R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-07-2008, 11:06 AM   #11146
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

Well we are running what is called a GT2 class here.

Rubber tire, spec ratio limit, dont think we are specing the battery.

I am going to be running my XBR and 4300ss with sintered rotor.

its a carpet indoor, so going low and stiff.. I will look at some of thse setups as well. I have not raced the TC3 that much yet. I was running an MR4-tc which I loved, but without the droop screws and also I could not get any hardcase lipo to fit the mr4..

TC3 - will not have those issues.

I am going to do a plate on the bottom and also some weight in the cavity of the pack, and maybe some more on top of the hold down.

James
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 12:09 PM   #11147
Tech Regular
 
BobbyS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Washington
Posts: 251
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just a note that the older TC3's won't have droop screw holes on the front/rear arms, and/or the outer shock mounting positions. But you can buy new arms that'll update you.

I only run NiMH in my car, with a Novak Cyclone TC ESC, so I can't offer much help with how to fit LiPO's in there.
__________________
"After the third flip, I lost control............"

Last edited by BobbyS; 10-07-2008 at 04:29 PM.
BobbyS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 12:21 PM   #11148
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

ive fitted stick pack lipos (the yeah racing 3200 and orion 3400) into my Tc3 with no problems. I was running it brushed with a Cyclone TC2 speed control.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:16 PM   #11149
Tech Fanatic
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 792
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have a FDR suggestion for a 17.5 brushless? Any help would be appreciated. I need it for rubber /carpet racing.

Thanks
__________________
You can never go wrong with a Hooters Mini. But Mini Hooters are bad.
--- USVTA National Points Series Member #122 ---

customracingstickers@gmail.com - http://www.rctech.net/forum/painting-designs-graphics-photography/279695-usvta-trans-am-decals.html
CSeils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 03:40 AM   #11150
Tech Master
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 1,065
Default

I would start between 5 and 4.5.

But it's going to be difficult to find a 35 teeth pinion and a 63 teeth spur gear...

heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:23 AM   #11151
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

i use to use a 40t 48pitch pinion in my tc3 when i had a 13.5 in it :P

with the stock 72t spur.

Speedtech will take care of you...

Pinions
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...?catmainid=502

Spurs
http://www.speedtechrc.com/store/ebp...?catmainid=392

My tc3 has the xtreme racing carbon chassis so i dunno what the stock cam/motor mount setup would fit but you can easily obtain a 40t pinion and a65t spur from speedtech and that puts you at 4.06 FDR so just get a smaller pinion to into that guy's suggested 4.5-5 FDR range...
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:37 AM   #11152
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default

I have a 4300ss with sintered rotor, on the stock 72t spur.

Novak recomends a 23 or 24 tooth pinion.

How do I use the above to work out FDR again? I now need to know the internal ratio right?

james


Quote:
Originally Posted by heretic View Post
I would start between 5 and 4.5.

But it's going to be difficult to find a 35 teeth pinion and a 63 teeth spur gear...

Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 12:05 PM   #11153
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

spur divided by pinion
then multiply that result by 2.5 (the internal ratio).

or vist www.gearchart.com and use the gearchart creater to make a printout. You select your car from the dropdown list, enter your spur and pinion and select "create" and it makes a printout for you. Its really useful.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 06:15 PM   #11154
Tech Regular
 
Bikerbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 453
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to Bikerbob Send a message via MSN to Bikerbob Send a message via Yahoo to Bikerbob
Default My Tc3

This is my TC3.. Got my body fitted from from MR4-TC. We are running rubber on carpet.. Ahhh the season is here..
Attached Thumbnails
TC3 Forum-tc31.jpg   TC3 Forum-tc32.jpg   TC3 Forum-tc33.jpg  

Last edited by Bikerbob; 10-19-2008 at 06:53 PM.
Bikerbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 07:49 AM   #11155
Tech Fanatic
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 792
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

Any one have a brushless that fits?

I'm looking to put a 17.5 brushless motor into my TC3. right now, the only one that I know of that would work is the NOVAK motor. The problem I have is that the sensor plug leads going to the motor are right at the motor bulk head. Therefore, I cannot plug it in. I have been looking at motors on line, but they don't show the connector.

What do you have in yours?

