R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2011, 04:57 PM   #1696
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=spool+vs.+d...rctech.net&l=1

__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 05:06 PM   #1697
Tech Master
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,279
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I use a spool in my TC (17.5 unboosted) and it works great for my driving style.

However a friend was driving a spool almost all year, switched to a diff and gained massive time. So it's all based on your driving style.

If you already have two diffs, then try it out and compare.

Although I believe that a spool is better for boosted and diff is better for unboosted in general.
__________________
--Blaine--
VBC D07, VBC D08
Mugen MBX 7, Mugen MBX 7 Eco,Mugen MBX 7r, Mugen MBX 7r Eco
www.rcgears.net, www.carcar.ca, www.karz.ca
Akhor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2011, 08:57 PM   #1698
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,067
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by eComet View Post
Instead of posting a new thread every now and then, please use the search to find the thread you are looking for. You will not get much feedback if the answer has been discussed already.

Search! My friend.
Indeed, which is why I merged his last 2 threads to the original TA05v.2 one, please use the search function first, it can help you avoid a lot of frustration. Oh, & on the spool question, I do prefer it myself, have one in both my TA05v.2 & 416WE....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 07:39 AM   #1699
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

im confused if the ta05 v2r has the front shocks on an angle and is a better set up then why does the 417 have straighht up and down shocks.
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 08:08 PM   #1700
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,067
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
im confused if the ta05 v2r has the front shocks on an angle and is a better set up then why does the 417 have straighht up and down shocks.
No one ever said the laydown shock setup is better, it's mainly there to enable the use of ultra-low nose bodies, like Tamiya's newer NSX & HSV-010(& a number of others they make). but that being said, I don't think either way is "better" than the other, just a little different...
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:08 AM   #1701
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 3,986
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Straight up shocks might be easier to tune. Easier to change the shock angles.

Laydown shocks you need to play with installing shims, not so easy. But then you can mount low nose bodies.
__________________
www.rccartips.com
www.f1rccars.com
www.f1rcclub.com
http://www.youtube.com/user/rccartips/
http://www.facebook.com/RCCarTipsFan
rccartips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 07:20 AM   #1702
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,619
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks i was a bit confused because the tamiya ads for that car make it sound like the ifs is new and better technology and theres nothing better then in there top of the line racer they put up and down shocks so kinda figured there full of it over there at tamiya
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 09:09 AM   #1703
Tech Regular
 
Chrissy C's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: U.k (Essex)
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How are people finding the battery mounting system on the Exotec chassis? Any flying LiPo's? Do they offer parts so that tape can be used?

Haven't used a cell strap for a long time and have gotten fond of the old tape

Cheers
Chrissy C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 12:02 PM   #1704
Super Moderator
 
charlie_b's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Anaheim
Posts: 9,694
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to charlie_b Send a message via MSN to charlie_b Send a message via Yahoo to charlie_b
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrissy C View Post
How are people finding the battery mounting system on the Exotec chassis? Any flying LiPo's? Do they offer parts so that tape can be used?

Haven't used a cell strap for a long time and have gotten fond of the old tape

Cheers
If it is the same as the TC chassis, it actually mounts very well with tape.

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
kinda figured there full of it over there at tamiya
THe technology isn't anything new, but to Tamiya's credit, it works VERY well. I suggest driving one and judge for yourself if it works or not.
__________________
''Many of life's failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up.''-- Thomas Alva Edison
CAL RACEWAY:CAL RACEWAY
GT10 SERIES:GT10 SERIES
CFX Paintworks:="https://www.facebook.com/CFXPaintworks?fref=ts
|HITEC|PARMA|PROTEKRC|SWEEP|IWATA|RPM|AMAIN|CREATE X/WICKED/AUTOAIR PAINTS|TEAMASSOCIATED|REEDY
charlie_b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:46 PM   #1705
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chrissy C View Post
How are people finding the battery mounting system on the Exotec chassis? Any flying LiPo's? Do they offer parts so that tape can be used?

Haven't used a cell strap for a long time and have gotten fond of the old tape

Cheers
haven't had any issues with the strap so far. been using it for a bit now.
platypus_s13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:38 PM   #1706
Tech Regular
 
bencason's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Almost Western Maryland
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I just completed the build of a TA05 V2 and was looking at the blank setup sheet. I can see what to put in for the spots where I identify the location of shock attachments or other such settings.

How do I identify the things like caster, toe-in/out, and camber?

Tamiya identifies areas of adjustment and gives you parts to make adjustment in some cases but doesn't tell you what the kit standard starting point is. I don't have the setup tools yet so I can't measure them unless I get someone at my LHS track to let me use their setup tools. These tools are on my list of things to buy "real soon now".

