R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-11-2005, 08:33 PM   #9886
Tech Adept
 
Trixter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 229
Default

Check all of the wheel bearings, one might be hanging up, if all are ok you might have to check the bearings at the output shaft of the diffs.
__________________
Slash 4X4, Bone stock and trying to keep it that way.
PRO MATCH BATTERIES.....THANKS JEFF !!
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 08:33 PM   #9887
Tech Adept
 
NOZ69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Nowra (Sth Cst NSW) Australia
Posts: 198
Default Re: Hope this helps..:) OOP`s SORRY

Quote:
Originally posted by NOZ69
This is the link i used... has some great info & PIC`s well done to the author.

Cheers
Try Again..

http://ca.geocities.com/jleblao093@rogers.com/index.htm
__________________
FT TC4, LRP TC Sphere, LRP X-11 13.5
SC10 4x4
M03M Suzuki Swift
Power by Feral
Sanwa MX-3 FHSS
NOZ69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:33 PM   #9888
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default TC3 Going Straight

Ok, my Factory TC3 is going straight now but the setting I used is messed up. The left front is about 1 degree toe-in and the right front is half a degree toe-out. Weird. But it pretty much goes straight. But it doesn't go straight going in reverse??? It veers to the right in reverse.

The steering rack is fine. There's no bind at all.

I did set the shocks the same length but the droop gauge I haven't used yet. Droop looks almost the same just by counting the threads showing - but not exactly reliable.

Camber is 3 degrees all around. I tested it using the camber measuring device or whatever you guys call it...lol...

I'll take the thing apart this weekend and clean out the wheel bearings and recheck the droop. Those are the only things I haven't cleaned 'cause it was a pain in the ass getting the axle pins out in the Touring TC3 (traded that one to my brother for a MR4TC Special) that I decided to skip that part with this one. I just got the factory pins in. That should be easier to install after I rip the other ones out. The diffs are no problem. I cleaned them out before - no binding in them.

Last, but not least, I'll have to try it out with a new set of tires. The tires may be worn but it didn't look it to me.

Anything else that I can look into?

Thanks for all the suggestions, guys. You're a great bunch... Thank God for these forums!!!
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2005, 09:49 PM   #9889
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Tools for my TC3

While we're on the subject of helping me dial in my TC3, can you guys give suggestions on tools? The hex wrenches that came with the TC3 are stripping and in turn they are stripping my screws. Can you guys suggest any affordable tools? I don't want to dish out $40 for an Associated set of tools. Are the DuraTrax Precision Ball Hex Drivers any good? They're $3 a piece. It beats paying $9 for a single Associated hex driver or $8 for a DuraTrax Ultimate driver. I'm thinking of just getting the more commonly used sizes like 3/32, 1/16 and 2.0mm for my Yoke.

I know the tips can't be changed on these cheaper ones but how often do the tips go bad on these? Will they last long enough and are more reliable than the L shaped hex wrenches? My brother is a mechanic so he seems to think I should get the expensive ones. All his tools are top notch. My point is I'm not working on a real car but not working on a toy either so I want something better than getting a new set of L-shaped hex wrenches that's not gonna cost too much. I still have to buy a high torque servo. Thanks again.
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 08:00 AM   #9890
Tech Adept
 
Charles Leto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 238
Default

i'd go for the red dynamite wrenches all i've had and never stripped one out

about 6 or 7 per each and you can get them in Us and Metric sets
Charles Leto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 08:02 AM   #9891
Tech Adept
 
Charles Leto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 238
Default

has anyone tried the TC4 shock towers on the TC3 for more tunability since there is an extra hole?????

they are a direct fit but i havn't tried it
Charles Leto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:00 AM   #9892
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hillsboro OR
Posts: 132
Default

I dont know i think it would be perty cool if they worked thou.
rcracer333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:11 AM   #9893
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default TC3 Going Straight

Quote:
Originally posted by Trixter
Check all of the wheel bearings, one might be hanging up, if all are ok you might have to check the bearings at the output shaft of the diffs.

