R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-17-2004, 01:54 PM   #9181
Tech Elite
 
DaveW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 2,960
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

kh15: You actually need to break it in at 2 volts, for that same period of time with a fan on the motor to keep it cool. If you have a battery pack assembled so you can see the battery bars, then you can use wire/alligator clips to jump from the positive of one cell, and the negative of the next cell, to the motor. It will be 2.4 volts, close enough to do the job, and using mostly what you already have. The biggest thing would to be sure you discharge all of the cells in the pack in a similar fashion before you try and recharge it. Honestly though, depending on the person building your motor for you, you will likely need to rebuild the motor within 10 runs, so you could actually just run the motor in the car kinda slow for the first few laps of practice. It isnt the "motor builders" way of doing it, but it is the easiest.

- DaveW


BTW... JOHNBULL: Hows the racin going? We just had a hurricane run through here, and a few tropical depressions before that, nothing but yucky RAIN!
__________________
...you better run like im booger flickin...
DaveW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 03:56 PM   #9182
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

yea i have pre assembled team orion 3000mah packs so i will just run my car VERY slow for like 10 minutes and that should do it i'm not to seriouse of a racer yet so if its not the best way to do it but it will work i'll use that technique thanks
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 08:09 PM   #9183
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Help!!!

I have been searching for about 30 minutes now and I can't find the link to the site that sells the milled chassis. Can someone please help this 'old man drawing a blank' out with the link?
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2004, 08:38 PM   #9184
Tech Fanatic
 
Arun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GA
Posts: 753
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DaveW
PROFICAR403: Arun... no Nats for me... too much on my plate for now. How ya been? I havent seen you on here in a bit, is your phone # the same as before? Lata...
- DaveW
Yup...same as before. Give me a call sometime (after 9PMest please ).
__________________
http://nexusracing.com
Arun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 07:35 AM   #9185
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Re: Help!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by raffaelli
I have been searching for about 30 minutes now and I can't find the link to the site that sells the milled chassis. Can someone please help this 'old man drawing a blank' out with the link?
Anyone?
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 08:35 AM   #9186
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Rafaelli. Greetings from Malta.

It's a very easy job to do your own chassis mods.

When preparing customer chassis (TC3) I do the battery mod to move the cells further towards the centre, I also enlarge the hole below the motor for better cooling, and I round off the top of the former ahead of the motor so it's ready to take a fan.

That's all I do to them. They don't need anything else.

I used to mill them on a milling machine but I now do them freehand. I can almost get one completed in the time it takes to set the chassis up on the milling machine.

The last one I did a couple of days ago took about an hour to do.

Try it. You don't need to hurry. It's easy, believe me.

Good luck.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 08:39 AM   #9187
Tech Master
 
EricF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: AZ
Posts: 1,529
Default Re: Re: Help!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by raffaelli
Anyone?
www.speedierc.homestead.com

and

http://www.mistercrash.ca/_themes/pa...ciated_tc3.htm
__________________
<
AE 12R5.2 (x2) - TC7 - M05 - M05V2R

People who don't have to wait for the latest item, should not tell those that do, that "It's worth the wait"
EricF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 08:54 AM   #9188
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Johnbull,

How are things in Malta?

I at the end of the last indoor season I milled out the chassis with my dremel and dremel press. It took a couple of hours. I think the results were pretty good. I was looking for that web site for future reference.

I am starting to clena up my car for the coming indoor season and noticed that I may have done a little too far with the dremel in the diff cases. Ooops!

Are you and your group heading to the worlds?
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 08:55 AM   #9189
Tech Elite
 
raffaelli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Land of the Free, Home of the Brave
Posts: 2,924
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Eric,

Thank you!
raffaelli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2004, 06:43 PM   #9190
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

okay slowly but surely i'm get my setup right and right now i'm working on just the right setup for asphalt, i have THIS so far but all the stuff that is blank i need help with?
kh15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 01:03 AM   #9191
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

Rafaelli.

No Worlds for us this time.

Can't afford the time or money - more the money actually, to travel half way across the World, even though we would love to.

We'll have to wait till they return to Europe. Hopefully they won't be too far from the Med.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 07:18 AM   #9192
Tech Addict
 
mistercrash's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Guelph, Canada eh!
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Re: Re: Re: Help!!!

People still looking for that website?!?!...
__________________
No brain, no headaches.
mistercrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 08:05 AM   #9193
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

I have one super dialed-nicely hopped up BMI Tc3 in the for sale section here: Got everything you'll need to be competitive already on it or done to it.

BMI Titanium eTC3 NIP!!!!
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 06:31 PM   #9194
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 87
Default

hey Dave .. the set up ran good on the slower days when the majority of the folks wanted to run rubber .. but when the fast guys demanded foams I had to change it or get run over .. I finally found a good set up for a one way and used that the last race .. and aside from the folks with sponsors I was the second fastest .. so it wasnt a bad weekend ..

have fun racing everyone

E
roddude65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2004, 07:15 PM   #9195
Tech Addict
 
j240z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Everybody to the limit!
Posts: 651
Default TC3 Q's:

I've been battling this problem with my TC3 for a while now. Hopefully someone knows of a fix for this. The problem is mainly in the rear but sometimes in the front too.

The problem is with the parts that has the grub screw the is supposed to hold the out hinge pin in place. No matter how much I try to tighten the grub screw, the hinge pin still works it's way loose and will eventualy rub on the inner part of the wheel, leaving marks on the wheel itself. After a while the hole for the grub screw becomes stripped from me trying to tighten it too much and I have to change out the molded piece....Is this only happening to me..?

Also, is there an upper bumper plate for the TC3 like the one for the NTC3? I know BMI makes one but I don't think it will match the FT graphite very well...?

Thanks
j240z is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net