R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-23-2012, 01:18 AM   #2011
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 636
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toast. View Post
Just to make sure - you're saying to get a V2 instead of a TA05 and trying to convert it to a V2.

Thanks - im basing my info off of a "Best 1/10 Electric Plastic Chassis Touring Car" so want to make sure i start with the right car - thanks!
yes get the v2 kit. the supports in the chassis plate are different. also the motor and mid shaft or center shaft if you wanna call it that are lower in the chassis
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_evo View Post
Hey guys

I have been rebuilding my Ver.2 follwoing the manaul everything seems fine unitl i put the motor in.
Once i put the motor in everything seems tight. Before i could move the motor&diffs by pulling on one of the belts, now it seems alot harder just doesn't want to move without some force. Without the motor its quite free and smooth.

Both spur & pinion are worn but still useable and i have left enough clearence for the gears too
Wasn't like this before i took it apart

What will be a good setting for the belt tension ?? as i think it maybe to tight
Motor used is a Ezrun 5.5T
yes your diffs are very tight if it binds up like that. back them off at least 3 or 4 spots..check the build up manual, it should tell you where to put them as a baseline setting. ive dont the same thing and i actually damaged my motor and my front belt...100 bucks later it was working again..you want them as loose as possible without them jumping when you take off at the start or during heavy breaking...shoot me a pm if you need help
__________________
Andy Laaaaaaaaaachance
evader-fan-69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2012, 06:25 AM   #2012
Tech Master
 
cdwilliams1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Plymouth, MN
Posts: 1,055
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toast. View Post
Im new to the Tamiya TA-05 V2 crowd and I've been going through lots of posts trying to get up to speed. Bought a used TA05 V2 with a Novak Dually ESC (no reverse) and for my current driving skills i definitely need reverse.

I've been looking at a Hobbywing eZRun 60A and a Mamba Max ESC 5700 or 7700.

Please tell me if im looking at the right ESC's

If you're going to run stock class sedan, I'd get something like this:

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tor-Combo-175T

or

http://www.shopatron.com/products/pr...6.0.0.0?pp=10&

Either way, you'd be getting a good inexpensive start in that class.
__________________
I race at www.mncarpetoval.com !
cdwilliams1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:06 PM   #2013
Tech Master
 
CW22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,646
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default TRF shock

Hi guys, I need a suggestion about the Tamiya TRF shock.
Does it make a lot different to replace the shock with the TRF shock, compare with the stock Tamiya plastic shock that come with the TA05 V2?
Please advise me, thank you.

Last edited by CW22; 03-25-2012 at 08:41 PM.
CW22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:36 AM   #2014
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 87
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

TRF shocks are way better than the plastic stock ones. Can instantly feel that its better
alex_evo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 08:46 AM   #2015
Tech Master
 
CW22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,646
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default TRF shock or 3 Racing shocks?

Thanks, that's is true considering the price is $60. Any body have use the 3 racing shock?
That is only $25 a sets of 4, I just wondering how's the quality of that 3Racing shocks? Can anybody have a comment?
Thank you.
CW22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 08:11 AM   #2016
Tech Regular
 
toast.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I'm new to the TA-05 v2 and need some help. My car only seems to go if I push it, once it stop it wont move forward any more although the steering still works.

Do I need a new ESC, if so please recommend one?

Thanks!
__________________
Small Tires:TA05 v2, M05-Pro, TT01, RC18's
Big Tires: SCT410, SSC "Slash" LCG, Mugen MBX6 eco SCT, RB5, RB6
toast. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 08:21 AM   #2017
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toast. View Post
I'm new to the TA-05 v2 and need some help. My car only seems to go if I push it, once it stop it wont move forward any more although the steering still works.

Do I need a new ESC, if so please recommend one?

Thanks!
What motor are you running? if brushed, like a silver can or 27t, that usually mean you have a hung brush. If brushless, try changing your sensor cable.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 08:22 AM   #2018
Tech Master
 
kwkride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,110
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toast. View Post
I'm new to the TA-05 v2 and need some help. My car only seems to go if I push it, once it stop it wont move forward any more although the steering still works.