Good call!!! MY Obsessive-Compulsive behavior forced me to wake up early this AM and take your advise. The right bearing was binding really bad. I don't know if cleaning it will be enough. I may just have to replace it. The previous owner of the car had taken off the bearing covers to both sides of the bearings, not just one side, exposing them to dirt, etc. Hopefully this solves the problem.
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 09:15 AM   #9894
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Driver's Stand- Tulsa, OK
Posts: 280
Default

If all the wheel bearings have no shields, you might as well by a set (better price) and change them all. It's going to be a constant problem if you do not. IMHO
JWATT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 10:16 AM   #9895
Tech Champion
 
Nova F1 Racer's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Peoples Republic of Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,682
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Charles Leto
has anyone tried the TC4 shock towers on the TC3 for more tunability since there is an extra hole?????

they are a direct fit but i havn't tried it
Right now I have the front and rear TC4 shock towers, the front and rear chassis braces and the NTC3 steering "system".

I like them...
__________________
This is DICK!!! And you're NOT!
RC Tech member #11
Aussie Rules Footy, Brisbane LIONS!!
[url]http://www.pitter-pat.com/[/url] for pet care needs in Northern Virginia
Nova F1 Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 01:53 PM   #9896
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JWATT
If all the wheel bearings have no shields, you might as well by a set (better price) and change them all. It's going to be a constant problem if you do not. IMHO
I was thinking the same thing. I read in the forums that you should only take the cover off of one side and have the covered side facing the outside. I just bought a set on eBay...
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 01:59 PM   #9897
Tech Fanatic
 
Aries326's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Syracuse, NY
Posts: 817
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Charles Leto
i'd go for the red dynamite wrenches all i've had and never stripped one out

about 6 or 7 per each and you can get them in Us and Metric sets
Couldn't find them in tower. What do you think of the Hobbico hex driver set? Have any of you guys used these? Here's a link:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...sPageName=WDVW

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...MEWA%3AIT&rd=1
Aries326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 04:36 PM   #9898
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Simi Valley, Calif.
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to xxmerlynxx
Default

i'm curious if anyone's using the FT TC4 aluminum arm mounts (part #'s - 31064-31069) on their TC3. I'd like to get some, but am reluctant to just buy them without any input as to whether they'll fit or not. I contacted Associated & they said "If the holes line up, it should be fine." ....not exactly the well-defined answer I was looking for, so this was of course the next stop. I did a search & came up with too many results to wade thru. Please help me before I blow $40 on these parts for no reason.

Also, is there anyone using the 3Racing SSG/CF TC4 shock towers? I was thinking about upgrading to some CF towers & these are the only ones I've seen in SSG, which will match my new chassis (Xtreme SSG TC3, if anyone's interested), or if anyone knows of any other TC3/TC4 shock towers in SSG. I know that Nova F1 Racer is using the TC4 towers w/o any problems & that these are supposed to bolt right up, so there shouldn't be any hold ups, but, again, I'd like to run it past this group of experts prior to shelling out the dough unnecessarily.

Sorry for making this so long, but thanks in advance for the help.
Adam
xxmerlynxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 05:32 PM   #9899
Tech Adept
 
Charles Leto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 238
Default

whats the advantages of using the TC4 chassis braces

i know the TC4 towers would be good for better tunabilty

are you using the nTC3 rack on the stock TC3 chassis?
Charles Leto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2005, 06:04 PM   #9900
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Simi Valley, Calif.
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to xxmerlynxx
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Charles Leto
whats the advantages of using the TC4 chassis braces

i know the TC4 towers would be good for better tunabilty

are you using the nTC3 rack on the stock TC3 chassis?
advantages:
-they should be stiffer (more rigid) than the carbon ones there now
-should mate up well with the titanium hinge pins
-but the main reason is looks & uniformity... as the rest of the car will be in alum/titan/CF/SSG, those would help to "complete" the package

yes, the TC4 towers offer more tunability, which is a plus, but again, not the main reason.

I'm not using the NTC3 rack (should I make the switch? what's the reasoning behind changing? more durable? less prone to get sh*t stuck in it? any benefit?), but i had planned on using an alum version of the stock TC3 rack and, no this won't be on the stock chassis, it'll be on an Xtreme SSG chassis (which is drilled for both NTC3 & ETC3, so either should be a viable option).

I'm not as interested in the benefits one might see on the track with these upgrades as this one will only rarely get run... it'll be more for show than anything else (but, hey, if it's fast, that's not a problem for me :P )

Again, thanks for your time and help here, it is truly appreciated.

Adam
xxmerlynxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:35 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net