R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2012, 08:11 AM   #11806
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 8
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks man. I am running on asphalt. Will try this setup.
driffydre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:28 AM   #11807
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,808
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

There is a way to use Nitro TC3 (NTC3) suspension with an electric TC3, but you will need to get an aftermarket chassis. Xtreme Racing has a conversion chassis that will accept NTC3 suspension and NTC3 steering rack. This would allow you to run a 200mm electic TC3 and you would gain the durability of the NTC3 suspension. I'm not sure if they still produce this chassis but here is a link that shows the NTC3 parts mounted to their chassis.

Xtreme Racing TC3 conversion chassis - (http://www.xtremercracing.com/TC3_Ca...iber_Parts.cfm).

----------

Personally I own their oval conversion chassis and was very pleased with the product. The best part of their TC3 conversion chassis is the motor mount. It is similar to the FTTC4 motor mount which makes it easier to run small spurs/big pinions for brushless motor.
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 11:36 AM   #11808
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyRC_Racer View Post
There is a way to use Nitro TC3 (NTC3) suspension with an electric TC3, but you will need to get an aftermarket chassis. Xtreme Racing has a conversion chassis that will accept NTC3 suspension and NTC3 steering rack. This would allow you to run a 200mm electic TC3 and you would gain the durability of the NTC3 suspension. I'm not sure if they still produce this chassis but here is a link that shows the NTC3 parts mounted to their chassis.

Xtreme Racing TC3 conversion chassis - (http://www.xtremercracing.com/TC3_Ca...iber_Parts.cfm).

----------

Personally I own their oval conversion chassis and was very pleased with the product. The best part of their TC3 conversion chassis is the motor mount. It is similar to the FTTC4 motor mount which makes it easier to run small spurs/big pinions for brushless motor.
That looks cool but $220 for a chassis & motor mount is just crazy
Rojna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 12:06 PM   #11809
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,808
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I would agree that the price is a bit high, but you get a few more items listed below. Their price was comparible with the other aftermarket TC3 chassis at the time considering what you got.

(copied from the Xtreme Racing website)
Included with kit

1 - Carbon Fiber Bottom Plate
2 - Carbon Fiber Side Braces (with standoffs)
1 - Carbon Fiber Center Stiffener (with standoffs)
1 - Aluminum Motor Mount
Fasteners for kit

*** Note ***

The chassis is drilled for both the electric and nitro suspension set ups.
You will need to purchase the nitro suspension separately from the electric suspension.

-------------
Check out the cost of the other TC3 conversion chassis (most are probably discontinued)

IRS TC3 upgrade chassis (http://www.teamirsrc.com/tc3.html)
Penguin R/C (http://www.penguinrc.com/products/as.../p5500tc3.html)
Megatech (http://www.megatech.com/associatedtc3.html)

I know I'm missing one company, but the ones above could only use the electric suspension.

Diggity Designs shaft drive car is really its own design that borrows some of the drive train components from a TC3. (http://www.diggitydesigns.com/D3_OnRoad_Products.html)
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2012, 12:32 PM   #11810
Tech Master
 
beemerfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,602
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

That link to the IRS chassis is out-of-date. They actually still have 1 in stock (according to the website) on the close-out page for $90. It's just the chassis and motor mount and doesn't include the side braces. Also, it won't get you any closer to 200mm. Post is just an FYI...

http://teamirsrc.com/index.php?main_...roducts_id=237
beemerfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 03:19 PM   #11811
Tech Adept
 
Dread Pirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: OC/RC Raceway
Posts: 241
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default TC3 at the 2012 IIC

I ran a TC3 at the 2012 IIC last week; I highly recommend this race!

I ran my daughters 12 year old TC3 RTR (only upgraded with bearings). The car ran great on the carpet. Last year I ran it in the Amateur class and almost put it in the A. This year I ran it in the Spec GT class and was leading in the B before I broke. My bad, the car was great.

The Spec GT class was handout Novak Club ESC & Motor and a 4.5 gear ratio, fixed motor timing, Jaco Blue tires, and a choice of about 10 bodies. The car was rolling very, very efficiently and I had speed on both the straight and infield on most of the cars.
The old car can still beat those carbon fiber and titanium beauties! :-)
Attached Thumbnails
TC3 Forum-iic-tc3.jpg  
__________________
"We face each other as God intended. Sportsman-like. No tricks, skill against skill alone." -Fezzik
Dread Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 07:56 PM   #11812
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St Albert AB. CA
Posts: 1,289
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Hey, Thanks for posting those web sites for after market TC3 chassis....I now have an IRS grphite TC3. Very nice quality IRS chassis.

TJ
THEBIGBULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 12:11 AM   #11813
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4
Questions??

Hi guys. I have an associated tc3 that I recently aquired. I have never had any associated rc cars before.

