R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2003, 04:37 PM   #6751
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default Re: shaft

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3rookie
i'm running the woven shaft again and am wondering what shaft the yokomo is, pt. #? is it a direct fit? thanx
tc3rookie,
The Yokomo shaft is a direct replacement. I myself was amazed!!!! As for part number, I do not know it at the time, but I will try to find it for you.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 04:44 PM   #6752
Tech Regular
 
Intermision's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 338
Send a message via AIM to Intermision Send a message via Yahoo to Intermision
Default

What would the Yokomo shaft do different?
Intermision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 04:47 PM   #6753
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

The slop in your servo is somewhat similar to your gear mesh with the motor. Too tight, and the servo will bind, too loose, and the servo will strip gears. As metal gears in a servo wear, there becomes more and more slop.

Another thing to consider is what servo horn you are using, which you are using an aluminium horn, and check the slop in that. The servo mounts are another thing to consider with slop that apperently comes from the servo, and how tight they are on the servo.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 04:49 PM   #6754
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Intermision
What would the Yokomo shaft do different?
The bones of the shaft are aluminum(that connect into the drive cups), and the accual shaft is carbon.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 04:52 PM   #6755
Tech Addict
 
mistercrash's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Guelph, Canada eh!
Posts: 721
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3rookie
when you made that brace for the center, what thickness of CF would be good?
2 mm
__________________
No brain, no headaches.
mistercrash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 11:16 PM   #6756
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default thxs mike d

hey thxs for setup mike d i race with u at durham i cya in clevland
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 12:19 AM   #6757
Tech Rookie
 
sars125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 9
Default Re: setup info

Quote:
Originally posted by hyperformance
http://www.mpowered-racing.com/mpowchassetg.html

http://home.tiscali.be/be067749/58/

there are others
Tanhx it's this a site wich can help me a lot

Greetz lars from holland
sars125 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 11:58 AM   #6758
Tech Adept
 
tc3rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 157
Default slop

the servo arm is not very old and i had this same problem with another arm. i'll check the slop in the gears. if there is, would a new gear set fix it?
tc3rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 04:03 PM   #6759
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

It depends on the ammount of slop that it has right now. If there is a little, then new gears will not help it(it should be the same), but if there is a bunch of slop, then new gears will fix most of the slop.
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 07:06 PM   #6760
Tech Regular
 
Flash Gordan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Are you ready to rock & roll?!?
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to Flash Gordan Send a message via Yahoo to Flash Gordan
Default

I know I should search this out on my own but does anybody have a list of modifications that have been discussed in all the pages of this thread?
Flash Gordan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 09:21 PM   #6761
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,053
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: slop

Quote:
Originally posted by tc3rookie
the servo arm is not very old and i had this same problem with another arm. i'll check the slop in the gears. if there is, would a new gear set fix it?
just remember to replace the ball caps and ball studs too ,, this should help alot .. even with a worn servo,, you may still have alittle slop but you cant just change one thing ,, sometimes its ok. but its better to change it all then youll have a better out come.. my 2cents...goood luck ..
__________________
Mark Barden .
mb racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 11:10 AM   #6762
Tech Adept
 
tc3rookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 157
Default servo arm

it turns out the ridges in the arm and on the servo didn't match very well, so i replaced the alluminum one with a plastic and it works really well now, almost no slop. the rack isn't as free as i'd like but i fixed it a little and now it's a lot more free than be4.
tc3rookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 03:35 PM   #6763
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Irvine California
Posts: 870
Send a message via AIM to Bubblestc3 Send a message via Yahoo to Bubblestc3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Flash Gordan
I know I should search this out on my own but does anybody have a list of modifications that have been discussed in all the pages of this thread?
The major things that have been discused in the past have been:
Rear shock tower up front, chassis refinements, Nitro steering system, drivetrain, spool's, and one-ways.

But then again, I have only been on rctech for two or three months...
Bubblestc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 04:16 PM   #6764
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have my own mod, for my rpm bumper, the middle two holes which the diff sits through i cut slits in so that i can just undo the two screws holding the front arm mount on and pull the bumper off, saving undoing the diff, this way if you break a front wishbone its really easy to change it fast. Also i just sand my hinge pins down a little bit until they are steel coloured and not black, allows the wishbones to drop freely.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2003, 04:17 PM   #6765
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

If i can be bothered ill take a picture of my bumper tomorrow.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 04:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 01:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 07:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 08:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:09 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net