R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-22-2009, 06:35 AM   #11296
Tech Addict
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Thanks much Indy. Be picking up a few things I guess.
__________________
SC10 4X4 Short Course
SC10 FT 2WD Short Course; FT B4.1 +8mm Buggy
FT T4 Dirt Oval
Silva Concepts R50 Oval
Custom Works Dominator; FT TC3 Trans Am
t4mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:39 AM   #11297
Tech Master
 
Drusillus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Drusillus Send a message via MSN to Drusillus Send a message via Skype™ to Drusillus
Default

Searched but didn't find what I was looking for. this may seem like a dumb questions so I apologize in advance.

I have a TC3 that I havent really run yet.. I ordered an Associated sedan body online (new) that said was for a TC3, but when it arrived it said TC4 and has all the holes pre-made.

The back holes are a couple inches set further back then the body mounts on the car.

Besides cutting new holes (Which isn't a big deal, I would just rather not), what can I do to make this line up? Can I use a TC4 shock-tower/body mount?
Drusillus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:37 PM   #11298
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Dunno about your lining up issues really. Best way to do it, like any other TC racer, is line it up and ream some new holes in the right position.

anyways, i just got my Tc3 back from a friend who borrowed it and plan on running RCGT with it again. Gonna be hitting up medium to high traction indoor and outdoor tracks and was looking at Barry Baker's 02 ROAR paved onroad nats setup. Has anyone tried that setup?
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 12:38 PM   #11299
Tech Master
 
Drusillus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Manitowoc, WI
Posts: 1,174
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Drusillus Send a message via MSN to Drusillus Send a message via Skype™ to Drusillus
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Syber Serulean View Post
Dunno about your lining up issues really. Best way to do it, like any other TC racer, is line it up and ream some new holes in the right position.
Yar, that's what I will probably do. Just wish the damn thing came undrilled. The rear holes I'll have to drill are right on the back window

Bad Associated... Bad!
Drusillus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 05:46 AM   #11300
Tech Addict
 
phildoggg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N.C.
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drusillus View Post
Searched but didn't find what I was looking for. this may seem like a dumb questions so I apologize in advance.

I have a TC3 that I havent really run yet.. I ordered an Associated sedan body online (new) that said was for a TC3, but when it arrived it said TC4 and has all the holes pre-made.

The back holes are a couple inches set further back then the body mounts on the car.

Besides cutting new holes (Which isn't a big deal, I would just rather not), what can I do to make this line up? Can I use a TC4 shock-tower/body mount?
I would get a tc4 shock tower. the mounts will bolt up to it fine. I broke my tc4 tower and had to run a tc3 tower till my new one got in. The only differance was had to make new holes closer in..
phil
phildoggg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 11:06 AM   #11301
Tech Regular
 
turbomeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 255
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

so you guys prefer the spool to a one way in the front?, also has anyone had a good experiance with the digity desghins conversion , i have three tc3s i run at a local carpet track , a stock chassis unit a hardcore titanium conversion and another stock i want to convert to the diggity unit but woul like some feed back on it . i love my tc3s
turbomeyers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 07:31 AM   #11302
Tech Addict
 
wiscnitro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Reedsburg,WI
Posts: 606
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbomeyers View Post
so you guys prefer the spool to a one way in the front?, also has anyone had a good experiance with the digity desghins conversion , i have three tc3s i run at a local carpet track , a stock chassis unit a hardcore titanium conversion and another stock i want to convert to the diggity unit but woul like some feed back on it . i love my tc3s
I went from a Diff to a home made spool. I don't notice much of a diffrence going into the corners and a little better comming off but not a HUGE diffrence. Its also nice to not have 2 diffs to wory about
__________________
Hold my beer and watch this! :)
wiscnitro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 09:16 AM   #11303
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Jersey -- Exit 4
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Excess play up front

I run a TC3 in VTA and have a lot of slop in the front end. It seems that there's a little play in everything and it just adds up until the camber and toe can only be set with 2 accuracy. It has the stock steering rack.

I have another TC3 that I run in RCGT with 200mm arms and the NTC3 steering conversion. It seems to have less slop, but only part of that I can attribute to the steering mod.

I'm thinking of replacing all the ball cups and seeing if that makes a diff.

Anybody have any good tips for tightening up the front?
jhberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2010, 09:44 AM   #11304
Tech Master
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhberger View Post
I run a TC3 in VTA and have a lot of slop in the front end. It seems that there's a little play in everything and it just adds up until the camber and toe can only be set with 2 accuracy. It has the stock steering rack.

I have another TC3 that I run in RCGT with 200mm arms and the NTC3 steering conversion. It seems to have less slop, but only part of that I can attribute to the steering mod.