My question is, wnat is the most powerful motor the tc3 can handle, what gearing?
I got it and we are starting a VTA class at our local track. We are not using the limited motor rule though. Our track owner said any motor because he doesn't want to put up with people accusing someone of cheating or any other BS. So, I currently have a Castle 3800kv 4pole motor, not sure on the spur gear, and a 24t pinion. Also using a 6000mah 65c turnigy nano tech battery.
Would a Castle 6900kv motor be too much for the diffs to handle?
Any help would be appreciated!
NGB187 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 07:36 AM   #11814
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 855
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

NGB - 6900kv is a ton of power, that's in the 4.5-5.5 range I think. It's a rediculous amount of power, especially for VTA. Most VTA series run a 17.5(2250kv) or 21.5(1850kv), a lot less power. The VTA tires will simply spin with that much power too I'd bet. You may get into a sort of vibration or 'wobble' issue as well with the shaft drive of the TC3, if the diffs survive - it was never designed to run that kind of power. You'll probably be better off with a 13.5, and you can always boost that if you want more. You'll want to figure out your gearing based on the motor wind you choose.

I run 17.5 blinky, so I'm running a 75T spur & a 46T-53T pinions (all 64P).
__________________
Daragh Slowey
22-4 2.0/R10/Orion6.5/S6040/Nosram shorty
B5M/R10/LRP8.5/1258TGBlk/Nosram shorty
EB48SL/RX8/TekinT8i/Hitec7599/SMC4500(4S)
Grasshopper/Tekin FX/Twister 27T/FutabaS9551/Speed power
HeavyD99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:02 PM   #11815
Tech Champion
 
DARKSIDE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Nashville-Memphis
Posts: 8,130
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NGB187 View Post
Hi guys. I have an associated tc3 that I recently aquired. I have never had any associated rc cars before.

My question is, wnat is the most powerful motor the tc3 can handle, what gearing?
I got it and we are starting a VTA class at our local track. We are not using the limited motor rule though. Our track owner said any motor because he doesn't want to put up with people accusing someone of cheating or any other BS. So, I currently have a Castle 3800kv 4pole motor, not sure on the spur gear, and a 24t pinion. Also using a 6000mah 65c turnigy nano tech battery.
Would a Castle 6900kv motor be too much for the diffs to handle?
Any help would be appreciated!
so you are running open motors in VTA?...
__________________
Myron "BATTMAN" Kinnard
Team Associated/Reedy Powered/PROTOform
Final On-Road Race
Summit RC Raceway June 17th
Ft. Wayne IN
DARKSIDE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:18 PM   #11816
Tech Elite
 
303slowdown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Rapid City SD.
Posts: 2,275
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

in my experience the vta tires can really only handle a 13.5 before the cars roll off the track in the corners, im sure someone will have a story of running a 5.5 and say it worked great but ive tried 10.5 and even 13.5 boosted and it didnt work well.
__________________
Ryan Borgheiinck
303slowdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:55 PM   #11817
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: northern california
Posts: 876
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

There is definitely a reason why VTA runs 25.5. It works. You should try to convince your track race director to follow the USVTA rules as they are written, you will be a lot more successful.
__________________
I race at:
SpeedWorld Raceway
Roseville / Sacramento, California
VTA, 1/10 nitro, touring, USGT, F1, and more!
www.speedworldraceway.com
slashdriver is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:28 PM   #11818
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Northern Virginia, USA
Posts: 499
Default

Yeah there's no reason to run VTA without the motor rules. It just won't work. Someone convinced a few people to run 13.5 VTA at my track last spring. It lasted 2 weekends.
Stregone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 05:57 PM   #11819
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: St Albert AB. CA
Posts: 1,289
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

My TC3 manual lists three different steering blocks 0, 2, and 4 degree, How do you tell the difference. I can not see any identifying marks on the the ones I have. !!!!!

TJ
THEBIGBULL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2012, 07:24 PM   #11820
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 855
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by THEBIGBULL View Post
My TC3 manual lists three different steering blocks 0, 2, and 4 degree, How do you tell the difference. I can not see any identifying marks on the the ones I have. !!!!!

TJ
TJ - the TC3 came stock with zero deg. blocks. You would need to mount and compare them to each other to tell which is which - I ordered 4 deg blocks and they had a "4L" and "4R" on them but that wore off with just handling them.
__________________
Daragh Slowey
22-4 2.0/R10/Orion6.5/S6040/Nosram shorty
B5M/R10/LRP8.5/1258TGBlk/Nosram shorty
EB48SL/RX8/TekinT8i/Hitec7599/SMC4500(4S)
Grasshopper/Tekin FX/Twister 27T/FutabaS9551/Speed power
HeavyD99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 06:59 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net