R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2004, 05:27 PM   #9256
Tech Adept
 
rpmmaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: carlsbad,ca
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to rpmmaxxed
Default

I think I may not being using enough shims. I will check it out.

Thanks to all the lended a helping idea.
rpmmaxxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 01:12 PM   #9257
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default lower gear ratio

what is the lowest gearing that will fit using a 64 pitch spur?
I have the stock 48 pitch 72t spur and 30 is about it for the pinion.. and that gives me a 6.00.
what combo can I use to get around 5.50?
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 02:00 PM   #9258
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Orlando
Posts: 168
Default

New car is being tested. A friend was doing some testing of his own after the last Worlds Warm-up race here in Kissimmee, FL. He did see the new car that Baker was testing. It looked ready for release. Lots of changes meaning more adjustablity. The car looks similar, but you have to look to see all the changes. Not sure of a release date, they would not say.
ECHOLogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 03:07 PM   #9259
Tech Adept
 
tc3rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 157
Default

Quote:
Whoever helps me will get a cookie.
Buy alluminum wheel hubs. Can I have a cookie?!? I like cookies!
tc3rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 03:29 PM   #9260
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 325
Default

Hi,

Just got a TC3 w/ IRS conversion. I have been running Nitro on road (LD3) and a brushless micro M18. New to the TC3, will be setting up a brushless car, to run 6 cell and 8 cell pack(if I can get a hold of some GP2200 sub-c cells).

I will be racing this car on asfalt tracks, and have a question about the pinion/spur pitch I should use. I heard 48 pitch is better for outdoor, the car I bought from ebay and has 60 pitch spur, any recommendations. The motor has loads of tork and I plan to push this car to the limits it can handle (not speed record, but fast and nimble)

Also I race in a hot climate (Puerto Rico) and was wondering recommended tires.

Thanks in advance, Did start to go through the thread but there are alot of pages, I'll try to get up to speed, but any help while I catch up is appreciated.

havy
havy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 05:20 PM   #9261
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 7
Default Re: Wheel problem.

Quote:
Originally posted by rpmmaxxed
My front left tire, when Tightened down with the wheel nut, is now becoming locked down. As in, It will not roll. If I loosen it enough that is rolls, but is still able to hold the wheel on, it quickly comes off.

Anyone understand what I have said? I know that it is not the best explanation, but I am not used to asking for help with problems like these. I have tryed a few things to solve my problem, all in vain.

HELP ME, FOR GOD SAKES PLEASE< ANYONE WITH A HEART.


Whoever helps me will get a cookie.

I used to have the same exact problem. From my experience the following two things are the culprit. Bending of the pin underneath the hex or yielding (compression indentation) of the hex due to the high contact pressure of the pin on the hex. Both of these can be caused by applying to much torque to the wheel nut and or by impact with a barrier. Basically what happens is that the bending of the pin as well as the yielding of the hex reduce the amount of spacing between the hex and the hub carrier. If this distance shrinks to zero the result is contact between the hex and the hub carrier and large amounts of rotational drag.

There are two fixes that I have used to remedy this problem.

Fix#1: Remove material from the inboard portion of the hex to create a larger gap between the hex and the hub carrier / bearings. Make sure that the pins are not bent. Be careful not to over torque wheel nut. Periodically check rotating drag of carriers with wheel nut torqued.

Fix#2 (What I currently use): Replace hex hubs with aftermarket clamping hex hubs. I use the Integy version but Yokomo makes them also and are available on tower hobbies (See Attached Picture). The clamping action of the hubs generates a large amount of friction and hence resistance to motion of the hex along the axis of the shaft. This reduces the loads on the pin minimizing the chance of pin failure / bending and yielding of the hex. So far this set up has worked really well for me.

Hope this helps, good luck.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg yokc2076.jpg (17.5 KB, 147 views)
superstress is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 07:14 PM   #9262
Tech Master
 
BadSign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 1,148
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I just wanted to drop a line of praise for the TC3 and everyone here who is so willing to help out. I raced today against some very good local competition in modified for the first time.

I burned out the brushes on my Krypton and had to switch to an old but strong 19T Chameleon (no comparison to my 11double, though.)

I had the second fastest car of the day (only off by .1 seconds), and would have Tq'd had my brain not given out on a fast but narrow left hander on the infield of our track. The wreck cost me 10 seconds. I would have had pole by a lap, otherwise.

