R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-19-2004, 09:14 PM   #9196
Tech Regular
 
Kyew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 461
Default

try putting a tiny drop of ca on the grub screw. that shld hold it. (don't put too much ca, otherwise you can't unscrew it!)
__________________
all we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given to us.......
Kyew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 09:19 PM   #9197
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default Re: TC3 Q's:

Quote:
Originally posted by j240z
I've been battling this problem with my TC3 for a while now. Hopefully someone knows of a fix for this. The problem is mainly in the rear but sometimes in the front too.

The problem is with the parts that has the grub screw the is supposed to hold the out hinge pin in place. No matter how much I try to tighten the grub screw, the hinge pin still works it's way loose and will eventualy rub on the inner part of the wheel, leaving marks on the wheel itself. After a while the hole for the grub screw becomes stripped from me trying to tighten it too much and I have to change out the molded piece....Is this only happening to me..?

Also, is there an upper bumper plate for the TC3 like the one for the NTC3? I know BMI makes one but I don't think it will match the FT graphite very well...?

Thanks
I have had the same problem.. I havent tried the CA on it but have found a couple other remedies..
one is to wrap thread around the grub screw before you put it back in.. or to angle the grub screw slightly when you put it back in..
quick fixes but they work for stripped out threads.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 09:21 PM   #9198
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

Cool, thanks guys. I'll try the CA glue.
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 10:26 PM   #9199
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 235
Default

j240z, i had that same problem before and solved it by switching to losi c-hub carrier. It has a longer screw and deeper hole therefore, more thread to bite which minimizes stripping. Since then, i've never had a loose pin or stripped grub screw.
DRIVEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 10:34 PM   #9200
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

whats the formula for figureing out mph?
and whats the distance i have to measure out?
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 10:39 PM   #9201
Tech Adept
 
RadioRogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: fly over zone
Posts: 127
Default

If you are using graphite parts you need to carefully drill out the grub screw hole because a lot of times there is a piece of flashing at the end of the hole and the grub screw bottoms on this instead of bottoming against the pin. It will feel snug but you can slide the pin right out.
RadioRogue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 11:08 PM   #9202
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

I just took the hub assemblies apart and it turns out the grub screw were holding just fine. However, the whole hub assemblies were shifting within their mounts ( I hope this makes sense ) I just put a small sliver of fuel tubing in between the hub and the rear part of the mount so it would stop moving forward and backward. It seems to be nice and stiff now, no shifting. We'll see how it holds up the next time I run it! I can post a pic if anyone is interested.
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 11:12 PM   #9203
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default

One more Q:
Has anyone else used RPM ball cups for the steering links? They seem to be a bit to big, not allowing the link to be made short enough for proper toe? Is there a way to fix this or should I just not use the RPM ball cups for these links. All the others worked just fine.
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 11:17 PM   #9204
Tech Apprentice
 
Manfredo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Vienna/Austria
Posts: 83
Default

In fact the RMP cup are a bit to big for the steering links. I have mounted them only on the outside and use the normal ball cups on the steering rack.
Manfredo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 12:36 AM   #9205
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: TC3 Q's:

Quote:
Originally posted by j240z


Also, is there an upper bumper plate for the TC3 like the one for the NTC3? I know BMI makes one but I don't think it will match the FT graphite very well...?

Thanks
Open attachment for pic of front bumper mod. I have done it on most customer cars and they have stopped breaking things. Bad for business you may think - but good for customer relations.

It's easy. Simply modify the factory bumper and sandwich the rubber in between the two.

BALL CUPS.

The Schumacher Ball Grippas are also a good idea. That's what I recommend. They are a nice tight fit and fit everywhere on the TC3.

Good luck.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tc3 fr july 04.jpg (90.3 KB, 239 views)
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 12:41 AM   #9206
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default Re: Re: TC3 Q's:

Quote:
Originally posted by johnbull
Open attachment for pic of front bumper mod. I have done it on most customer cars and they have stopped breaking things. Bad for business you may think - but good for customer relations.

It's easy. Simply modify the factory bumper and sandwich the rubber in between the two.

BALL CUPS.

The Schumacher Ball Grippas are also a good idea. That's what I recommend. They are a nice tight fit and fit everywhere on the TC3.

Good luck.

Thanks Johnbull! The bumper mod is awesome! I'm going to try it. As for the ball cups, I got the RPM cups to work. I was measuring wrong at first, but everything fits nicely now. Thanks everyone for the help!
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 07:49 AM   #9207
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 40
Default IRS at Race

Just share........
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image(107).jpg (124.9 KB, 228 views)
Shalala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 11:50 AM   #9208
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

those slicks are sick what kind are they, do you have a tire additive on them because they look so shinny
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 12:48 PM   #9209
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default Sharing....

Here are a couple of pics of my TC3
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2004, 12:49 PM   #9210
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default Top View

One more:
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net