Any help would be great. Thanks
__________________
You can never go wrong with a Hooters Mini. But Mini Hooters are bad.
--- USVTA National Points Series Member #122 ---

customracingstickers@gmail.com - http://www.rctech.net/forum/painting-designs-graphics-photography/279695-usvta-trans-am-decals.html
CSeils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:16 AM   #11156
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,795
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

What 17.5 are you having a problem with? Is this an example where a motor manufacturer may have overlooked that their motor may not work well in a tub based chassis?

The only suggestion I can think is to rotate the motor clockwise or counterclockwise so the sensor connector isn't blocked. However, it may make soldering the motor wires a pain or visually unappealing.

I should add that laptops use similar connectors to the sensor wires. Due to tight tolerances, they can get creative in how they cram them into a laptop. I wouldn't worry about folding them over a little, but not sure how well that would hold up over time.
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 09:22 AM   #11157
Tech Fanatic
 
CSeils's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 792
Trader Rating: 48 (100%+)
Default

A friend let me borrow his Orion motor. The leads are 180 from the solder points. There is no room to "cram" the wires.

Rotating does not work because the bulk head is to high.
__________________
You can never go wrong with a Hooters Mini. But Mini Hooters are bad.
--- USVTA National Points Series Member #122 ---

customracingstickers@gmail.com - http://www.rctech.net/forum/painting-designs-graphics-photography/279695-usvta-trans-am-decals.html
CSeils is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:19 AM   #11158
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Maybe pull the sensor cable's sheathing back a little to allow you to bend the wires a little better than try to put the sheathing back over it?

Not sure about this one.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:22 AM   #11159
Tech Master
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,795
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

If the motor looks like this one I can see why you had a problem.(http://www.teamorion.com/Products/Vo...rs/Vortex+Race)

I hate suggesting this, but your only option on the TC3 might be to cut the chassis. Not really practical though. I've had no problem with the Novak motors in my TC3 since the sensored wire is hardwired to the motor. Not suggesting Novak as a solution as there may be better 17.5 motors out there.

The only other option I can think of is an aftermarket graphite chassis for the TC3. These are getting harder to find new, but you might be able to find a good one used. You might also be able to find a BMI TC3 chassis used. I've read good things about the BMI TC3 chassis, but they've been discontinued. I also saw a IRS TC3 chassis for sale in the trade forums yesterday.

Here are links to new aftermarket TC3 chassis.
Xtreme Racing - http://www.xtremercracing.com/TC3_Ca...iber_Parts.cfm
IRS - http://www.teamirsrc.com/tc3.html

I personally own the Xtreme Racing TC3 oval chassis, which runs very well. I think the Xtreme is probably the better value due to the motor mount. It eliminates the TC3 motor cam and allows you run a much wider range of gears, which is nice for brushless. Here is a link to their motor mount:


Again not suggesting an aftermarket chassis is THE solution to this problem. However, others reading this thread may not be aware of the aftermarket chassis available for the TC3.

Last edited by IndyRC_Racer; 10-20-2008 at 10:32 AM.
IndyRC_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:29 AM   #11160
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IndyRC_Racer View Post
If the motor looks like this one I can see why you had a problem.(http://www.teamorion.com/Products/Vo...rs/Vortex+Race)

I hate suggesting this, but your only option on the TC3 might be to cut the chassis. Not really practical though. I've had no problem with the Novak motors in my TC3 since the sensored wire is hardwired to the motor. Not suggesting Novak as a solution as there may be better 17.5 motors out there.

The only other option I can think of is an aftermarket graphite chassis for the TC3. These are getting harder to find new, but you might be able to find a good one used. You might also be able to find a BMI TC3 chassis used. I've read good things about the BMI TC3 chassis, but they've been discontinued. I also saw a IRS TC3 chassis for sale in the trade forums yesterday.

Here are links to new aftermarket TC3 chassis.
Xtreme Racing - http://www.xtremercracing.com/TC3_Ca...iber_Parts.cfm
IRS - http://www.teamirsrc.com/tc3.html

I personally own the Xtreme Racing TC3 oval chassis, which runs very well. I think the Xtreme is probably the better value due to the motor mount. It eliminates the TC3 motor cam and allows you run a much wider range of gears, which is nice for brushless. Here is a photo of their motor mount:


Again not suggesting an aftermarket chassis is THEsolution to this problem. However, others reading this thread may not be aware of the aftermarket chassis available for the TC3.
Ive got the non-oval Xtreme chassis and its great, the motor mount works great as well. Penguin also makes a conversion...

http://www.penguinrc.com/products/as.../p5500tc3.html


but really, show us some pics and maybe we can help you more
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:45 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net