder.

TA05v2 Alu Motor Mount, 2 Belts, Misc parts, 17.5 ShortCan Motor for TA05
__________________
Design Of Things !!!
iPearl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 04:55 AM   #2120
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Hi,

I've bought me the Corolla Axio apr GT #58448 kit. Most of the drivers of our local club here uses the RIDE 32R Pre-glued, ETS Spec Tire.

But I can't find what offset these rims have. The kit rims have +2 offset. Do I need some spacers to get the tires on or are they ok as they are?

Kind regards
Oortael
Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012, 07:38 AM   #2121
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1,060
Trader Rating: 30 (97%+)
Default

you need to use spacers, as the ride 32r are 0 offset compared to the tamiya wheels which are +2 offset, these are the same tires I am running on my ta06 pro
zaraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2012, 10:00 AM   #2122
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zaraz View Post
you need to use spacers, as the ride 32r are 0 offset compared to the tamiya wheels which are +2 offset, these are the same tires I am running on my ta06 pro
Thank you!

But what is the part no. of the spacers/wheel washer which does include the +2 offset? There are so many washer sizes that I'm not sure which one to take...
Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 01:39 AM   #2123
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I don't think you *need* to use spacers unless the inside of the rim is touching (or really close so will touch during racing) the top turnbuckle ball cup on the front.

I run +0 offset rims on my TA05v2 and it handles great with no issues.

I thought that any kind of offset rims weren't really used in racing, and the +2 tamiya rims that come with the kit are mainly for show and suited to the tamiya bodies?
cain.c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 05:10 PM   #2124
Tech Addict
 
Zac_with_no_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 598
Default

A couple more questions..

1. Will be upgrading to a savox steering servo and just curious if there are any ways NOT to need to grind down the tab when installing? I would like to use it in other cars if possible..


2. How do I properly clean, re-build, and prep a ball diff for racing? Any tips on how to clean it? What cleaners/greases to use?

I've never cleaned or re-built it and when I built it the first time I never held on wheel while throttling or any kind of stuff like that. How do I know if it's built good?
__________________
TA05v.II
Tamiya M-05
SC10 Brushless RTR
Zac_with_no_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 07:37 PM   #2125
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,031
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zac_with_no_K View Post
A couple more questions..

1. Will be upgrading to a savox steering servo and just curious if there are any ways NOT to need to grind down the tab when installing? I would like to use it in other cars if possible..


2. How do I properly clean, re-build, and prep a ball diff for racing? Any tips on how to clean it? What cleaners/greases to use?

I've never cleaned or re-built it and when I built it the first time I never held on wheel while throttling or any kind of stuff like that. How do I know if it's built good?
1. Not that I know of, but I wouldn't worry too much about it, I use my servos in a number of different cars(including offroad), & I haven't had any problems with my servos despite being missing half a tab.


2. And for this, I suggest you check these videos out( http://www.teamtrf.com/index.php/media/trf-videos ), they're all very good, & thesecond one with Jilles Groskamp specifically covers rebuilding diffs. I do all my diffs that way, & it works beautifully.

__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 10:17 PM   #2126
Tech Addict
 
Zac_with_no_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizzbob View Post
1. Not that I know of, but I wouldn't worry too much about it, I use my servos in a number of different cars(including offroad), & I haven't had any problems with my servos despite being missing half a tab.


2. And for this, I suggest you check these videos out( http://www.teamtrf.com/index.php/media/trf-videos ), they're all very good, & thesecond one with Jilles Groskamp specifically covers rebuilding diffs. I do all my diffs that way, & it works beautifully.

Thank you!
__________________
TA05v.II
Tamiya M-05
SC10 Brushless RTR
Zac_with_no_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 03:09 PM   #2127
Tech Master
 
???E-Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Owensboro,Ky
Posts: 1,743
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

One question I have dogbones in my car. But I also have a LCD kit.
What would be the difference if I changed them?
I dont have CVD's just LCD's. Maybe I could just install them in the front,
and leave the rears alone...
__________________
Novak, Viper, LRP
4wd Slash Platinum,4WD SC10,Stock Slash Latemodel Oval,Losi Slider,E-firestorm Bomber, Team Terribles,www.rkhobbies.com,GOLFLAND USA
???E-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 05:30 AM   #2128
Tech Adept
 
Oortael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Munich, Germany
Posts: 172
Default

Hi,

what is a good start for gearing of an Corally Red 17.5T motor with the 70 48dp spur which was supplied with the kit.

The track I race has many hairpin bends and long straigths.

Regards
Oortael

Edit:

I have another question, too.

I messured following weights on each tire with 4 small scales:

rear left: 435g
rear rigth: 224g
front left: 381g
front rigth: 239g

IMHO it would be best to have the left and the rigth hand side of the car balanced at the same weight.

Could the car be tweaked somewhere?

What are the best ways to balance the weight of the car? What relation (front to left) is common?

regards
Oortael

Last edited by Oortael; 06-16-2012 at 11:38 AM.
Oortael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:01 PM   #2129
Tech Master
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, I rebuilt my front diff today and I think I did something goofy when I put it back together. On the passenger side front (for lack of a better term) there isn't enough room to fit the dogbone back in once reassembled, and on the front drivers side, there is way too much room for the dogbone...and it slips out. I think I just have to flip the diff over to the other side inside the front gearbox right?
__________________
I race at www.mncarpetoval.com !
cdwilliams1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2012, 10:42 PM   #2130
Tech Addict
 
Zac_with_no_K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Auburn, WA
Posts: 598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdwilliams1 View Post
Hey guys, I rebuilt my front diff today and I think I did something goofy when I put it back together. On the passenger side front (for lack of a better term) there isn't enough room to fit the dogbone back in once reassembled, and on the front drivers side, there is way too much room for the dogbone...and it slips out. I think I just have to flip the diff over to the other side inside the front gearbox right?
Yeah, you have to flip it. I don't remember exactly what point, but in the manual it shows an arrow that's easy to miss in one of the steps during the diff build.

I made the same mistake when I built mine!
__________________
TA05v.II
Tamiya M-05
SC10 Brushless RTR
Zac_with_no_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32165 10-24-2016 09:33 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:47 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net