Is there a list somewhere that tells you this, assuming you build strictly according to the manual?

I've searched for this info but only find setups for various tracks/races but nothing that says "this is your starting point for a standard build". I'd like to know this info before I start changing things when I get the spec tires & body.

Ben
__________________
The RC cars are in storage but not forgotten
One of these days, I'll be back to racing... somewhere
bencason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 07:03 AM   #1707
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bencason View Post
I just completed the build of a TA05 V2 and was looking at the blank setup sheet. I can see what to put in for the spots where I identify the location of shock attachments or other such settings.

How do I identify the things like caster, toe-in/out, and camber?

Tamiya identifies areas of adjustment and gives you parts to make adjustment in some cases but doesn't tell you what the kit standard starting point is. I don't have the setup tools yet so I can't measure them unless I get someone at my LHS track to let me use their setup tools. These tools are on my list of things to buy "real soon now".

Is there a list somewhere that tells you this, assuming you build strictly according to the manual?

I've searched for this info but only find setups for various tracks/races but nothing that says "this is your starting point for a standard build". I'd like to know this info before I start changing things when I get the spec tires & body.

Ben
Caster on the TA05* is fixed, based on the front "C". The standard caster is 4 degrees (the blocks are marked left/right). Lacking the measurement tools, I would recommend starting with the kit recommendations for turnbuckle lengths. You can then use the measurements from your calipers as the figure you enter on the setup sheet. It won't tell you the degree of angle "toe" & "camber" but it will give you a setting you can return to until you can get the proper gauges.

As for tools, caliper, droop/down stop gauge, camber gauge, and ride height gauge would be very useful and can take you a long way. Consider, Integy, and Eagle gauges for lower cost alternatives to Hudy. However, "high quality" tools will hold their value and last a long time.
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 07:54 AM   #1708
Tech Regular
 
bencason's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Almost Western Maryland
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geppetto View Post
Caster on the TA05* is fixed, based on the front "C". The standard caster is 4 degrees (the blocks are marked left/right). Lacking the measurement tools, I would recommend starting with the kit recommendations for turnbuckle lengths. You can then use the measurements from your calipers as the figure you enter on the setup sheet. It won't tell you the degree of angle "toe" & "camber" but it will give you a setting you can return to until you can get the proper gauges.

As for tools, caliper, droop/down stop gauge, camber gauge, and ride height gauge would be very useful and can take you a long way. Consider, Integy, and Eagle gauges for lower cost alternatives to Hudy. However, "high quality" tools will hold their value and last a long time.
Thanks Larry. I didn't think of listing the turnbuckle lengths. I built them carefully to the lengths specified in the manual so that is easy to record. I do have a ride height gauge & set of calipers. Somewhere I think I may have a camber gauge, from the distant past, if I can find it and it is reasonably accurate. The rest of the tools will come as time and money allow.

It does surprise me a little that Tamiya doesn't provide the settings so that you have an idea where you are starting from, assuming you build to instruction.
__________________
The RC cars are in storage but not forgotten
One of these days, I'll be back to racing... somewhere
bencason is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 08:17 AM   #1709
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: MD
Posts: 1,499
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bencason View Post
It does surprise me a little that Tamiya doesn't provide the settings so that you have an idea where you are starting from, assuming you build to instruction.
My guess is that the majority of RC kits sold by Tamiya are not to the die-hard racer. Adding specs like camber, toe, caster and ride height would further complicate the instructions to the kid looking to buy a neat "toy".
Geppetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 09:22 AM   #1710
Tech Regular
 
bencason's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Almost Western Maryland
Posts: 392
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geppetto View Post
My guess is that the majority of RC kits sold by Tamiya are not to the die-hard racer. Adding specs like camber, toe, caster and ride height would further complicate the instructions to the kid looking to buy a neat "toy".
I can see that on the TT01 [not much to "tune" there] but the TA05 is a semi-serious TC [based on reading RC Tech I see some people have been quite successful with it in club races against high-end TCs]. I was looking at the TA05 V2 manual and see, in the section devoted to Options, they list the base kit settings as they describe the options. So between your suggestion & the info I missed [I must have been reading with my eyes closed], I think I can hit most of the settings I want to record.
__________________
The RC cars are in storage but not forgotten
One of these days, I'll be back to racing... somewhere

Last edited by bencason; 03-29-2011 at 03:46 PM.
bencason is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric Touring / On-Road RC Screaming Wind Manila Racers 32167 05-02-2017 10:20 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:29 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net