R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-14-2009, 09:02 PM   #11281
Tech Regular
 
TonyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Its true. I haven't had any problems. I read it in one of the threads here either this thread or the about tuning a VTA car. Give me a little time and I will see if I can find it.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
That's hard to belive. I had to dremel out the bottom, just to fit a 45 tooth pinion. So, how were you able to fit a 50t pinion?
__________________
A large part of their history is made up of blood and battle. This is not something to shrink away from as a fancier of the breed. Their history should be embraced, understood, and once we have a full understanding, we can control the future.
TonyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 09:10 PM   #11282
Tech Regular
 
TonyK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 272
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just looked at my car and you are right. I did have some rubbing on the webbing but the rubbing was very minimal. Nothing that a little dremel won't fix. Thanks making me check it out a little more.




Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
That's hard to belive. I had to dremel out the bottom, just to fit a 45 tooth pinion. So, how were you able to fit a 50t pinion?
__________________
A large part of their history is made up of blood and battle. This is not something to shrink away from as a fancier of the breed. Their history should be embraced, understood, and once we have a full understanding, we can control the future.
TonyK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 06:10 AM   #11283
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TSR6 View Post
Hey guys, I saw a guy take a TC3 RTR straight from the box, onto the track. The only change he made was his Radio. It seamed to run fairly well considering it was a RTR.
i am getting into the trans am class after i get my racing pit setup conqwerd
racerguy13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 12:28 PM   #11284
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

Ran mine for the first time yesterday. It feels like a good car and tracks straight with alot of power. I was glad to see that a car designed with brushed motors in mind can handle 7700kv and LiPo. I am running on a large 1/8 nitro asphault track that is dusty with rubber tires, 40wt, blue in front and silver in rear. Ran with a diff up front but will upgrade to a steel spool asap.
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 04:21 PM   #11285
Tech Adept
 
terryh1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hello all, need help on making my tc3 make tighter turns. they changed the layout at the track. so there are alot of turns now
__________________
handle the business, before the busines handles you
terryh1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 04:31 PM   #11286
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Tell us more about the track, and your car setup. As soon as you give us that, the better we can help you dial in the car.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:00 PM   #11287
Tech Adept
 
terryh1313's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 172
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

the track is 110 x 50,my setup is novak 21,5 an novak speed control. just installed a hitech 645mg servo to replace a futba 3003, stock shocks, running VTA
__________________
handle the business, before the busines handles you
terryh1313 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:17 PM   #11288
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,447
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

if anyone is interested i have a bmi tc4 and factory team tc4 with many spares and tons of tc3 parts for sale
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 05:42 PM   #11289
Tech Elite
 
trdsupra88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Southwest
Posts: 2,531
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to trdsupra88
Default

What tc3 parts do you have and are you interested in any kinds of trades?
__________________
I cut my own hair ☆
trdsupra88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2009, 07:02 PM   #11290
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terryh1313 View Post
the track is 110 x 50,my setup is novak 21,5 an novak speed control. just installed a hitech 645mg servo to replace a futba 3003, stock shocks, running VTA
Carpet, or Asphalt? High, Med, or Low grip? Indoor, or Outdoor?

The electronics are not as important as your car's setup. What's your Droop, Camber, Toe, Caster and Ride heigth? What Springs, Shock oil, and Pistons are you running. What's the cars wheelbase, tire componde, and body? How are the shocks layed out? You running Oneway, Spool, or Diff?
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 05:18 PM   #11291
Tech Adept
 
jman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 102
Default

I have a TC3 set up for VTA racing,where are you guys mounting a personal transponder?
jman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2009, 06:46 PM   #11292
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: On a boat
Posts: 717
Trader Rating: 23 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to JATOdriver
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jman View Post
I have a TC3 set up for VTA racing,where are you guys mounting a personal transponder?
i cut out a lil bit of the foam under the bumper and mount it there, very clean cant even see mine
__________________
Hi, my name is Daniel and i have a problem, I'm addicted to R/C cars.
***TEAM TERRIBLES***
JATOdriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 08:04 PM   #11293
RHH
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 90
Default TC3

Terry,

If you can find Barry Bakers set ups on the RC10 site, you'll find some great setups that work well for stock to mod. I run a 3.5 brushless and have driven the TC3 for 10 years and it is still competetive with anything in good hands.

I suggest a spool. The car rotates and accelerates off the corners really well.
This means you can slow down enough to take a tight line around the corner and come off hard.

Good Luck.
RHH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 12:45 PM   #11294
Tech Addict
 
t4mania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 541
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Just getting back into sedan racing with my TC3. What size brushless motors & spur gears are they running in Trans Am class racing. thanks in advance. 1S or 2S lipos.
__________________
SC10 4X4 Short Course
SC10 FT 2WD Short Course; FT B4.1 +8mm Buggy
FT T4 Dirt Oval
Silva Concepts R50 Oval
Custom Works Dominator; FT TC3 Trans Am
t4mania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 01:19 PM   #11295
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,808
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

USVTA (Trans AM) rules can be found here (http://www.usvintagetransam.com/rules/index.html)

-The only legal motors for VTA are the NOVAK 21.5 SS or the NOVAK 21.5 Ballistic.
-The easiest spur gear to use is a 84 tooth 64 pitch gear. Combine that with a 50 tooth pinion and you have the fastest/max allowable FDR of 4.2. However, if you are running a newer speed control (SPX/Tekin) your FDR will probably be closer to 5.0 depending on the size of the track.
I recommend starting out with a 84/46 combo for VTA if your are runing on a small track and using a speed control without boost (GTB/Havok)
- Lipo batteries are 2s with a max MAH of 5000.
__________________
I'm currently racing VTA. Check here for rules/info: http://www.usvintagetransam.com/
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:17 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net