Incidentally, I was racing against a XXX-S, two Pro4's . and another TC3 (all running mod).

Thanks again DaveW for all your setup advice.
BadSign is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 07:54 PM   #9263
Tech Adept
 
rpmmaxxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: carlsbad,ca
Posts: 156
Send a message via AIM to rpmmaxxed
Default SUPER STRESS IS THE TRUE MAN

Superstress' advice led me in the correct direction. MY pin was bent, and in turn was rubbing against the hub carrier when the wheel was tightened down.

The prize as promised:


rpmmaxxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 09:40 PM   #9264
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3stocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: TN, America
Posts: 869
Send a message via AIM to tc3stocker Send a message via Yahoo to tc3stocker
Default

you should take a look at this, all his stuff is clean and fast, all is in top shape and in prime running condition, no lies, just take a look at it and you will see

Package Deal / Excellent Condition
tc3stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 05:18 AM   #9265
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Exclamation

yup! its seems like my FT TC3... stock chassis.. Looks like he still haven't milled the center of the graphite chassis..
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 03:41 PM   #9266
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

i'm getting a new esc the novak erx reversible sprot esc with a 15t limit and i plan to get THIS motor? is that motor a good one? i dont race at a track yet just the local parking lot with friends but i need more speed i'm not happy about the top speed im getting with my 19t mod, and how many runs can i get in this motor before the comm needs to be cut?
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 04:04 PM   #9267
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

I dont know anything about that motor but I'm guessing it may not be much better than a good 19t.
as for the esc, do you have to have reverse?
I would go with the novak fusion, it can handle down to 12t for about $55.
there are lots of motors out there, I've been very happy with a 12t D5 flatliner..
It uses p94 brushes that are about $5 a pop, I changed the hoods to take standard laydown brushes, and I've actually found it to be faster, plus they are cheaper.
with this combo my tc3 is about as fast as I can drive it for the area I have to run it..
If you are just running long straights in a parking lot then you are always going to want somthing faster..
limit yourself to some sort of track layout that will for force you to have to be smooth, not just fast.

forgot to mention, I usually cut the comm after 3 runs and change the brushes after about 5 depending on how they look.


Last edited by onnetz; 08-29-2004 at 04:11 PM.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 09:39 PM   #9268
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 235
Default Droop and Ride height

I usually mess around with the ride height only just to make sure the bottom of the chassis does not hit the ground at any given point on the track. Yesterday at a track, I was messing around with my droop and ride height setting and it seems like this two settings are very well related with each other.

If for example you set a droop setting of 6 on the droop scale, as you increase your ride height, the droop slowly diminishes. The reverse of this is if you set your ride height at 6 for bumpy tracks (using the ride height gauge), probably the highest droop you can go only is around 4 on the right height gauge.

It seems like using the droop gauge is unreliable and I must use the droop screw in relation to the chassis to achieve the correct setting.

What's the correct approach on this? Which one do you set first, droop or ride height?
DRIVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 09:56 PM   #9269
tornado
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: Re: Re: Re: TC3 Q's:

Quote:
Originally posted by calstarjig90j
Losi

A-9753

it's the 4 degree graphite kit that includes c-hubs and spindles and set screws for front only.
Thanks Man !

Bryan
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2004, 11:13 PM   #9270
Tech Adept
 
SA_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: South Africa
Posts: 138
Default Re: Droop and Ride height

Quote:
Originally posted by DRIVEN
I usually mess around with the ride height only just to make sure the bottom of the chassis does not hit the ground at any given point on the track. Yesterday at a track, I was messing around with my droop and ride height setting and it seems like ,

<SNIP>

What's the correct approach on this? Which one do you set first, droop or ride height?
Your observations seem correct, I have found the same problem so no longer use a droop gauge. This is what I do.

Say I want 3mm Droop and 5mm Ride height.

1. I adjust my shock front and rear with max preload while using the tires Ill be racing with. I then adjust the ride height to 8mm using the droop screws. The front can be different to the back, depending on what you need.
2. Once I have set this value, I undo the preload that I have set and adjust the ride height down to 4.5/5mm using the shocks.

This way the car will have 5mm ride height with 3mm droop. Hope this helps.
SA_Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:46 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net