R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-07-2003, 04:48 PM   #6766
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

From my racing experiance, I have found that the bumper serves an important purpose for the car on older chassis'. As the chassis on the car wears out, the rear holes become more elipsed, and it becomes easier to offset the rear toe block with slight taps. Although I do like to have the ease of this disassembly, I would rather prefer a non tweak rear end/front end. Up until just recently, I stoped doing this "mod" because my chassis is starting to wear.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 04:56 PM   #6767
Tech Master
 
Super Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,177
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Super Steve
Default

Tommorow!
my friend's TC3 and I (pro 2) are going to a Race!
I know i am gonna get second because there is only one guy i can not beat... (uses reverse ESC and a 17T 550 motor... most ppl use forward and 19t or 27t fixed)
As for my friend with the tc3...
lets just say that I hope he can finish the races without parts breaking


wish us good luck!
Super Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 05:09 PM   #6768
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Ok, good luck Steve, and your friend...
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:01 PM   #6769
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

yeah the tc3 has part breaking problems, i know b/c when i started to race i was ok but i was breakin parts now its just very rare to just see me touch a wall check out my tc3 and my new body
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mvc-001s.jpg (36.4 KB, 264 views)
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:02 PM   #6770
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

my awesome high downforce body to keep my wheels planted on the turns tell me how u like my body and car
Attached Images
File Type: jpg mvc-022s.jpg (37.7 KB, 193 views)
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:22 PM   #6771
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

vere,
Your car is very clean(by that I mean, that it is clean cut, and well put together). I have not raced with a Vauxhaul/Opel Vetra in a LONG time, but the paint job is very clean and well done up.

BTW, what is the Mabuchi motor for?
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:24 PM   #6772
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

thanx i worked on it and made sure i didnt do a bad job ..about the motor i run novice stock so i have to run that motor. when im just messin around i run a speedgem 2 14turn
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:31 PM   #6773
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Well, you did a good job on it!

When you instaled the Mabuchi motor in the car, did you have to over come space difficultys?(such as the motor "bay" too short for the closed endbell motor)
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:34 PM   #6774
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

well the motor isnt longer than a reg. motor it looks that way i hade to mill out the motor cam, sence the motor has a big shaft bushing like thing whatever they call it
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:39 PM   #6775
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

The reason why I was asking, was because a couple of my friends and myself were contemplating running a Mabuchi SPEC class, where everyone would have to use the Mabuchi/Johnson 540 motor. The only problem was the fact that I could not fit it in my TC3 with out cutting of parts on the car.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 08:42 PM   #6776
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: marshal courty ms
Posts: 37
Send a message via AIM to vere513
Default

well only thing i did to get it to fit was mill out the motor cam. u might need to bend the motor tabs to get it to fit behind the brace between the motor and the speedcontrol area
vere513 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 07:04 AM   #6777
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default QUestion

Has anyone of you guys used the NITRO TC3 solid diff on the TC3?
They said it can be done,by just deepening the slit and cutting away some of the outdrive?

If someone else has, can you kindly please explain how you did it?

Have ruined 2 IRS spools, and its quite expensive to have it shipped out here, the solid Nitro diff is a better & cheaper option.

Thanks and Happy Racing!
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 09:43 AM   #6778
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default Re: QUestion

Quote:
Originally posted by lem2
Have ruined 2 IRS spools, and its quite expensive to have it shipped out here, the solid Nitro diff is a better & cheaper option.
I know Dave Irrgang personally and know everything he makes can take one hell of a beating. His stuff is almost damn near indistructible. How did you ruin 2 spools?
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 10:27 AM   #6779
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 7,654
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

IRS products are great...but i have seen them break.

my buddy...who is an excellent driver...broke the brand new IRS Big Dawg bones he purchased. he did hit a board but not anything out of the ordinary...

i was surprised to see them break.
__________________
Serpent Racing * Speed Passion * Fantom Racing * Windy City Raceway
Nexus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2003, 01:37 PM   #6780
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: West Bloomfield, MI
Posts: 493
Send a message via AIM to Bobby Flack
Default

When you hit, or tap for that matter, a board with a one-way or spool you can break the dog bone quite easily. I broke an aluminum one once when I didn't even know I had hit a board. I went to steel and have never had a problem since. This is on a NTC3

I have run the spool in my TC3 with no problems. What do you mean by "ruined" ?
Bobby Flack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:07 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net