R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-27-2005, 05:33 AM   #10306
Tech Elite
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,978
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trackdesigner71 Send a message via Yahoo to trackdesigner71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnutmich
i assume you have the end bell on the motor,,,once you insert the motor ..the motor will rotate towards the other side and closes up the mesh

Ok thanks. although I had a look at the locknuts on teh underside of the motor mount and I think I need to cinch those down as well. Can anyone tell me what size those are and also could they spare a wrench of that size?
trackdesigner71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 10:15 AM   #10307
Tech Apprentice
 
viper15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Wylie TX
Posts: 66
Default

What kind of spur and pinnion gears should I use? I have a chameleon 19t and p2k 27t motors. When i tried to calculate it it seemed under geared. What is the internal gear ratio?
viper15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:32 PM   #10308
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

I believe the internal gear ratio is 2.2. For the stock motor, they recommend a 28T pinion for a 72T spur.
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:34 PM   #10309
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,832
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viper15
What is the internal gear ratio?
TC3/4 Internal ratio is 2.5:1
__________________
Team Powers, SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing
www.TeamPowersUSA.com

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 01:06 AM   #10310
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil
TC3/4 Internal ratio is 2.5:1
Oops, sorry, you are right. I was thinking of my MR4TC Special. I just purchased some new pinions for it.
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 01:36 AM   #10311
Tech Adept
 
spanish armada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Mount Vernon,Wa
Posts: 134
Default conversion

Can a tc3 be converted into a tc4? if so, than what is needed.
spanish armada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 05:44 AM   #10312
Tech Adept
 
TC3ElectricGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 199
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

well. few weeks ago i bought brand new a TC3 Factory Team Kit.

spent a grand total of around AU$1000 on the car.

just today i bought a ntc3 off a member from this site. i guess after being at the race track i wanted the fun of a gas car. but this car will be my backup and fun car. i might race it every so often.

i just love this car. it's the first proper R/C car i've owned and i didn't want to do things half assed.
TC3ElectricGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 09:12 AM   #10313
Tech Elite
 
axle182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 3,766
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to axle182
Default

From what i heard from a TC4/3 driver, the TC4 wasnt a huge enough upgrade to warrant the money. He has slowly upgraded his TC3, with TC4 suspension link mounts (not using the shock towers to mount the link anymore. I have just done this and the TC4 chassis braces fit on the TC3 fine). The next step is setting up a TC4, or NTC3 steering rack setup. Apart from these things, im not sure what else is worth changing. Not sure if the TC4 shock towers fit the TC3? Anyone know?
__________________
Aaron "AJ" Freind
axle182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 02:17 PM   #10314
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

TC4 shocks towers will fit the TC3. I've seen pictures of people using them.

I've got the NTC3 Steering rack on my TC3 now but someone said that steering is reduced and there is too much ackerman? Any input on this. He also suggested putting in the TC4 steering instead. Has anyone done this successfully? Thanks!
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:50 PM   #10315
Tech Elite
 
trackdesigner71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Lynchburg/Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 4,978
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to trackdesigner71 Send a message via Yahoo to trackdesigner71
Default

what size are the locknuts under the motor mount on the TC3?
trackdesigner71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 03:54 PM   #10316
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Driver's Stand- Tulsa, OK
Posts: 280
Default

4/40
JWATT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 05:22 PM   #10317
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

hey thats what i did
Attached Thumbnails
TC3 Forum-tc3.5.jpg  
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2005, 05:58 PM   #10318
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Send a message via Yahoo to rcnutmich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
hey thats what i did
what kind of tires do you have on the tc3???? looks like drift wheels
rcnutmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2005, 11:15 PM   #10319
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 850
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

ya i do have drift wheel on it and any one like pro have any grip damper tips for the tc3
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2005, 08:13 AM   #10320
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Servo Saver

Does anyone here use a servo saver with their TC3? If so, which one? I just brined up a servo the other day and I wanna make sure I don't do it again. Thanks!
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:14 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0