I'm thinking of replacing all the ball cups and seeing if that makes a diff.

Anybody have any good tips for tightening up the front?
There's probably some slop in several spots- A-Arm mounts, caster blocks included. Maybe you can shim them, or just replace.
__________________
This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it- Psalms 118:24

World Champion Turn Marshall
BadSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 07:42 AM   #11305
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Jersey -- Exit 4
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Sloppy in front

Dug through the parts box last night and replaced almost everything in the front -- arms, caster blocks, hubs, rod ends -- and it tightened up nicely. hinge pins were straight and the hinge blocks were as good as new.

The caster block-to-hub connection is weak on the TC3. There is a lot of natural tolerance in the design that you just can't get rid of.

I usually grab TC3 suspension parts whenever I see them. I'm gonna keep that up.
jhberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 10:22 AM   #11306
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhberger View Post
Dug through the parts box last night and replaced almost everything in the front -- arms, caster blocks, hubs, rod ends -- and it tightened up nicely. hinge pins were straight and the hinge blocks were as good as new.

The caster block-to-hub connection is weak on the TC3. There is a lot of natural tolerance in the design that you just can't get rid of.

I usually grab TC3 suspension parts whenever I see them. I'm gonna keep that up.
It's almost always the steering knuckles. They get sloppy over time with regular use. The time span gets significantly shorter if you add frequent impacts. There's typically not much play between the carrier block bushings ans the steering blocks themselves tho. Associated cars are notoriously sloppy anyway, many have worked to remove the slop only to find the cars didn't work as well.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:10 PM   #11307
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: South Jersey -- Exit 4
Posts: 232
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Frequent Impacts

Quote:
Originally Posted by trerc View Post
It's almost always the steering knuckles. They get sloppy over time with regular use. The time span gets significantly shorter if you add frequent impacts.
"Frequent impacts." Now you're talking my language! I admit that crashing is part of the slop problem and I'm a repeat offender. I think your main point is well-taken -- there's a lot of natural slop in the car and it's hard to get it out without ending up with binding parts and a whole other setup challenge.

I've got a TC5 coming for RCGT and we'll see if that's any tighter.
jhberger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 03:52 PM   #11308
Tech Adept
 
Shrekito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Hemet,CA
Posts: 122
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default TC3 electronics

Good afternoon all,
Rather than search through all the 11,000 + posts Or try to search through the countless threads which I have already done. I figured I will just ask here. I bought a TC3 roller from a guy off here. Now I though I would just put my electronics from my T3 into the car and be on the road. I figured wrong. It seemed like everything was too big. And the motor dosen't fit in the saddle correctly.When I put the motor in the saddle (at least I think thats what its called) and I put the pinion gear on the end bell. The pinion gear almost comes in contact with the spur gear. Am I missing something? I looked online and it looks like amain sells micro E.S.C. and motor combos. Is that what I need to get the car running? Is there a specific servo I should be using as well? Any info is as always appreciated Thanks
__________________
"You have to race so fast that the thrill of speed,overcomes the fear of death".
Shrekito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 04:56 PM   #11309
Tech Master
 
trerc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jhberger View Post
I've got a TC5 coming for RCGT and we'll see if that's any tighter.
Not much, I have one of those too. same basic design in the trouble area, the carrier bushings are a little beefier as is the hardware. The steering blocks seem to last longer. Be sure to buy a Parma bumper for your TC5 or you can just buy a whole bunch of caster blocks.
__________________
If it smells burnt up.. it's more than likely hot.. you don't have to touch it..
trerc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2010, 08:13 PM   #11310
Tech Master
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,146
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrekito View Post
Good afternoon all,
Rather than search through all the 11,000 + posts Or try to search through the countless threads which I have already done. I figured I will just ask here. I bought a TC3 roller from a guy off here. Now I though I would just put my electronics from my T3 into the car and be on the road. I figured wrong. It seemed like everything was too big. And the motor dosen't fit in the saddle correctly.When I put the motor in the saddle (at least I think thats what its called) and I put the pinion gear on the end bell. The pinion gear almost comes in contact with the spur gear. Am I missing something? I looked online and it looks like amain sells micro E.S.C. and motor combos. Is that what I need to get the car running? Is there a specific servo I should be using as well? Any info is as always appreciated Thanks
The TC3 Was designed back in the days of larger ESC's (over1" footprint), so there should be plenty of room- although not as much as you'd find in a truck like the T3. What electronics are you using?
__________________
This is the day the Lord has made, I will rejoice and be glad in it- Psalms 118:24

World Champion Turn Marshall
BadSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:52 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0