R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-26-2006, 09:58 PM   #10921
Tech Regular
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Urvyne
Posts: 322
Default

Just out of curiosity...


Does anyone have a source of brand new Racer Kit's for cheap?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 12:02 AM   #10922
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 89
Default Need parts.....

Does anyone have any aluminum parts for the tc3 4sell????? If so PM me back please...
HPIkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 08:08 PM   #10923
Tech Addict
 
nbcaznmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 599
Send a message via AIM to nbcaznmaster
Default

OH! so thats wut those screws were fore...
nbcaznmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 09:07 PM   #10924
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbcaznmaster
OH! so thats wut those screws were fore...

LOL

you should make sure both left and right are perfectly even
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 06:47 PM   #10925
Tech Addict
 
nbcaznmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 599
Send a message via AIM to nbcaznmaster
Default

they are, but heres another problem, my shocks started to leak and then i thoguth it needed rebuild. Bought rebuild and its STEAL FREAKIGN LEAKING!! its at teh part where teh rod comes out. Its leaking form tehre!! HELP ME FIX IT!!
nbcaznmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 06:53 PM   #10926
Tech Regular
 
Michael Barch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to Michael Barch
Default

Is the bottom cap that goes on fully screwed over and "locked" on?
Michael Barch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2006, 08:41 PM   #10927
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nbcaznmaster
they are, but heres another problem, my shocks started to leak and then i thoguth it needed rebuild. Bought rebuild and its STEAL FREAKIGN LEAKING!! its at teh part where teh rod comes out. Its leaking form tehre!! HELP ME FIX IT!!

what kind of shock bodies do you have?

heres some pics of my shocks...mades from yokomo, assoiciated, and xray


http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.p...81#post2180081
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 06:37 AM   #10928
Tech Rookie
 
Brent Owen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Droop screws set the downtravel of the suspension, or chassis uptravel. They do the same thing as if you were to add or remove spacers under the shock pistons to change or limit suspension (rebound) travel, the advantage of droop screws you don't have to tear apart the shocks everytime you need to make an adjustment.

Ride height should be adjusted using the threaded shock collars or using those plastic C spacers on non-threaded shock bodies.

If you use the droop screws to set the ride height... screws in contact with the chassis, I believe what you'd have is a snappy car, basically all weight will be transfered about the chassis instantly. The suspension won't be able to rebound or absorb bumps causing the tires to lose contact with the ground. Also the car will want to push on throttle and have a lot of oversteer, rear end come around, off throttle. This might be good for a drift setup I don't know.
Brent Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 06:51 AM   #10929
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Owen
Droop screws set the downtravel of the suspension, or chassis uptravel. They do the same thing as if you were to add or remove spacers under the shock pistons to change or limit suspension (rebound) travel, the advantage of droop screws you don't have to tear apart the shocks everytime you need to make an adjustment.

Ride height should be adjusted using the threaded shock collars or using those plastic C spacers on non-threaded shock bodies.

If you use the droop screws to set the ride height... screws in contact with the chassis, I believe what you'd have is a snappy car, basically all weight will be transfered about the chassis instantly. The suspension won't be able to rebound or absorb bumps causing the tires to lose contact with the ground. Also the car will want to push on throttle and have a lot of oversteer, rear end come around, off throttle. This might be good for a drift setup I don't know.

wouldnt you have to have the car perfectly balanced in order to do that (wieght balance to the 4 wheels)...because if it wernt then the car would sag more on that side with more wieght
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 01:17 PM   #10930
Tech Regular
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Urvyne
Posts: 322
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
wouldnt you have to have the car perfectly balanced in order to do that (wieght balance to the 4 wheels)...because if it wernt then the car would sag more on that side with more wieght
If you're using the same preload spacers on left and right shocks, then yes. But a tweak station should solve the problem.

Setting the ride height with the droop screws shouldn't be done. I mean, even when I drift with a TC3, I back out the droop screws so it's like they're not there. When you use the droop screws to set ride height, you're putting an instant preload on the spring, thus making it stiffer right off the bat.

I try to explain droop such as a "one-way sway bar." The arms can go up at different times with no effect, but they're stopped at a certin level going down, making them the same and flattening the car out. (As the weight transfers to the outside tire, the inside tire would be pushed down to the ground by the spring and shock dampening. But because the droop screws prevent that from happening, the car stays more flat through the corner because the arm can't be pushed down by the spring.)

^^^I hope it's understandable... =/
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:24 PM   #10931
Tech Addict
 
nbcaznmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 599
Send a message via AIM to nbcaznmaster
Default

i got threadd shock, its leaking through the bottom part. Help me solve this. My old tc3 had same problem. Dont tell me this is a problem with the all the cars or else ima toss the piece of junk out
nbcaznmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 02:28 PM   #10932
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Driver's Stand- Tulsa, OK
Posts: 280
Default

Sounds like you need new o-rings. Be sure the shock shaft is straight by
rolling it on a flat surface.
JWATT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2006, 03:43 PM   #10933
Tech Rookie
 
Brent Owen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16
Default

Yes, I should have mentioned I set the tweak on a tweak board/station before I set the droop. Also, it's very important, a must really, to have the batteries, motor, counterfeit transponder, etc in the car just as it would be on the track.

About the shocks, most likely they need a rebuild. As said check the straightness of the shock shaft, more than likely all they need is new o-rings.
Brent Owen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 03:42 AM   #10934
Tech Adept
 
Trixter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 229
Default

If you have a lot of run time on your car (if it is older), I would inspect the shock shafts even closer. Most of them are made out of a stainless alloy that is quite porous. As dirt and minute dust particles fill the pores they become like little knives and cut the 'O' rings. Then you get leakage. There are two solutions. 1: new shock shafts every so often, 2: new "unobtanium" shock shafts that are an Associated aftermarket parts. They are expensive but you can go much longet between 'O' ring changes. Make sure that when you change 'O' rings that you change the oil too. The oil can hold a lot of dirt in suspension.
__________________
Slash 4X4, Bone stock and trying to keep it that way.
PRO MATCH BATTERIES.....THANKS JEFF !!
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2006, 05:58 PM   #10935
Tech Addict
 
nbcaznmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: NJ
Posts: 599
Send a message via AIM to nbcaznmaster
Default

i installed a rebuild kit already and repalced everything! and they still leak shaft iss straight
nbcaznmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net