Do I need a new ESC, if so please recommend one?
What motor and ESC do you have in it right now?
__________________
Jim
-

"If God had meant for us to drive through the front wheels, he never would have allowed us to invent the ring & pinion"
kwkride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 08:51 AM   #2019
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,967
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeXray View Post
What motor are you running? if brushed, like a silver can or 27t, that usually mean you have a hung brush. If brushless, try changing your sensor cable.
I agree - if you are using a brushless motor, check the sensor cable...I had the happen to me before, and was fixed by replacing the sensor cable
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:40 AM   #2020
Tech Regular
 
toast.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

The motor is Trinity Cobalt, not sure if motor is brushless but i doubt it.
Dually novak esc.

Is this old tech, should i replace them.
I checked the wiring and it looks fine but ill keep looking.

Thanks for great quick feedback.
__________________
Small Tires:TA05 v2, M05-Pro, TT01, RC18's
Big Tires: SCT410, SSC "Slash" LCG, Mugen MBX6 eco SCT, RB5, RB6
toast. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 09:57 AM   #2021
Tech Champion
 
MikeXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 5,749
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toast. View Post
The motor is Trinity Cobalt, not sure if motor is brushless but i doubt it.
Dually novak esc.

Is this old tech, should i replace them.
I checked the wiring and it looks fine but ill keep looking.

Thanks for great quick feedback.
Yes that is brushed, the hood will look like this:

first try pulling on the wires that go to the brushes and see if they move freely, you can also remove the spring and see if they are worn to nothing, when they get about 1/4 of the size pictured the springs have trouble pushing them hard enough to make contact with the comm.
__________________
Mike L. Awesomatixusa.com | TQWire.com | Islandraceway.com |JacksonRCracing.com | Horsham RC | Sweepracingusa.com
MikeXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:58 PM   #2022
Tech Regular
 
toast.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: So Cal
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Took the engine out resodered wires but still no luck.
Any recommendations for new brushless engine and esc combo?
I rather get a nice one and spend a little money then buy a cheap one and have to replace it shortly. I plan on Racing not drifting.
__________________
Small Tires:TA05 v2, M05-Pro, TT01, RC18's
Big Tires: SCT410, SSC "Slash" LCG, Mugen MBX6 eco SCT, RB5, RB6

Last edited by toast.; 04-04-2012 at 07:14 PM.
toast. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:20 AM   #2023
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,967
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by toast. View Post
Took the engine out resodered wires but still no luck.
Any recommendations for new brushless engine and esc combo?
I rather get a nice one and spend a little money then buy a cheap one and have to replace it shortly. I plan on Racing not drifting.
depending on whether your track runs blinky or boosted classes - this one would be a real nice setup for blinky 17.5

http://www.teamnovak.com/products/br...ive/index.html

for a boosted class, can't go wrong with the Tekin RS

blinky = no dynamic timing in the speedo, all timing is on the motor
boosted = dynamic timing in the speedo

a lot of tracks run a blinky 17.5 class, but you'd need to see what your local track actually does
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:31 AM   #2024
Tech Elite
 
kewdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sneederville, USA
Posts: 3,292
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_evo View Post
TRF shocks are way better than the plastic stock ones. Can instantly feel that its better
Can you tune the plastic shocks with pistons?
__________________
Quinn Moon

Trinity / Epic / Revtech / VBC Racing USA / Mugen Seiki / Hot Race Tyres / SkyRocket Racing / SUPAFAST RC
kewdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:34 AM   #2025
Tech Champion
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 6,967
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to k_bojar Send a message via AIM to k_bojar
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kewdawg View Post
Can you tune the plastic shocks with pistons?
quinn moon??? you're still around??

yes, the plastic shocks can still be tuned with pistons...All of tamiya shocks have always been said to be outstandings - you just get the bling factor with the TRF (plus threaded adjusted, super smooth inners)...but anything (aside from the threaded adjusters) for the TRF shocks can be added to the plastic body shocks...just make sure they are the black plastic, not the see thru stuff - that plastic is much more brittle
__________________
Bodies By Bean | Team Belly
k_bojar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:49 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net