R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 03-21-2011, 03:20 PM   #1681
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Quote:
Originally Posted by digitrc View Post
Don't worry - you're not the first person to miss the "twist the diff" arrow!

It's a bit of a modern Tamiya trademark. Did it myself on my Durga build - and I have been building ball diffs almost non-stop for the past 20 years so have no excuses!

The only other curiousity in a TA-05 build is modifying the servo case. Apart from that it should all fall together.
Well, it is nice to know that I am not alone in missing the "twist the diff" arrow. Fixing the other diff turned out to be quite painless. I guess the experience working on diffs over the weekend was a good thing.

Two questions, if I may:

1) I vaguely remember how to tighten a pan car diff, any difference in how to check tightness on a TC diff?

2) Any suggestions on building the shocks?
I plan to use AE silicon shock oil, 60wt front & 40 wt rear, with 2 hole pistons as a starting point. Blue springs in the front, yellow in the rear. This combo worked in a prior spec class.

My local track has a very high grip, indoor, asphalt surface and is about 100x48. The track layout is changed every 4-6 weeks and is usually pretty technical with one longish straight.
Old 03-21-2011, 03:54 PM   #1682
Tech Apprentice

Quote:
Originally Posted by bencason View Post
Well, it is nice to know that I am not alone in missing the "twist the diff" arrow. Fixing the other diff turned out to be quite painless. I guess the experience working on diffs over the weekend was a good thing.

Two questions, if I may:

1) I vaguely remember how to tighten a pan car diff, any difference in how to check tightness on a TC diff?

I plan to use AE silicon shock oil, 60wt front & 40 wt rear, with 2 hole pistons as a starting point. Blue springs in the front, yellow in the rear. This combo worked in a prior spec class.