R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-20-2006, 09:49 PM   #10951
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default Breakage

Hi All
This may of been covered in earlier post but i looked and couldnt find
I am running a 5.5 in my TC3 There isnt a race day that doesnt pass when i am not breaking a dog bone thru the connecting pin at the axle.
I am usuing a front irs spool and composite bones. Guess this is where the trouble lies?? Would this also do the same thing with alloy front bones( thinking they would most likely twist anyways ) or would i be better going back to a ball diff. or is there other bones that canbe used???
Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated
__________________
Do you won't free Post on your items, PLEASE contact AUSTRALIA POST to confirm your eligibility and enter your code number here. Otherwise standard rates apply. Why don't people haggle or complain with o/s postage but always want local postage for free or moan like their left hand was cut-off, Come on guys Aus post do have set costs , it isn't the seller trying to rip you off.Items must be sold. All reasonable offers considered
addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2006, 03:34 PM   #10952
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

well i can tell you that the composite ones will always practicly crack with the 5.5

but the suspension also plays a roll on this

when the wheel is lifted off the ground during cornering then when the tire suddenly goes back on the ground there is a QUICK tension that was applied to the drivetrain thus breaking or twisting the dogbone

ill try the ft tc4 dogbones and if your still messing up dogbones...ill play around with the suspension

hope it helps

P.S.....NICE AVATAR
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 01:19 AM   #10953
Tech Regular
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Urvyne
Posts: 322
Default

I highley praise using the blue aluminium TC4 bones. They're actually stronger than the MIP shiney CVD's that everyone would upgrade to.

The ball diff would have much more "give" in the drivetrain, and you wouldn't have that hard impact of twist from the motor to the wheel gaining traction.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 02:32 AM   #10954
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,882
Trader Rating: 76 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the feed back

I will try the tc4 alloy bones and see what happens if not ill go back to the ball diff
__________________
Do you won't free Post on your items, PLEASE contact AUSTRALIA POST to confirm your eligibility and enter your code number here. Otherwise standard rates apply. Why don't people haggle or complain with o/s postage but always want local postage for free or moan like their left hand was cut-off, Come on guys Aus post do have set costs , it isn't the seller trying to rip you off.Items must be sold. All reasonable offers considered
addicted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2006, 07:11 PM   #10955
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by addicted
Thanks for the feed back

I will try the tc4 alloy bones and see what happens if not ill go back to the ball diff

your welcome
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2006, 01:16 AM   #10956
Tech Regular
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Urvyne
Posts: 322
Default

Make sure you're using adequate amounts of black grease in the CVD. Mine are looking a little dry, and when running the One-Way, it wears the aluminium bones pre-maturely.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 05:48 PM   #10957
Tech Elite
 
RED-LINE M03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: >>> USA <<<
Posts: 4,102
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default Bmi TC3

Can some body that has been running the BMI TC3 tell me if the older TC3 with the BMI chassis is better than the more currerent RDX's and Cyclones. I've been noticing that the older BMI TC3 have been winning a lot of races @ are local tracks. Can some on tell me why the older car is handling better than the more current cars. I know the ackerman is awesome on the TC3.

Any help would be great.
__________________
A battery pack a day keeps the stress away

🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻💪😃👍🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻🍻
RED-LINE M03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 06:25 PM   #10958
Tech Master
 
ScottyP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,202
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I can't comment on direct driving comparisons with RDX, MSX, Cyclone, T2 etc, but what I can say is that my BMI TC3 is easily a match for any of these cars in stock on asphalt.

The BMI car is beautifully balanced and easy to tune and drive. I was thinking of 'upgrading' to a FTTC4, but really can't justify it with the 'old' car running so strong!

Cheers,
Scotty P.
ScottyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 06:29 PM   #10959
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RED-LINE M03
Can some body that has been running the BMI TC3 tell me if the older TC3 with the BMI chassis is better than the more currerent RDX's and Cyclones. I've been noticing that the older BMI TC3 have been winning a lot of races @ are local tracks. Can some on tell me why the older car is handling better than the more current cars. I know the ackerman is awesome on the TC3.

Any help would be great.
all you need to win is skill and a hot setup.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 06:30 PM   #10960
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

were do you guys mount your AMB personal transponders on your TC3.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2006, 07:44 PM   #10961
Tech Elite
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,978
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trackdesigner71 Send a message via Yahoo to trackdesigner71
Default

What size are the servo mount screws for the TC3? I was wondering if I could pick up a comparable type of screw at a hardware store and use those to install my servo (with mounts) in my TC3.
trackdesigner71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 01:45 AM   #10962
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

Ive found that the standard screws strip quite easily in the servo mounts. Its better to use the same length as the original ones,but with a courser thread.

Then use some threadlock for the best result.

Just make sure you have a good set of allen drivers!
tc3team is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 02:40 AM   #10963
Tech Regular
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Urvyne
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarpetRacer93
were do you guys mount your AMB personal transponders on your TC3.
On top of the servo...



Quote:
Originally Posted by trackdesigner71
What size are the servo mount screws for the TC3? I was wondering if I could pick up a comparable type of screw at a hardware store and use those to install my servo (with mounts) in my TC3.
4-40 thread, and I believe it's 3/8 of an inch long.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2006, 04:57 AM   #10964
Tech Elite
 
RCSteve93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 4,603
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trackdesigner71
What size are the servo mount screws for the TC3? I was wondering if I could pick up a comparable type of screw at a hardware store and use those to install my servo (with mounts) in my TC3.
If you use the aluminum servo mount the servo will be rock solid.
__________________
rm -rf /windows
RCSteve93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2006, 01:56 PM   #10965
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

i am now using metric nuts for my wheel axles

well yea i like it better now cause i can bolt on any wheel i want
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:19 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net